We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gullane's Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ballinasloe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I stayed at Gullane's Hotel in April 2012.

This is an excellent family run business in Ballinasloe
Co. Galway. The room was clean and comfortable and
I received excellent service and great value.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 142 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2012

Stayed here (not choose by me) while attending a conference in the local Shearwater Hotel.
This hotel was fabulous..
Staff friendly, and I even spoke with the hotel owner who was a gentleman.

Would stay here again.

Room Tip: My room 104 outlooked carpark and was very peaceful and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wewstportlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

we stayed in gullane s last weekend as 2 of our grand canyon group are from ballinasloeand organised the whole weekend. hotel is very welcoming big comfortable room lovely comfy beds plenty of hot water .. the food omg fantastic we had a 3 course dinner there on sat night ...... yum yum the sea food chowder was so nice the pasta yum and the desert well just say it was yummy yummy check out is 12 noon but breakfast is served all day so there is no rush if ya have had a late nite the nite before would defo stay again well done x

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tamara016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Ok so where do I start....

I am in the hotel as I write this and it's my second time here.

My better half is in Ballinasloe Hospital after having our son on the 3rd Jan 2012. After looking online I came across 3 hotels in the area. Out of the three Gullanes was priced in the middle. One was very expensive and the other was very cheap. Not naming names if you know the area you will know who they are.

Firstly the rooms...

I was only here to sleep so I didn't really care. When I walked into the room I was amazed. Very spacious and very clean. My only negative point would be that I have a pet hate for throws over a bed. I prefer to see crisp white sheets and duvets. Bathroom was spotless and had everything you would expect. Taps were clean an not leaking and all worked as it should. It looked like this place was recently renovated or else very well maintained.

Now the Bar...

Nice comfortable bar. Friendly atmosphere and a good pint (always important)

The Food...

Another pet hate is buffet breakfast but Gullanes offer a freshly cooked breakfast which I loved.

The bar menu is great and food quality is excellent. Tonight I had a baguette with side salad and chips and a pint of Guinness for less than 12euro. You would not get that in any other hotel of this standard.

While having my meal tonight for this stay a few guys beside me got the beef.... Oh I should of got the beef... It looked great.

Unfortunately my other half had a few complications after giving birth and she has been in ballinasloe hospital for 10 days. Any visitors that came we ended up going for lunch here also.

All round this hotel is excellent. So I gave it 5 for everything. I could not fault it. If I ever have a reason to come to Ballinasloe ever again I will 100% stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnnyAsterisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

I stayed at this hotel in October with a large group of people for a motor sport event. The management and staff could not have been more helpful and accomodating. Our evening meal was superb and everyone enjoyed their steaks! The rooms were pleasant, clean and comfortable. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel all our group of 20+ all enjoyed their stay at Gullanes in Ballinasloe!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elearnor d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed here for 6 days in mid September on our first ever trip to Ireland and chose Ballinasloe as I have family there that I have never met. Having had promt and very helpful communications with them via email before going over I was very excited about going over there. Gullanes Hotel did not dissappoint. After an early flight to Dublin and a drive across the country to get to Ballinasloe we went to the reception to see if we could leave our luggage there and park we were told that we could check in and go to our room straight away, which was geat considering it was 12 'noon! Our room was well appointed, clean and a nice size. We ate dinner in the restaurant which was lovely, and the waitress who served us breakfast everyday apart from Wednesday and Thursday (her days off) was absolutely brilliant, so helpful, attentive, chatty and kind, we really were made to feel at home. The only two things I have to say that are not positive about the hotel are that the extractor fan in the bathroom can get a little annoying unless the door is shut, and the mattress was a little hard for my liking. But we will be going back, that is for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Joanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

My clasmates and i used gullanes hotel for our debs. The managment of the hotel were very helpful and would go out of there way to help youin anyway they could. BUT.. The rooms were very small and poorly laid out.i was a victim of an uncontrolable shower who made it its duty to cause you pain. either boiling water or freezing and i did not change the settings in any way. I found the food quite bland and tasteless. The breakfast service was appuling where i had to subdure freezing tempitures and a long wait before anybody came to our rescue.The breakfast was very plain and the buffet table was not properly attended and i had to ask for items as simple as orange juice and butter. All the staff when they were around were very helpfull. The price was high so we expected a "high quality service" but they did not do exactly what it said on the tin...

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wildrover26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballinasloe
0.3 mi away
Shearwater Hotel
Shearwater Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ballinasloe
798 reviews
13.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
11.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
13.4 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,959 reviews
17.5 mi away
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
#1 of 3 in Loughrea
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gullane's Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gullane's Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: Main Street, Ballinasloe, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Ballinasloe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ballinasloe
Price Range: $77 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gullane's Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A True Authentic & Elegant Family run business, since 1943. Gullane’s Hotel is situated in the town centre of Ballinasloe, the Gateway to the west of Ireland. Gullane's Hotel, located in the thriving town centre of Ballinasloe, has been recently refurbished, restoring the 1820's building with 4-star standard comforts. Ballinasloe town is World Famous for the annual Ballinasloe October Fair, It is one of Europe’s oldest horse fairs dating back to the 18th century. This annual event attracts visitors from all over the world with many returning to the town year after year Gullane’s is full of character and style and is quickly becoming a favourite for visitors in Galway. We offer Traditional Bed and Breakfast in a relaxed and friendly setting. Conveniently located just 1km off the M6 Dublin – Galway motorway, only 90 Minutes from Dublin or 50 Minutes from Galway City, Gullane’s Hotel is an ideal location when visiting the west of Ireland. Over the years Gullane’s hotel has gained a reputation for excellent food combined with a warm welcome and personal service, whether you are visiting for Business or pleasure our famously friendly and efficient staff will ensure that your stay with us will be one that exceeds your expectations. Many of our guests arrive as visitors and leave as Friends. A warmest welcome to you all, Tomas, Caroline and the Gullane Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gullane's Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing