We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service Excellence and Warm Welcome”
Review of Shearwater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shearwater Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ballinasloe
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Service Excellence and Warm Welcome”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

A fleeting visit to the Carlton Shearwater Hotel over the recent Bank Holiday weekend for food following a Leinster Interprovinical Rugby game in Ballinsloe was not a dissapointment.
Excellent bar customer service on a very demanding First Holy Communion Day was provided by very polite, efficient and helpful bar staff. The food was well presented and the overall experience by my group (6) was we would return again.
Thanks again.
Claire (Dublin)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    236
    113
    69
    43
See reviews for
247
249
23
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Myself and my partner stayed at the Carlton Shearwater over the May Bank Holiday weekend.
When we first entered into our room, the shower temperature gague wouldn't work- upon reporting this to the front desk we were moved immediately to a bigger room.

The rooms and facilities are fabulous, we both enjoyed the pool/sauna/steamroom/Jacuzzi and found the girls working in the Health Centre extremely helpful.

We were on a deal rush package at €99 including a two course meal each from the bar. We headed down around 8.30 pm on Saturday night. The food was forgettable, I had the duck main and it was fairly pitiful. I also found the buffet breakfast very bland, In general I think a four star hotel should not be operating a buffet, rather a cold buffet with hot breakfasts cooked to order.

Lastly, while the hotel had strawberry/rasberry jam for sale- there was none to use on your toast.

All in all, the actual accomodation itself is lovely, the beds are beyond comfortable- the food however is quite poor. I would also point out that we were disappointed to find out that our deal wasn't really a deal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Just spent the 1 night.
Modern clean hotel.Large comfortable rooms.Easy parking beneath hotel.
Certainly would stay again.
Room rate was good value.
Room at rear not much of a view of anything.
............................

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Martin5192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed here for a one night break on April 25th, it is a lovely hotel, the food in the bar was excellent,the warm welcome we received from Estella was great. Our room was very clean and spacious. Breakfast in the morning was delicious with a great range for everyones taste buds, have to say thank you to Liam for the lovely good morning welcome. great hotel cant fault it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELFAST
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We will definitely be back. Room was very clean and everything worked.
During school holidays, there is a Kid's Club in the morning and evening which my 4 yr old and 6 yr old loved (they had never been to one before).
Breakfasts were superb.
Pool area was great with a kiddies pool which helped.
Beauty spa staff were very friendly and prices reasonable.
We noticed some very well behaved dogs around on leads in the hotel so they must be allowed also which is good to know.
Can't wait to return this Summer.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BALLYHACK11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I just spent a very pleased weekend at the Carlton Shearwater hotel in Ballinasloe and I must say I was very impressed. The room was very comfortable and the bed was great, plenty of room and very clean. The staff were fantastic and especially the bar staff and serving staff in the bar. The food was good and quite reasonable and we had very good entertainment on both Saturday and Sunday night in the bar. I would highly recommend the hotel and look forward to a return visit later in the year.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kieran D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I stayed in this hotel in early April. I cannot fault anything with the hotel. When we checked in the girl at reception was very pleasant and helpful. She chatted to us about the hotel and recommendations on what to do. The interior of the hotel is beautiful. Our room was lovely and very comfortable. We found the hotel to be spotless and well kept. The staff were so friendly and helpful-from the bar staff to the manager. We had the carvery lunch and it was one of the best carverys we have had. The selection of food was excellent-from wraps panninis and salads to hot dinners and delicious desserts.I visited the spa for a treatment and it was very impressive. I didnt expect it to be so nice and would recommend everyone book in for a treatment. The prices are very competitive. I would like to say well done to all the staff of this hotel.You work hard and it is paying off. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liv_516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballinasloe
0.3 mi away
Gullane's Hotel & Conference Centre
13.5 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,918 reviews
17.4 mi away
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
#1 of 3 in Loughrea
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
932 reviews
13.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
13.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shearwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shearwater Hotel

Property: Shearwater Hotel
Address: Marina Point, Ballinasloe, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Ballinasloe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ballinasloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shearwater Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shearwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Shearwater Ballinasloe
Hotel Carlton Shearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing