We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Full of character, great service, great food.”
Review of The Bards Den

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bards Den
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed in the Hostel, basic but comfortable and inexpensive. Food and drink in the bar was really good, daily seafood special were great! Service is very good! Never had to visit the bar, the girls keep you topped up!
Free Wifi is nice also!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rog5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
There are newer reviews for The Bards Den
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 59 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2012

I spent a week in the Bards Den & BB in Letterfrack. I had a room for three but was lucky to have it all week for myself first week in May 2012 as a season did not start. There is a large kitchen where you can cook if you like. Breakfast is included. Place is very quite and nice. I would highly recommend staying in this place. It's centraly located in Letterfrack, entrance to the Connemara National Park. I loved staying in this hostel/B & B, staff was very nice and helpfull. The restaurant food is delicious!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaKurcinova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Great hostel in the centre of Letterfrack village and only a couple of minutes walk from the beautiful Connemara National Park.
Breakfast was orange juice, selection of cereals and tea/coffee/hot chocolate and toast with a whole host of jams and chocolate spreads.
Room we stayed in (an 8 bed mixed dorm) was spacious and clean. Bunk beds were large and very comfy.
Heather was a pleasure to deal with, very easy going and genuinely friendly. She seems to really love her job and has a great infectious laugh.
I've been to many hostels in many countries and this is up there with the best of them.
Their BBQ garden is lovely and if you get lucky with the weather it'd be a great place to have dinner and mingle with fellow guests.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

No one could complain about the size of the portions : they were most generous! And the quality was also top class. Most friendly staff. Shared accommodation was of good hostel standard

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lissoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed here while on a cycling through through Connemara. The accommodation was very basic - hostel style but it fitted the bill - a clean bed and a warm shower.
The bar was cosy with a warm fire and the food was very good- but lots of it - not sure how they make a profit.
The staff were very friendly. In general it was a good location for our trip. Would recommend for back packers, walkers and cyclists.
If you want five star- stay away.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarneyWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Well to put it short. The pub/staff (especially the young fellow behind the bar)/meal/charming old lady = great. Accommodation - definitely below average in Ireland.

However, if you have muddy shoes, if you want just to sleep there (the Letterfrack is due to the monastery stuff a weird place anyway...) and do not mind about accommodation too much, it is not as bad...even if the armchairs in the kitchen/common room seemed sort of "very used" and dirty.

One recommendation for the area - avoid the market routes - the hills are empty and AMAZING! Compass and map (you can buy in the shop in Letterfrack) are recommendable, especially in a foggy day.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jiri_Gerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

top marks to the chefs. excellent value and portions. i brought so many people there this year to enjoy the food, pints and craic. thanks to heater and the team! will be back next summer!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank col2fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Letterfrack
1.1 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
355 reviews
4.5 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
733 reviews
2.5 mi away
Maol Reidh Hotel
Maol Reidh Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tullycross
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Clifden Station House
5.7 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
4.7 mi away
Kylemore Pass Hotel
Kylemore Pass Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kylemore
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bards Den? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bards Den

Address: Letterfrack, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Letterfrack
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Letterfrack
Price Range: $70 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Bards Den 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Bards Den reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing