We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value great welcome and ample breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Portumna House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 Portumna B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Nice welcome excellent airy room in a quiet location facilities great

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robert_mcculloch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
There are newer reviews for Portumna House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 32 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2010

We were attending a wedding in the Shannon Oaks hotel and stayed in this B&B for the night of the wedding. The owners are Una and David and were extremely friendly and welcoming and run a very professional B & B. This house is quite new and very clean and well appointed with all mod cons. It is only 3 minutes on foot from the town and the Hotel, but David even offered to drive us down, which was very kind and would have been much appreciated had it been a wet evening. The wedding went very well, unfortumately involving a very late night and a touch of a hangover, so although we were just a wee bit late down for breakfast we got a quick eggs on toast which helped put us back on track. We had planned to continue the Bank holiday weekend in Galway City but since it was so nice here we stayed another night, and the house was full both nights, yet we never heard any noise. Good parking space outside and you have your own front door and room key so you can come and go as you please. Breakfast was excellent with health drinks, juice, cereal and plenty of choice for the Full Irish. David is also a mad music fan and we had great chats about various American singers as diverse as -: Muddy Watters/ Seasick Steve/. /Howlin Wolf/ Leadbelly, our own Van and of course Bob Dylan, Kris Kristofferson and Willie Nelson. In fact, he said he would willingly keep Bob Dylan and Kristofferson both for free if they ever visited Portumna. So, since they are both touring in Ireland in the next while, heres your chance lads!! You can never be too rich or too famous to have a free B & B!! He kindly gave me one of his favourite Willie Nelson CD's when we were leaving ! I hope you enjoy the Dylan concert in Limerick next month David.. Anyway , we would recommend Portumna House for all the reasons above but my only advice would be to make sure you book in advance as they appear to always be busy, which is never a bad sign of any operation within the hospitality industry. We will be back in County Galway again soon and will make a point of staying in this B & B.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lj1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2009

Like other reviewers, we stayed here while attending a wedding at the Shannon Oaks (is this the only thing that brings people to portumna??). The house was very well located, easy to find. the host and hostess were friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and comfortable, and there were nice touches - like shower gel in the shower in case you forgot your own. Which I did!! The soap wasn't the usual cheap stuff either - small details but I liked them. The breakfast was good too. All in all, a very pleasant b&b.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerrywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2009

We stayed at the excellent Portumna House over the Easter holiday as an alternative to the Shannon Oaks Hotel where freinds were holding their wedding reception.
The location is great just 200 yards from the village centre and the hotel.
The service providsed by David and Una was first class and they had a lot of knowledge of the local area advising us of the best restaurants and the pick of the 14 bars in the village.
The rooms were large and comfortable with en-suite facilities.
The large breakfast was more than adequate and gave a great start to the day.
Throughly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PAJ56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2009

We stayed two nights at Portumna House and found it to be wonderfully welcoming and nicely located. There's a car park right in front of this cheery, purpose-built B&B. Owners David Dalton and his wife Una are warm and friendly, and very knowledgeable of the area. David gave us great tips for walks in the Portumna Forest Park (very nearby). It's within easy walking distance of the many pubs in town (David can give you recommendations there, too!). We arrived after dark one evening, and David even carried our bags up the (three flights) of stairs!
Breakfast is simple and more than adequate, in a cheery, sunlit room overlooking the back garden. There's even a bird feeder or two in the yard, so you can do a bit of local birding with your breakfast.
Our room was immaculate, the bathroom big enough, with a spacious shower and plenty of hot water (and pressure). Tea/Coffee-making in the room make mornings a pleasure. There's a small TV/remote as well.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebMacD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2007

We stayed at Portumna House for a friends wedding at the nearby Shannon Oaks (200 yds away). My advice would be to skip the Shannon Oaks and stay at Portumna House, it is almost as close to the function room as most of the hotels rooms and although I didn't go into the hotel rooms I can't imagine that they would be any better than the rooms here. The Shannon Oaks lodges are certainly not as nice - I went into a couple of them. Service is very friendly, breakfast served until 10 am, the rooms and guest house are spotless and well maintained.

No complaints at all, but a definite recommendation. A1.

Stayed: June 2007
2  Thank St_Albans_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laetitia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDalton, Owner at Portumna House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portumna hotels
0.4 mi away
Pod Umna Village
Pod Umna Village
#1 of 3 in Portumna
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oak Lodge Bed & Breakfast
1.3 mi away
Gatelodge B&B
Gatelodge B&B
#2 of 3 in Portumna
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Curra House B&B
#5 of 6 in Portumna
1 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Portumna House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portumna House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Portumna House Saint Brendans Road | Portumna County Galway, Portumna, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Portumna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Portumna
Price Range: $94 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Portumna House Bed & Breakfast. Portumna House is a purpose built Bed and Breakfast with all rooms en-suite with TV/dvd and tea/coffee making facilities. Situated 200 meters from the town centre and close to all amenities like Portumna Golf Club, Lough Derg, Shannon Cruises, Portumna Castle and forest park walks. Tea coffee and home made scones on arrival. Children welcome. Guests' sitting room available with multichannel TV, tea/coffee available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Portumna House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing