We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fine hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Connemara National Park Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Portstewart, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“fine hostel”
Reviewed July 29, 2010

its a hostel avery fine hostel.
we stayed in a family room with one double bed and a bunk bed, en suite.
very clean - for a hostel.
kitchen/common room has everything you need.
location is very good. letterfrack is nice village near beach, mountains,
there are few bars and eating places , shops, playground and nice walks.

not the cheapest for a hostel but we didnt want to stay the other (proper hippy type)hostel in the village and its just our way.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hihiromi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    43
    18
    11
    8
See reviews for
27
44
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

I turned up here on a recent Sunday evening after making a booking the day before, I rang ahead at 5 to ensure that 'Mike' would be there at 8 when I arrived. When I did arrive at 8.00 I rang the owner/manager only for him to tell me that he was drinking (drunk?) in the pub100 yards away, and could I possibly book into that hostel instead.... an utter disgrace,

To my horror I found a couple from New Zealand staying in my second hostel (the Bard's Den) who had exactly the same experience that night.

I wouldn't know what this place is like to acutally stay in as the owner/manager couldn't be bothered to let me in. 0 stars.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stunt_penguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Not really luxury accommodation. Just a Youth Hostel with private rooms. Nicely placed but not with the breath taking views you might expect from the web site. For us a disappointment - didn't see Mike!! Other staff not very friendly or attentive. Very difficult to get prompt email responses to enquiries.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, NJ
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2009

We stayed in Letterfrack Lodge while on a road trip thru Galway and Clare. Location is superb, a quick stumble from the crossroads in Letterfrack, which has several pubs and restaurants.

When we arrived we had trouble locating Mike, who was out back, and frankly we missed having someone at the front desk to answer the usual simple questions any guest would have when arriving. We noticed another couple arriving later, were also disconcerted at this, and I actually ended up helping them to get settled !

However, that said, the place is very well equipped, with a large number of sizeable rooms. Ours had an ensuite bathroom. The upstairs kitchen and living room area was more than adequate., and I am a huge fan of the National Geographics ! The breakfast was just what we needed. There were some nice maps and tip-sheets in all the rooms and common areas, and these added to the atmosphere: this is an excellent base for touring the surrounding area: very close to Diamond Hill, Mount Tully and Kylemore Abbey. A bus will get you to the ferry to Inishbofin. I have a feeling that this place might be a bit better for groups than for couples looking for more quiet. There were several groups of travellers there, from different countries and they seemed to be having a good time.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PT07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2009

Letterfrack is an excellent strategic place to visit Connemara!
the hostel is great, plenty of room, the common rooms are spacious and very clean!
The ensuite rooms are very confortable (no bed side lamps) and clean!
The only problem is that you can hear everything especially your neighbours' showers and flushes... so come with ear plugs and then take benefit of the magnificent area and all the information given by Mike the owner, who is not so talkative and welcoming as I thought before arriving, a pity.
Anyway, I'll recommand this place!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matpakke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow/Cracow, Poland
2 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2009

I spent 6 days in the hostel with my 19 years old daughter in July 2009. It was the best hostel we have encountered during our two weeks trip to Western Ireland. The hostel was very clean, the breakfast (included in the accommodation price - 30 E/per person - en suite room) was quite good. The hostel is located in Letterfrack, a smal and wodnerfull village in the foothills of sharp shape and rocky Diamond Hill, and near the entrance to the Connemara National Park. Very nice host infoms you (in details) about most attractive touristic objects located in the region, including half-day excursion to the top of Diamond Hill, and whole day excursion to the highest peak of Benna Beola (12 Pins) Mountain Chain (non-path mountain trek). General impression: excellent hostel, nice host, "five stars". Author's e-mail: slawomir@aga.img-pan.krakow.pl.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrs_pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North-West
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2009

Okay, it says "luxury budget accomodation", but as they've got double rooms ensuite I expected something similar to a B&B, but it's not.
We paid 60euros per room and night excl. breakfast (continental breakfast is 5 euros extra p.p.). I'd rather spend 10 Euros more on a proper B&B and get a full Irish breakfast, a TV, towels and matching non-faded bed sheets.
However, it was clean and staff was very friendly. Kitchen has got all you need (even a dishwasher), so you can prepare your own breakfast or dinner.
I'd recommand it though to backpackers and other travellers who don't expect too much comfort.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knabber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Letterfrack
1.1 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
4.3 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
2.4 mi away
Maol Reidh Hotel
Maol Reidh Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tullycross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
9.3 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
5.3 mi away
Clifden Station House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Connemara National Park Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Connemara National Park Hostel

Property: Connemara National Park Hostel
Address: Letterfrack | Connemara, Co Galway, Letterfrack, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Letterfrack
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Letterfrack
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Connemara National Park Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Connemara National Park Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing