We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top spot :-)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Connemara National Park Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This is a top hostel, really relaxed friendly vibe, clean and a great location in Letterfrack village which was perfect for us to explore Connemara. Staff were helpful but not in your face and gave us lots of ideas of things to do in the area when we asked. We only planned on staying one night but stayed for three as we found so much to do. Can't wait to go to Letterfrack again, thanks guys :-).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 167 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2012

Stayed for a few days in the "dorm". Enjoyed the community kitchen & laundry room. Was perfect for somebody coming and going throughout the day. Staff friendly and the owner was helpful. People that give bad reviews are clueless.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

having arrived at the hostel at about 3 i rang the owner mike. he told me he would be down in five minutes. he arrived down half an hour later barely able to stand. he showed me to the room which had a stale smell and a lumpy bed.
the living and eating areas were both dirty and ressembled the slums.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank larry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

A very nice place to spend holidays, alone or with friends. The dining room and the saloon are suit very well to meet new friends : as well as families with children, young couples, other youngs. Possible to have a breakfast (not the full irish one, but a strong one) for 5 €. The bedrooms are tidied every days, it's the same for the bathroom and toilets. Very usefull advices from Michael, the host, to go walking. I hope to see you next year, to go visiting National Park, and Renvyle peninsula.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank casadei63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed here with a group friends. Located in the heart of a lovely village. Clean, tidy, functional rooms. Spacious kitchen and lounge area, though the ovens in kitchen could do with replacing. Very relaxed atmosphere here. Be prepared for the discoloured water from the taps(due to the clay or stone in the area apparently). Would recommend this hostel. It is a great base for access to the mountains and all that walking.....

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hollyberry09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

A group of us stayed in the hostel in September for 3 nights. This is a fine building with a great room configuration for all kinds of couples or groups. It is just a two minute walk from Letterfrack village which has 3 good pubs, a nice cafe, a very nice restaurant or two and a fabulous supermarket that stocks ABSOLUTELY everything.

We stayed in a number of rooms of varying sizes and bed configuration. Most of the rooms seem to have an en suite bathroom with sink, toiliet and shower cubicle. Surprisingly - towels are provided, but no toiletries, so bring your own.

The living room is cosy and has a large TV and fireplace with lots of books and games to borrow. The kitchen is well kitted out, though the two cookers are aging somewhat now and could do with replacing. The dining room has seats for about 20 people.

I had a few issues with this place, but in fact we enjoyed our visit to stunning Connemara so much that the few issues didn't really interfere with our enjoyment.

However, there is one issue that I must vent on. When we booked we agreed on a price (verbally) with the manager. On Checking out, he had bumped it up by 2 euro per person per night. I thought this was very unprofessional. It was not a question of the Euro increase it was more a case of the rate being changed after it was agreed. We did have to remind the manager about this and he relented, but I did feel it was a cheap shot on his behalf, and it was embarrassing for me on checking out.
My tip to you is if you agree a rate with the manager on the phone, follow it up with an email confirming the rate and then bring that email with you.

When in Letterfrack make sure that you climb nearby Diamond Hill. It is spectacular and is a farily easy 3 hour up/down hike on a very obvious path. You can access Diamond Hill from the hostel. No need for cars.
I also recommend that you walk around the education complex itself, which was the home to a controversial industrial school in the past. The on site church is very poignant with a very emotional sculpture dedicated to 'the boys' of Letterfrack

Discovery Series Map no. 37 is the perfect accompaniment for your trip to Letterfrack and the beautiful surrounding area.

Enjoy

Room Tip: Agree a price with manager first by phone and email and bring a copy of the email with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

we stayed here for 3nights. we paid 25e pp (without breakfast) which was excellence for us because it was august bank holiday and prices in dog friendly places where high
there is big dining room and kitchen (you can cook for yourself)
big supermarket is 1minute away (walk)
living room with TV (no fire place)
connemara national park is 1minute away (by car)
kylemore abbey 5minutes away (by car)
best place to have breakfast " the bread basket", 10e and excellence coffe!

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Rudzia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Letterfrack
4.3 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
740 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
359 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
306 reviews
10.5 mi away
Leenane Hotel
Leenane Hotel
#2 of 4 in Leenane
601 reviews
2.4 mi away
Maol Reidh Hotel
Maol Reidh Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tullycross
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Connemara National Park Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Connemara National Park Hostel

Address: Letterfrack | Connemara, Co Galway, Letterfrack, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Letterfrack
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Letterfrack
Price Range: $20 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Connemara National Park Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Connemara National Park Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing