We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this restaurant”
Review of Avenue

Avenue
Ranked #3 of 37 Restaurants in Maynooth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $28
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Avenue Cafe & Restaurant, located over two floors on Main Street, Maynooth, provides excellent food & value in comfortable & relaxed surroundings. Avenue offers an extensive selection for lunch, early bird menu & a fast passed full a la carte menu in the evening. All food is produce in-house with a strong emphasis on Irish ingredients. Opening in December 2007 by Robert & Bronagh Kennedy, Avenue already boasts a band of loyal Local customers gaining a reputation for excellence. And Since its inception, Head Chef, John Cole has consistently cooking Irish Modern food at the highest level using only the best Irish suppliers to deliver great taste & flavour. We a dedicated front of house team, fronted by Brendan Reynolds, customer satisfaction is the main priority. �We pride ourselves on quality, consistency & value. Providing somewhere that you can bring the family or enjoy a great night with friends is what we set out to achieve
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love this restaurant”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Have been in this restaurant numerous times, most recently about three weeks ago. It never disappoints, the food is always excellent. The chicken wings are amazing as are most things on the menu. The fillet steak is definitely worth a mention too! Great selection of wines of varying prices and they do early birds which are great value. Service is always very attentive no matter how busy they are.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 220Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovefoodDublin, Owner at Avenue, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal with us. Look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards from Robert & All the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    160
    55
    27
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

A super restaurant will excellent food and a very extensive and impressive wine list? The staff were wonderfully pleasant making us feel truly welcome and their attentativness gave an ordinary Friday Night meal out the feel of a special occasion. In spite of initial concerns that the tables were a tad too close to each other once we received our menus we weren't even aware of other patrons at neighbouring tables. The Avenue is a restaurant I'll definitely be returning to.

Helpful?
Thank Eva H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Check your change after paying”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had the Early bird menu here last Wednesday. The food was enjoyable but when we came to pay with a voucher we were charged per item as if it was off the A la Carte in spite of the courses being shown as Early Bird. When I queried this the girl I was paying did not understand what I was saying. A guy was called who I presumed was the Manager. He gave me the difference between Early Bird and A La Carte. There was no word of apology which makes me wonder how many other people are being ripped off. Then we realised they owed us the difference between what was owed and the voucher. The receipt was snatched out of my hand and the money was handed over with very bad grace. Again no apology. Watch your bills and what you are charged. You need to make a reservation for this restaurant even mid week.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tinneas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkeel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Super meal!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Visited Avenue Cafe on Mon night past.Had tried to get a table the previous evening but it was booked out. We were not disappointed. The Earlybird Menu was great value - two courses for 18euro; both courses were superb. A nice relaxed atmosphere,good service & very pleasant waitresses all added up to a really good dining experience

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JRDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovefoodDublin, Owner at Avenue, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your review of Avenue.The Team and I are delighted you enjoyed your experience with us, look forward to having you back very soon. Regards from Robert and all theTeam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really nice food and a good menu”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Have eaten here a few times,had the early bird the last time and went for the lamb for the main and chicken wings for starters..chicken wings are some of the best I have tasted and the lamb would fill the hungriest person..can be a bit crowded but overall is good

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bellestar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avenue also viewed

Maynooth, County Kildare
Maynooth, County Kildare
 
Maynooth, County Kildare
Maynooth, County Kildare
 

Been to Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing