We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Lakeview House

Lakeview House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lakeview House
master bedroom the river beside lakeview house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
33 reviews
Lakeview House
master bedroom
the river beside lakeview house
our new dining room cum sunroom
reading ,chatting or tv room
heading for the mountains
en suite cosy room
you have arrived
get your fresh eggs in the morning
kayaking on our private river
all new equipment for guests use free of charge
feed our saddlebacks
ice cream break out cycling in the sliabh aughties
our donkeys , contemplating life
time out
see the white tailed eagles here in mountshannon
lough derg, a short walk from the house
mother and son, out for a walk
derrygoolin scenic views and walks
wait for me, on the mountain roads
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Portumna, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Pizzalove...
Caistor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed August 16, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Lovely big house with great garden. Plenty of room for people to do their own thing or come together. Centrally situated and although we would usually holiday at the coast there was plenty to keep us occupied despite some pretty poor weather. One or two minor issues such as temperamental showers and very slow filling cisterns but nothing to put a dampener on things. Overall a lovely house, well equipped and well located.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcmargg...
Landau in der Pfalz, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location with everything you need”
Reviewed November 7, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Nice house located not far from lough derg.

Perfect for everybody who wants to visit ireland and enjoys the nature at the lough or the highlands.

The house has 4 Bedrooms and 3 Bathrooms. Everything was in good shape and clean. The owner allowed our dog to stay - so everybody enjoyed the stay.
Right behind the house is the possibilty to go for a walk with the dog.

In the garage are bicycles and kajak for 6 people or even more.

We´ll visit again next year!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzy00215...
Turin, Italy
1 review
“Ideal spot to enjoy the West”
Reviewed November 5, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Just come back from our stay and loved it from the warm comfy beds and great Irish welcome from Garry and his mum. Fantastic walking country and such a bonus to have all the cycling and kayaking equipment on hand and in perfect condition. The kids loved having fun on the bikes and there's such freedom here. We'll definitely be back soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irelandjo...
Mainz, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely lakeside residence”
Reviewed November 3, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Came for the third year in a row and enjoyed the stay big time.
Lovelv warm and cosy house. Perfect walking and hillwalking for miles.....total freedom and the pub nearby .... heaven

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
563pom
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peace & quiet in the West.”
Reviewed October 22, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Traditionally restored and classical family home with spacious surroundings. Loads of space with big lawn, well equipped shed with all cycling & kayaking equipment. Garry & his Mother couldn't have been more welcoming & informative.
Access to midlands, West coast beaches, the Burren and Galway city less than an hour away.
Great spot to recharge the batteries!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Crap is an understatement! Definitely not again”
Reviewed October 21, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

House was lovely looking from outside but very tacky inside, needs totally revamped and a good cleaning, new furniture ect... couldn't eat around the table for meals in the evening as all 6 chairs in conservatory were broken. No wifi, 2 channels on television no power of water in the showers upstairs and took ages for the cistern to fill in the toilets ended up using a tin bin thats in one of the bathrooms to fill with water and flush myself lol. Also no outside bins for rubbish, Gerry was informed as we called into their pub and told his mother of the problem. There was 9 of us staying there so quite alot of rubbish, which im sure gathered mice and rats! Not good when theres kids present, not very hygienic. When we arrived we were exspecting to be able to use the kayaks which was a big no no, it was impossible to get down the river behind the house to get onto the lake! It was overgrown with bushes and brambles, ridiculous! No farm animals either to be seen, which is advertised with this house. Total let down, wont be back. Definitely would not recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2017
The undesirables again at it , these are the ones mugged in Poland and who couldn't pay , every excuse and reason why Tripadvisor couldn't take their payment , unfortunately I believed their story and the incessant emails . The language choice certainly indicates the class of this customer and possibly indicates a holiday in a Failte ireland 4 star house in a beautiful country setting where relaxation and tranquility are the selling points not tv channels and distances to the nearest drinking spots . A holiday not compatible with this type of customer , please now desist from these silly attacks . All the other guests over six seasons from many countries could not have given the house the review status it has if your allegations were anything other than false and indeed the Canadians and the northern family who stayed immedetely after contradicts your review .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willjcl
Providenciales
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“City living in the country - - NOT”
Reviewed September 24, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

If you are looking for city living in the country, move on. There are plenty of options available for you throughout Western Ireland. 6 of us used the house for our base to take day trips to Kilarny, The Cliffs of Moher, Galway, and many other destinations in Southern and Western Ireland. We would go out through the day and then return to Gary's little pub for a Guinness or two to finish up the day. The house was the perfect size for our party of 6. Gary, the owner was very easy to deal with and we had no issues getting in and settled. The craic in the pub (also owned by Gary) was great and we enjoyed our time there. If you do get to the pub, get Gary's mum to pull your pint, she's a pro.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing