We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Easter uprising”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Lakeview House

Lakeview House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lakeview House
master bedroom the river beside lakeview house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
31 reviews
Lakeview House
master bedroom
the river beside lakeview house
our new dining room cum sunroom
reading ,chatting or tv room
heading for the mountains
en suite cosy room
you have arrived
get your fresh eggs in the morning
kayaking on our private river
all new equipment for guests use free of charge
feed our saddlebacks
ice cream break out cycling in the sliabh aughties
our donkeys , contemplating life
time out
see the white tailed eagles here in mountshannon
lough derg, a short walk from the house
mother and son, out for a walk
derrygoolin scenic views and walks
wait for me, on the mountain roads
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Portumna, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Harry T
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Easter uprising”
Reviewed April 14, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Stayed at Lake view house for a week over the Easter break (6 adults & 3 children) booked with Imagine Ireland. The house was lovely and warm when we arrived around 9pm due to the owner putting on the heating for us, the house was very spacious & all the rooms were clean. It is well placed for touring the area around Lough Derg. We used the bicycles & carried the Kayaks down to the boat house on the river & sailed from there to the lake which the family thoroughly enjoyed. Garry the owner was very welcoming & on hand to solve any problems should they arise, the house like any rental property used by lots of different people has room for improvement notably the kitchen units, but overall it is a lovely place to rise in the morning & enjoy what lies ahead for the day. A big thank you to Garry & hope to see you again soon

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The house, Bikes & Kayaks
Liked least: The Kitchen
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Getaway!”
Reviewed January 21, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lakeview House is a stunning accommodation, friends and I spent my 30th birthday week at the house and had a fantastic time. Plenty of space to roam around in the house, excellent facilities and a very friendly welcome from the local people. The house was furnished to a high standard, beds and sofas were comfortable.

Would thoroughly recommend as a good location for getting away from reality for a week to unwind - great central location, close to amenities and attractions and far enough out of the way for a reclusive break!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 5, 2017
Thanks pleasure to have you stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
densheer
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Little Disappointing”
Reviewed August 1, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
5
people found this review helpful

We recently spent 7 days in Lakeview House for an extended family holiday. There were 9 of us in total - 7 adults & 2 children. We made the booking a number of months ago after reading the reviews and watching the promo video. Lakeview House seemed a good fit - large enough to accommodate everyone with onsite activities for all ages.
The living room was comfortable & the dining room was bright and airy.
The bedrooms were spacious but there was a lot of property in the wardrobes (including past occupants / guests clothes) so some of us opted not to unpack our bags.
The kitchen was in poor repair and would benefit from a complete overhaul. The extractor fan appears to be broken for a long time and is held shut with parcel tape. There was absolutely no storage space available for our food. Aside from the presses containing the utensils etc, every other press was full of junk or left over / expired food.
Externally, there is a large lawn around the house. The kayaks, fishing rods & bikes were available as advertised. The river runs right alongside the property but this section is unsuitable for kayaking. We carried the kayaks further down river but we were unable to reach the lake due to fallen branches and fluctuating water levels. There is no pedestrian access to the lake via the adjacent land - the route along the river is overgrown and the fields turn to marsh the closer you get to the lake. You can walk to the lake via the road - this is a pleasant 15-20 minute stroll. The road to the lake is extremely narrow and winding so I would advise caution if you decide to take the kayaks down to the lake by car.
I would agree with previous reviews about the location of this property for touring the surrounding region, however, we were more interested in staying local and enjoying the onsite activities. The children were too young to use the bikes or kayaks but they were really looking forward to seeing all the animals shown in the promotional video - donkeys, hens & pigs. It was extremely disappointing that we encountered none of these. There was evidence that donkeys or cows may have been in the enclosure to the front of the house - but not during our time there. The was however absolutely no sign of the pigs or hens or indeed the outhouses / sheds depicted in the photos / video. I would query the relevance of the images of children petting the animals and collecting eggs if it doesn't form part of the experience of Lakeview.
I would recommend this property for anyone solely interested in using it as a base for touring the region but not for the house itself or onsite facilities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of bedrooms
Liked least: Kitchen
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 15, 2016
Insurance costs prohibit access to the farmyard , following an accident where a visitor fell, it was decided not to allow access to the farmyard . Find it unusual to see this review contradicting all the other positive reviews but it's an opinion and we take it on board .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewed July 14, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Great place with a lots of rooms for a group of eight
Liked least: Bathrooms might be ready for a freshup
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ernest H
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family Reunion”
Reviewed November 2, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The house and location were ideal for a family reunion. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely come again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large dinning area at the front of the house, ideal for a large family at meal times
Liked least: Can't think of anything that I didn't like about the house
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paige D
Gillette, Wyoming
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Home in a Magical Setting”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Our time at Lakeview House was far better than we had hoped or expected. The house itself is spacious, clean, and elegant; it really felt like being at home. It is perfectly situated as a home base while touring the entire country (as we did), but it is also perfect for staying put to walk the grounds, fish, and boat the lake. Gary and his mother are wonderful hosts who treated us like welcome guests rather than "renters". We are already planning our return trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and Location
Liked least: Having to Leave
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike w
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“great house”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

a lovely house set in tranquil surroundings we had a great time chilling out and enjoying the facilitys, we used the bikes a lot and also tried the canoe down the river
garry the owner was a great bloke and we enjoyed the sing alongs and the crack
at his pub up the road also thanks to his mate for the fresh eggs all week
do try the half barrel pub at whitegate best steaks ever and lovely rachel and staff great hosts

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing