We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy restaurant at the foor of the Diamond Hill”
Review of The Bards Den Restaurant - CLOSED

The Bards Den Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Kessel-Lo, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cosy restaurant at the foor of the Diamond Hill”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

On our first day in Ireland we went to the Bard's Den for a quick lunch. I took the very good seafood soupe with bread. My wife took toast with cheese and salad, and the kids went for chicken fingers and salad and an open sandwich with bacon and tomatoes.
The service was correct and the food was of good quality, but not overly refined. Portions were large enough to go on for the rest of the afternoon.

Prices were correct for what we got. There was an open, cosy atmosphere that is even suitable for smaller kids.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JMennens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    37
    10
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Large portions of home cooked food”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We ate here last night after a complete day of cycling and hiking and my wife and i were starving. We only ordered one main course each off the specials menu and were glad that we didn´t order an appetizer because we were stuffed. The prices are not cheap although the portions are large and good value. The quality of our diner was top notch! Highly recommended!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Brettkronewitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A hearty meal well made”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

As a restaurant the Bards Den serves a good hearty meal with an emphasis on not leaving you short, I had the mussels with cabbage and bacon, which at €18 was not budget, but if you know I advance how much they serve up, this dish would easily serve 2 as it comes with chips and bread. So works out as great value, even better still is that it really was very good, better than many a posh restaurant I have eaten in. Well seasoned with a lovely broth. Chips were great as was the rustic bread. All washed down with a well poured pint of the "black stuff" the surroundings were basic and casual as you would expect from a hostel. The staff were very friendly which is par for the course in Connemara. So for a good feed it's highly recommended. They seem to stop serving at 9pm.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“It's average pub grub....”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

There is a nice buzz to the place. As pub grub goes it's fine, the emphasis is on quantity. The chips are piled high, the chicken is smothered in garlic butter. When hungry and on a budget it's fine. It's not gourmet but then it does not claim to be. The pizza base was a little too heavy. With serious opposition now across the road in the Lodge restaurant , I hope that will help bump up the standard in the Den.

Helpful?
Thank MrGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clogherhead, Louth, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best in the west”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

The bards den is a fantastic base to explore the west.............great priced accommodation in the form of a hostel..............however the food is outstanding...........fresh fish ..........succulent steaks and fabulous home made pizzas to name but a few..................staff are excellent........welcoming ....friendly and knowledgeable...............overall one of the best value and best meals have had diving around Ireland...................highly recommended

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bards Den Restaurant also viewed

Letterfrack, County Galway
Letterfrack, County Galway
 
Clifden, County Galway
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing