We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Disconnect to reconnect in Portumna.”
other travelers have booked this property
Old Post Office Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old Post Office Cottage
Master bedroom kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Old Post Office Cottage
Master bedroom
kitchen
Twin bedroom
Living dining area
Exterior photo
Garden flowers
Picnic area
Main enterance
Horse Riding
sheep by the shannon river
swans on the shannon river
Portumna abbey
boat on lough derg
garden roses
old water pump
Joe
Castle gates
Portumna bridge at night
Sam
Autumn    time in rural Ireland
Portumna forest park
One happy family of hens in the orchard
Cliffs Of Moher No 1 attraction in Ireland
Burren Region
Portumna Golf Course
Cottage Sign
Solid fuel stove
Work House in Portumna
Large catch of fish caught while on holiday .
Catch of the day
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Portumna, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
JuliaBHM
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disconnect to reconnect in Portumna.”
Reviewed July 5, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The Old Post Office was perfectly appointed for our short stay. We are a family of 4 who sometimes need a little extra space and love having a kitchen and country around us. We came in on a wet and chilly afternoon and enjoyed firing up the old wood stove. Charming and very clean, the house was an hour drive from Galway City and only 2 hours from Dublin, therefore a good central location. Our host was most gracious. I highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2017
Julia thank you for a excellent review.Please tell your friends about my old world cottage in rural Ireland.Best wishes Lena.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph...
1 review
“Homely cottage in a excellent location”
Reviewed June 24, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Homely cottage. Great character. Looked after very well by Lena. Superbly located for fantastic sightseeing.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thorelseb...
Ile-de-France, France
1 review
“A very pleasant stay on holiday”
Reviewed June 16, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had a magical time in this beautiful region of portumna. Lena gave us a warm welcome and was extraordinary for us throughout the stay, THANK YOU for all Lena and hope to see you soon !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2017
Thanks a mil for the brilliant review.Perfect for promoting my cottage.Best wishes Lena.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyne L
Cherbourg-Octeville, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very lovely cottage”
Reviewed December 19, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Very lovely cottage in a quiet countryside at only ten minutes from Portumna.
A lovely guest, Lena, always ready to help you and to do all what she can for you to enjoy your journey. We’re impatient to come back !…

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accueil et installations pmr (personne à mobilité réduite)
Liked least: No wifi
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline H
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Welcome Return”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed with Lena many times and every time she is helpful and friendly, she can't do enough for us. If we ever had any queries she was always happy to help but we never felt as though she intruded on our holiday. As usual, the house was immaculate. Having a burner in the cottage made the house feel warm and cosy, we lit it nearly every night just because it made the house feel homely. We love the peace and quiet of the countryside and the local shop is only a short walk away on country lanes. We visited Portumna and Killimor for something to eat and were impressed with the quality of food. We had our annual trip to Turoe Pet Farm in Bullaun with some cousins and it only cost 75 Euros for 2 adults and 6 children. We spent all day there, until it closed at 7pm, so we definitely had our moneys worth. The food is delicious and very reasonably priced, well worth a visit! We also had a couple of trips into Galway which we thoroughly enjoyed. We will be back again because we love staying in the Old Post Office and Lena makes our stay problem free - a perfect hostess!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitya2013
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic and unique step back in time”
Reviewed July 31, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I happened upon a photo of the Old Post Office cottage when looking for something near the Galway coast and I am so glad to have found it. the cottage was immaculate and Lena was such a wonderful host. She supplied us with breakfast provisions on the spot when she discovered we had not made it to the store, and gave great recommendations about routes, restaurants and sights. The cottage itself was immaculate, and a wonderful step back in time. We loved the chickens! We also really enjoyed Portumna's castle and workhouse, and live music in Terryglass.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen...
Covington, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cute, cozy, quaint, quiet country cottage.”
Reviewed June 25, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A great place to relax or to use as a day-trip base from which to vacation. Lena is a warm, welcoming hostess with lots of great advice regarding nearby sights and restaurants. The location is very quiet, the beds are comfy and the wood/peat stove adds lots of warmth and charm. The location may be country, but its only about a 10 minute drive to Portumna for shopping, restaurants, pubs, and sight-seeing. We really loved staying here!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Good central location and great value.
Liked least: All was good.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing