We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best fish and chips of the whole trip”
Review of Veldon's Seafarer

Veldon's Seafarer
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $31
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Veldons Seafarer Bar and Restaurant is located in Letterfrack village at one of the main crossroads in Connemara – the heart of Connemara! We are located along the Wild Atlantic Way where the landscape is shaped by the sea and the local characters are full of creativity and chat. The bar has been a hub of activity for many years with Veldons Bar also being main grocers in the area. The old shop is now our great new restaurant. We aim to offer a friendly welcoming atmosphere where locals and visitors can enjoy a visit. Great food is served all day in the bar and we also have a separate restaurant. We are perfectly located for a quick coffee and sandwich before you carry on with your journey, a hearty steak after you have conquered Diamond Hill, or make a weekend of it and enjoy the ambiance of our restaurant followed by a pint in the bar! There is always a smiling face and a warm welcome in Veldons Seafarer.
marietta, ga
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“best fish and chips of the whole trip”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

stopped in this town on a whim after driving the sky road. we we glad! we had the best fish and chips of the entire trip here and the seafood chowder was chocked full of seafood. everything was extremely fresh. service was wonderful too. we also had a great conversation with one of the locals making it a memorable lunch. i would go out of my way to stop here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank verysatisfied09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    94
    13
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pueblo, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Veldon's Leg of Lamb Dinner”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Two days past, my wife and I had the most wonderful Leg of New Lamb Dinner that we have every tasted!
In the little village of Letterfrack, County Galway, Ireland, we went into this quaint Restaurant/Pub
and were warmly greeted by the Host/Barman with whom we made our drink orders, and were seated in a lovely booth and informed of the days specials.
We ordered an appetizer and the lamb dinners.
In no time at all, we were served and asked if we would like some fresh mint sauce for our lamb.
The host himself went back and prepared it on the spot.
Not simply mint jelly mind you, but real, fresh, chopped mint in a vinaigrette!
It was like no lamb, or any dinner I have ever eaten!
It was just one more fabulous reason for us to return to the area, every visit, every year!
Thank you Veldon's for a wonderful dinning experience!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tomas and Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbellaw, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Overpriced.”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Tried lunch here this summer. We sat just off the bar area, so it was essentially a pub lunch.

The service was slow, the surroundings run-down, and the food second rate. Everything on the menu seemed overpriced compared to Clifden.

Poor value all round.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank 57Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanbennett, Public Relations Manager at Veldon's Seafarer, responded to this review, January 27, 2015
Hi,
Thank you for your review.
We know it was a while ago since your last visit, but we are now under new management. We have refurbished the pub & restaurant and have a great new menu.
We would love for you to give us another try if you are in the area again!

Kind regards
Siobhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Nice restaurant in small Letterfrack Village. We went for a dinner just few minutes before closing. Staff was very helpful. They prepared food for us even they were closing the kitchen already. Mushrooms an sea food chowder for the starters and fish an chips for main course. Everything was great. Really happy to dine over there. I can recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kurzew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issoire, France
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Good food, but don't forget it's a restaurant and not a bar (particularly for the bill). Not so bad place to meet people.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank casadei63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veldon's Seafarer also viewed

Letterfrack, County Galway
 

Been to Veldon's Seafarer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing