We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money”
Review of The Bards Den

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bards Den
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good value for the money”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst diving in the area. We paid for a private double room and were given one with a comfy double and 2 single beds in it for only a few euros more than the normal dorm price. We had an ensuite (though there was a small leak in the shower which meant that the room did smell a bit damp), with a lovely warm shower in it - no problems with getting warm water at any time that we tried it. In the common room there was cereal, milk, bread, spreads and even fresh fruit for making breakfasts - there is also a stove and two fridges for those people who want to cook themselves. We ate each evening in the pub and this was one of the highlights of my holiday - the seafood in particularly was amazing and you always got plenty on your plate!
Great value for the money, friendly staff, great food and Heather really demonstrated the true Irish hospitality :)
Tip: If you're diving with Scubadive West then you get a discount at Bard's Den!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScoobyLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    15
    10
    8
    7
See reviews for
13
18
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hostel is very close to the Connemara and the Diamond hill path, very central to explore the area. Supermarket next door, nice pub with good food, and there's another one just in front with groups playing at weekends. very nice! The room was basic, the bed ok and it was warm as the heating was on. BUT the big problem is the terrible smell, of damp and yes, feels a bit moldy, and there were a few spiders' webs... Really needs good ventilation / cleaning. It's a shame because the common area is nice, with a few board games and everything needed for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angelo_pepita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Letterfrack hotels

Killarney, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Arriving in the middle of january we were the only people staying in the bards den. When I entered the room the owner has given us she was just about to clean it up a little bit (like bringing out the rubbish). Hopefully she did it properly before we arrived! The room was very small, the beds old and very uncomfortable. But the worst thing to be honest was the temperature in the hostel. It was so freezingly cold. No heating! We just found one heating to plug in but that is not enough.
The TVs aren't working.
The breakfast was good and there where many diffrent things to eat.
The hostel is located quite well ( in the middle of Letterfrack near to the National Park and the Pub is on the other side of the street).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RebeccaM1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had booked the old monastery, but he had overbooked, and sent us here.
We had a six bed room for 3 of us. The door did not even close, never mind lock, so we ended up carrying everything with us. Although tv was promised, this turned out to be rte 1 in a glorious but unwatchable pink hue. There was mould on the walls and the towels were more holes than cloth.
Breakfast was cornflakes and bread, although the bread ran out and an old crone appeared with a heel of wheaten bread from her own kitchen.
We were charged 60 euro for two adults and one child which we felt was excessive for what we got.

Room Tip: There aren't any good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LimList
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Go to Bards Den! Dirt and cobwebs everywhere- moldy odor-
only for most daring travellers!
Nobody there to ask...or to complain...
free wifi never works
You can- luckily- get a lot more for 80 € (family room) in Ireland!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hase12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in August 2012.
Pros:
Fantastic location - ideal for trekking, biking etc. Connemara is soo beautifull! It stole my heart on the first evening when we drove R344 from Recess towards Letterfrack. The mountains, lakes.... such lovely views! Oh, just mind the crazy sheep on the road ;)
Fantastic host - very friendly and welcoming, when met, he always stopped to have a few words, advice on things to do etc.
Very nice staff in the hostel&pub.
Room was fair enough, basic, not very big. Beds very comfortable. Room a bit stuffy and it was hardly possible to even dry a towel.
Breakfast was good, self service in the dining area, a selection of flakes/cereal, jams/peanut butter/chocolate for your tosts etc. You eat as much as you like.
The pub restaurant offers good food, try the irish stew, it was so huge I had to crowl out instead of walking out :)
Not so very pros:
Wifi does not work, it is there somewhere in the air but you cannot get connected. It was not just our computer, other guests experienced it as well.
The website says - free bike rental for guests staying 2-3 nights. Well... that did not happen to us. We were told they are not available/broken or whatever that was and we were sent to a hostel nearby. After 2 visits for checking availability and 10euros/bike we got an interesting collection of bikes, gears changing at their own will, a bit of rust, don't mention the breaks. ;) Quite an interesting adventure.
No water in the room for 2 days during the day and in the evening. We were told that there are issues with the village pump and water is running low. So actually as I see it, in an emergency situation, where they had to run the pub/restaurant, they cut off the hostel water. Quite charming after a day of trekking when all you dream of is a shower, or if you really need to go to the toilet...
I am not an over-demanding person and if not for the water issue I would have marked 'very good' forgetting other stuff as less significant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Room basic and on the small side but clean and fully functional. Great location and the adjoining bar is well run by excellent friendly staff who help create a great atmosphere with food and beer in the bar of good quality. Ideal stop off for 1 or 2 nights and excellent value for money

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roughguideLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Letterfrack
4.5 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
725 reviews
2.5 mi away
Maol Reidh Hotel
Maol Reidh Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tullycross
122 reviews
5.3 mi away
Clifden Station House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Kylemore Pass Hotel
Kylemore Pass Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kylemore
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Connemara National Park Hostel
0.0 mi away
Cloverfox Connemara
Cloverfox Connemara
#2 of 5 in Letterfrack
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bards Den? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bards Den

Property: The Bards Den
Address: Letterfrack, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Letterfrack
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Letterfrack
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Bards Den 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Bards Den reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing