We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best chicken wings in ireland”
Review of The Bards Den

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bards Den
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“best chicken wings in ireland”
Reviewed October 28, 2011

top marks to the chefs. excellent value and portions. i brought so many people there this year to enjoy the food, pints and craic. thanks to heater and the team! will be back next summer!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank col2fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    15
    10
    8
    6
See reviews for
12
18
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Warm and friendly welcome. Generous with breakfast which was left out all day for people to help themelves to. Rooms were clean and staff were helpful and friendly and . Good atmophere.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niamh m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Arrived late on Friday, and had the most delicious meal in the county. Wonderful, friendly staff - clearly enjoy working there. Within a stones throw of Connemara National Park, and just down the road the wonderful Avoca Handweavers. Clearly lovers of dogs, and small children, as the busy Heather always had a smile for the children who were there, one evening we were enjoying a gorgeous steak. Try the Chicken Kiev and drool with the memory when you get home. Gillian, the barmaid is very efficient, and always has time for a bit of banter with the visitors and the locals.
Can't wait for next year!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smailliw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2010

This is one of the worst places I have ever stayed. The rooms are simply terrible!! Avoid at all costs.

The only redeeming factor about this place it the food. I had an evening meal here and it was amazing and would recommend.

My advice would be to eat here and stay in the hotel in local Tully Cross

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fluffy2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Letterfrack hotels

Whidbey Island, Washington
Level Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Chosen for location just 1 click from Connemara NP, this hostel looks deceptively attractive upon entry through the latticed garden with its potted pansies and evidence of recent gardening activity. Once inside, however, the room disappoints. (I made the mistake of letting my husband look at the room without me.) The broken ring of the toilet seat lay on the bathroom floor. Around the mirror, the wall looked like a graveyard for smashed flies, it was so speckled with grime and dead bodies. The shower stall was so dirty I would not even have gone in there with my shoes on, so went without a shower. We did use the sink for brushing our teeth, but did not leave our toothbrushes in the bathroom overnight. The bedroom carpeting looked grubby and smelled bad, and we kept our shoes on at all times when in the room.
The attached Bard’s Den restaurant is nice inside, but so pricey that we went across the street to Veldon’s and had an excellent seafood chowder and curried rice. Veldon’s is also a good place to meet and converse with local people.
On the plus side, there was free wifi in the sitting area, and a view of Diamond Hill out our window. However, we do not recommend this place for anyone but the most fearless of backpackers, and considering the grungy condition, it is overpriced at €40.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 3Islanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

We stayed at Bards Den for two nights on Easter Weekend. Knowing that this is a hostel, we weren't expecting much for it. We went there to climb Diamond Hill and the hostel's location was perfect for that, as it was only 5mins walk to the national park. The rooms are very basic, the furniture is not the nicest but we thought the beds were comfortable. It also had a TV (with 3 channels) which was great as we weren't expecting to have a TV in the room at all. The room had a nice view to the mountains. The bathroom was really small and old, but it had an electric shower so there was always hot water.
There is a kitchen which guests can use with all the cutlery and utensils you need for cooking. Breakfast was included and consisted of bread, cereals, milk, tea, coffee, honey, jam, butter, and things like that.
The owners of the hostel have a restaurant/pub next door, we went there for dinner and the food is good. There's also a supermarket across the road.
Overall the place was ok for a short stay, it was close to the park and there was a supemarket nearby. The rooms are not the nicest, but it's the cheapest in the area.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vitorfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoosier
2 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2009

Come for the food and the nice fireplace in the attached pub, but sleep elsewhere! My friend and I found the accommodation definitely substandard--bedding and ensuite bathroom fixtures were clean, but that's all. There were spiders and cobwebs in the bedroom and insects in the cramped bathroom--the mattress was bad for my back--poorly heated (heat on briefly every 4 hours)--torn window draperies--shabby home-made/mismatched furnishings--television did not work (after complaint it was replaced)--found a piece of burnt toast left behind in the toaster in the self-serve kitchen--an odd odor about the place--courtyard not well-lighted for night-time return to room via sloping unpaved path. Beware--your mobile phone might not work there (ours didn't). Sleep here only if you need to get out of the rain and have no place else to go.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hibern0phile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Letterfrack
1.1 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
338 reviews
2.5 mi away
Maol Reidh Hotel
Maol Reidh Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tullycross
119 reviews
4.5 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Kylemore Pass Hotel
Kylemore Pass Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kylemore
84 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Connemara National Park Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bards Den? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bards Den

Property: The Bards Den
Address: Letterfrack, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Letterfrack
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Letterfrack
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Bards Den 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and HostelWorld so you can book your The Bards Den reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing