We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, average food, good wine”
Review of Lan Tania

Lan Tania
Ranked #32 of 40 Restaurants in Maynooth
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent service, average food, good wine”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The two waitresses and the bar tender working that night provided excellent service. The wine was delicious. Having travelled through Thailand we are a bit spoilt so the food is not as good as you would find there. The vegetarian spring rolls were nice, chicken tom yum soup was very tomatoey, the chicken main was okay. For dessert we had the banana fritters and the chocolate brownie which were yum although it took a long time for them to arrive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 357Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    20
    11
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Tralee, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“worst service ever”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Be prepared to wait for hour if it is quiet if it is busy bring a sleeping bag .We waited for 35 mins for 3 starters and 45 for the 4th starter another hour for our main course needless to say we didnt wait for desert or we might still be there.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KerryDirector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celbridge, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent and friendly service!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We have eaten in most of the Thai restaurants in Dublin and there are good and bad ones out there. Lan Tania, although in the Glen Royal Hotel, which has seen better days, is one of the better ones.
Met at the door with a smile we had no reservation but were given a table straight away. Menus and water was brought to the table immediately and our drinks order was taken and filled within 5 minutes.
Our waitress, Jennifer, was very attentive and was happy and cheerful which only added to the experience. The food here is good, the Chicken Panyang is exquisite and you can tell that everything is freshly prepared and the vegetables are crispy and tasty, not limp and overdone. The sauce was creamy and spicy, perfectly cooked.
They could do with a bit of mood lighting as it was a bit bright, and it is a bit on the pricy side but apart from that is is a nice friendly restaurant with very good thai food.
We will definitely be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Audrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“As far from thai food as it is from Thailand”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Myself & 2 friends were staying in the Glenroyal hotel & thought this would be the ideal place to have our evening meal. We shared a platter for starters, the spring rolls were fine, the satay chicken was cold and the ribs were okay. For mains we had three different dishes but the sauce on all three tasted the same. At 17.50euro to 19.50euro per main course the rice and or noodles could be included rather than the extra charge for a very small portion. The food was very heavily spiced. like a very average takeaway. We ordered a bottle of wine - Babington Brook and were brought a completely different wine, when we queried this the reply was 'only chardonnay we have, same price'!! and that was 22.50 euro a bottle. Total bill for shared starter, three main courses and one bottle of wine was 115.00 euro - we will not be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shame to see a nice restaurant going down the tubes”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I visited this restaurant on many occasions in the past and to be fair had lovely meals. A little over priced but you dont mind paying for good food. On a recent visit I was appalled at the standard of the food and the service. I would'nt mind if the place was spilling over with people. It was the worse meal i have ever had and i am not a fussy eater. I am disappointed to see this lovely restaurant going downhill as it has so much to offer.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Primrose123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lan Tania also viewed

 
Maynooth, County Kildare
 

Been to Lan Tania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing