We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Stay”
Review of Shearwater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shearwater Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ballinasloe
Ardee, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing Stay”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night on a bed and breakfast and evening meal deal Room was very comfortable Swimming Pool and Sauna were very nice but afraid I cant say the same about the
Steam Room - ugly stale smell and broken tiles - couldnt use it The evening meal was very disappointing and certainly not the standard I had expected 4* ! Breakfast was fine and all staff were extremely courteous and helpful

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinapoint, Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
I would like to thank you for sharing the comments on your recent visit to our hotel.
We view all feedback as constructive and use these comments to enhance and improve our business.
The issues raised regarding our steam room have been addressed by our maintenance and leisure club teams and have been corrected.
It is disappointing that you didn't enjoy your evening meal, we are continuously developing both the menu and service. I would hope that if you return to Ballinasloe that you might consider staying with us and hopefully have a better experience.

Regards

Mark Cronin
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    227
    107
    66
    41
See reviews for
235
237
22
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed recently at the hotel for 1 night following a friends wedding the previous day. Couldn't fault this hotel. Rooms very lovely with one seriously comfy bed. Food in both the bar and a breakfast were great. only a 2 minute walk into the main straeet of ballinalsoe. Would highly recommend and would stay again

Room Tip: There appears to be alot of family suites in this hotel with a seperate sitting room and can access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbi_Rory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinapoint, Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hello and Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us.
It is always good to hear feedback from our guests. I hope you get the opportunity to visit again and avail of our full range of services and products.
Regards

Mark Cronin
Deputy General Manager & Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Had a great weekend staying at this hotel. We originally got this for two reasons one being cheap (from a deal) and second it's in Galway. After purchasing the voucher, it was only when we realised that it wasn't in Galway city centre nor anywhere close. But instead of returning the voucher we decided to change itineraries to fit the location of the hotel. Check in was really easy despite the fact that the hotel was really busy at that time because of an event. The receptionist was also very nice to explain to us the other perks included in the voucher. The room is very clean good sized room with good views of the country. The bed is comfortable and the bathroom is also nice and clean. We had dinner at their restaurant and again even though they were quite packed that evening they manage to accommodate us. In the morning, we were able to use their gym which is pretty class. Due to lack of time to catch up the itinerary of the day we weren't able to try their lap pool. Checkout was also a breeze. Overall it was truly an amazing stay and I suppose even without the deal, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trippydory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinapoint, Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hello and thank you for sharing your comments with us regarding your stay.
It is always good to hear comments from our guests and I have passed these on to the areas which you have mentioned.
Regards
Mark Cronin
Deputy General Manager & Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stopped at this hotel for some lunch a while back - probably the worst lunch I've ever had in my life. For a four star hotel - you expect a high standard of service and food, that why you pay a higher price. Apart from the high price the food and service was way below standard. You'd be better off stopping in the petrol station out the road compared to this probably sub 1 star place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinapoint, Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your lunch experience at our hotel.
It is always dissapointing to hear that a guest has a negative experience however we take all comments as constructive and have invested in both our offer and service in the last few weeks to ensure that our carvery is now good quality and good value, so please consider us when next in Ballinasloe
Regards
mark Cronin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adare
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

I'm currently staying my second night in this hotel.
Was really enjoying our day today. We had gorgeous treatments in the spa. I had a hot oil scalp massage.
Came back to our room to have a shower only to find the shower head in the bath.
Rang reception waited 40 mins for someone to fix it.
During my shower the shower head fell on me, really hurt me.
Rang reception and an older receptionist asked me what I did to it. I said it was just fixed & it fell on me while having a shower.
Once again she asked me what I did to it.
It's so high up I couldn't reach it I told her.
She was so rude.

So our plans today have been ruined as we have been waiting around for nearly 2 hours.

Very disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinapoint, Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hello,

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us.
It is disappointing that your stay was spoiled by this maintenance issue and how it was handled.
I would like to assure you that we take your comments very seriously and we will use them constructively to ensure that we improve our product and service for future guests.
If you would consider staying with us again I would ask that you contact myself directly and I will make sure experience is a positive one

Regards
Mark Cronin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stay in this hotel on a mid week break on arrival was meet with a friendly smile bye a girl at reception very helpfully the pool was excellent room were a good size bar staff friendly had a meal in marina restaurant excellent will be back again overall I would no hesitation in recommending this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 83Madmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinapoint, Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
I would like to thank you for sharing the comments on your recent visit to our hotel.
We view all feedback as constructive and use these comments to enhance and improve our business.
Hopefully we see you in Ballinasloe again soon.

Regards

Mark Cronin
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. This is a very nice hotel. They had a wedding on each night we stayed... Not fun because of the noise. Yes, people were talking loud and we had hide and seek near our room in the middle of the night. After talking to other guests at breakfast, well, we were not the only ones that had a short night sleep. The music was loud. That too was a problem between other guests. Maybe we were not lucky. The rooms were very clean. Dinners and breakfasts were good. Internet was bad. Yes, bad. You need to have 4 words to get Internet in your room. These 4 words are only good on ONE device! Why so complicated, why not just 4 words for the room?

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MamaMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinapoint, Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
I would like to thank you for sharing the comments on your recent visit to our hotel.
We view all feedback as constructive and use these comments to enhance and improve our business.
Apologies that your sleep was interrupted, the Wi-Fi access code operates on one device at a time but can be re-used with multiple devices. Additional access codes are available for our guests. Thank you for your positive comments regarding our food.
Hopefully we see you in Ballinasloe again soon.

Regards

Mark Cronin
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballinasloe
13.5 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gullane's Hotel & Conference Centre
11.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
#1 of 3 in Loughrea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
13.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shearwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shearwater Hotel

Property: Shearwater Hotel
Address: Marina Point, Ballinasloe, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Ballinasloe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ballinasloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shearwater Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Shearwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Shearwater Ballinasloe
Hotel Carlton Shearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing