We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the trek through Connemara”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Letterfrack
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the trek through Connemara”
Reviewed May 9, 2009

My fiance and I stayed here for one excellent night in April 2009. After driving through the barren mountains of Connemara in the pouring rain, we arrived to lush grounds with an amazing view of the water and mountains. Our room was huge with a very nice soaker tub, heated bathroom floors, and a great view. The food was the best we had in Ireland on our whole trip with an amazing five course dinner and one of the best breakfasts I have had full of flaky croissants, strawberry jam and delicious smoked salmon. The service was the most personal I have experienced with tea upon arrival, peat fires burning in the drawing rooms and a hand-drawn map of the property grounds. My one and only complaint is that the reception area had a bit of a litter box or wet animal smell, but it could have just been the day. Overall, I would totally recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tekla76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    59
    14
    6
    0
See reviews for
82
193
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
belfast northern ireland
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2008

Stayed here for 3 nights because of a family wedding. The second night the hotel was full with wedding guests as it offers exclusive use to wedding parties. We stayed in one of the junior suites which was fantastic, it had a four poster bed and was a very comfortable room. Also got to see many of the other rooms that our family were staying in and they are all excellent and no two rooms are the same! There are wonderful views over the bay to the front of the hotel and it is in a very picturesque area of Ireland. The staff of the hotel were excellent, very friendly and helpful and breakfast was very good - excellent coffee. The quality of the food in the restaurant and for the wedding meal was first class but the 50euro table d'hote menu doesn't leave much choice - there are some good restaurants in the nearby village of Letterfrack also.
This is an ideal place for adults to get away from it all for a few days and just relax.
It is also ideal for small weddings due to the ability to have exclusive use of the hotel which creates a great atmosphere.

  • Liked — Very Comfortable
  • Disliked — Internet was broken
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bresers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2008

We stayed here for a mid-week break and really enjoyed it. The avenue up to the hotel and the front of the hotel were gorgeous. The setting is beautiful and the hotel is situated a short drive from Kylemore Abbey and Gardens.

The girl who checked us in and showed us to our room was very helpful and friendly. Our room was huge with a fabulous four poster bed and great free standing bath. The room smelled a bit musty but that was the only minor problem, I probably could have asked to change rooms but I loved the room too much to ask for a change!

We ate in the hotel's restaurant the first night, the atmosphere was great, and even for a Tuesday night the room was full! The food was very tasty and the staff were very good. The only thing we didn't like was our bottle of wine was not opened at our table but behind a screen where we couldn't see.

Our break included free entry into Kylemore Abbey & Gardens so we spent a very enjoyable morning strolling around the grounds. We had beautiful weather during our stay and it really made a difference. There is plenty of amazing scenery which looks 10 times better on a sunny day.

I'd definitely recommend it to a friend.

  • Liked — The four poster bed
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArielIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2008

My friend from England and I spent three nights in single rooms in this wonderful place and had dinner each night. The first thing that was unusual was that there were no room keys. The lady at reception pointed out to us that there was never any need for them. There was a bolt on the inside of the bedroom door while valuables could be left at reception for safe keeping.
There is an old world atmosphere about the place which is family run but facilities are very up to date. From my room was a stunning view of Ballinakill Bay. The bathrooms were very large and my friend's had a jacuzzi included.
The dining room was outstanding in appearance and in the quality of food. Each evening we assembled in the conservatory and ordered dinner. One could mix and match orders from the set menu and the a la carte giving a wide choice. The menus were similar to the sample one on the hotel's website. My favourites were the Connemara lamb and the venison. We took our after dinner coffee in the drawing room which has a roaring open fire in the winter.
Breakfast was equally good with the juices freshly squeezed to order.
The hotel grounds had little walks which were shown on hand drawn maps as well as a lawn sloping down to the bay. The entrance to the national park was only a few hundred metres from the hotel while other nearby attractions included Kylemore Abbey and Victorian walled garden.
All the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. I suppose the only drawback is that it rains on around 200 days per year but it is mostly "soft rain" . It needs a clear day to really appreciate the stunning scenery.
We both though that it was great value at around €400 each

  • Liked — The relaxed friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — Small TVs with few channels ( but this did not bother me)
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank strongbow18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, California
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2008

We loved this gorgeous manor house hotel. The public rooms were cozy and inviting, the room was large and comfortable, and the service was great. The place is truly atmospheric with a peat fire burning and a beautiful conservatory bar for relaxing. Dinner and breakfast were above and beyond as well. The only complaint, albeit small, was that as someone else mentioned there were no keys to the rooms. This didn't bother us although I had read the manager's response to the earlier review and I requested a key and was told there weren't any, and the in room guide advises you they won't be responsible for any theft. That's not an ideal situation when you're traveling without a car, leaving all your valuables and things with the front desk is inconvenient and awkward. Clearly the place is safe, but this is not a private home, it is a hotel so there are people all over the place.
Also the bed was very soft, so if you have back issues, be aware. Maybe other rooms have firmer beds, so request one if that's an issue for you. Beyond that this was a great spot.

  • Liked — the character and charm
  • Disliked — the mattress
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NVRam123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2008

Spent four nights during a motoring holiday on the West Coast and found this an excellent base for exploring the area. Our room was front facing and overlooked the wonderful gardens and Ballynakill Bay beyond, and was well worth the extra cost.
Unfortunately the room was not very well soundproofed and we did overhear the people next door arguing!
We ate dinner in the restaurant each night and were pleased that the menu changed daily with a good choice and the food was of high quality and efficiently served, despite the restaurant being busy every night. We were delighted to find that there was no piped music! The public rooms are charming ; two lounges in the original house and a brand new conservatory which functions as the bar and also provides free internet access.
We cannot praise the staff too much, all were friendly, hard-working and a good souce of local knowledge. Mark Foyle should be proud of his team , but then he sets them a good example!
We would stay here again without hesitation.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank Molecatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2008

One of the best country house hotels I have stayed at in Ireland. Rooms are large and well laid out, food was excellent but the relaxed atmosphere makes this hotel stand out. This is one of the few hotels in Ireland where you get value for money.

  • Liked — Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Weak showers
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sisIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Letterfrack
8.7 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
275 reviews
4.3 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
716 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
4.5 mi away
Clifden Station House
11.4 mi away
Doonmore Hotel
Doonmore Hotel
#1 of 3 in Inishbofin
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosleague Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosleague Manor Hotel

Property: Rosleague Manor Hotel
Address: Rosleague, Letterfrack, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Letterfrack
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Letterfrack
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Rosleague Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosleague Manor Letterfrack
Hotel Rosleague Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing