We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Shearwater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shearwater Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ballinasloe
Certificate of Excellence
Ennis
2 reviews
“Average”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Beautiful leisure centre but I found the breakfast very disappointing and staff could have been more helpful. I asked to change room on the first night but the hotel were unable to accomodate but I was changed on the 2nd night of the stay.




  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ciara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinapoint, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post a review, i find it unfortunate your stay with us did not live up to your expectations, I am glad to hear the staff facilitated you with a room move when it was available but apoligize that we were not in a position to do this for you on the first evening due to being booked out, I do hope you will come and stay with us again in the near future and when booking identify any personal requirements so we can facilitate.

Kind Regards,

Fergal Ryan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    231
    112
    68
    43
See reviews for
241
246
23
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, West Sussex, England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Have stayed here before back in December and had an enjoyable stay so didn't need to think twice about booking this again. We stayed for 3 nights and the price for two of us, including breakfast, was great value (we booked via alpharooms). The hotel is huge and has a nice large lobby, the bar is comfortable & clean and the bedroom was spacious. We were given a disabled adapted room which we weren't overly comfortable with but when we washed our hands, the tiny sink just didn't drain the water away so we had to ask for a room change. Our new room was great. The swimming pool was brilliant and the gym looked well equipped (however we didn't use it). For the price we paid, c. £100, just can not complain!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stina_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinapoint, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Shearwater, we are also pleased to hear you enjoyed the value you got and just to remind you we do specails on various occasions throughout the year, remember to sign up for Carlton Rewards and get the best offers always,

kind regards

Fergal Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligeach, Sligo, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the Carlton for three nights as we were attending my sister-inlaws wedding. From once we arrived on the Thursday evening till we left Sunday afternoon I found the hotel a beautiful relaxing enviornment, the staff were very plesent and helpful the service was excellent, the rooms were spacious and very relaxing. The food was exquisite and served with a smell from the waitress and waiters. The bar staff we very friendly. The front desk were very helpful with any queries. All in all a fantastic hotel run by excellent staff and management. We had a fantastic time and the wedding went like clock work again credit to the hotel staff and management.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinapoint, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review, i am heartened to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and i do hope you will return soon,
keep an eye out for our Carlton Rewards and happy travelling until we next meet,
Thanking you.

Fergal Ryan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed here recently on a weekend trip in January. I had tried to book the hotel over the phone, but after numerous attempts, couldn't get an answer. Eventually I emailed. They responded, but when I asked another question about my booking, I got no reply! This happened a number of times! I found the reception staff to be only mediocre, and the reception seemed to be very disorganized and the check out queue was really long a slow! However, it appeared to be a busy weekend, so maybe they were under pressure? The hotel itself was nice, very modern, and clean. Plenty of underground parking. The food was pretty good, and the food service was quick. But again the staff in the bar were lacking certain customer service skills! All in all, the hotel was nice, and all amenities and rooms were definitely up to 4* standard. I would go back, and would recommend to others. But hopefully the staff get a little friendlier & more organised on my next visit!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanillaicecream6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinapoint, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here in the Shearwater, naturally we are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us, we always appreciate good quality feedback such as yours and look forward to your return visit to us,
until then,

Regards

Fergal Ryan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed there recently for two nights for a meeting in the hotel. Given the reviews I wasn't overly looking forward to the trip but was more than pleased by the experience. I met a friend for dinner the first night and found an excellent menu with good quality food. The service however, was extremely slow but thankfully we weren't in a rush. The staff were very helpful & got everything correct but quite often seemed to forget we were there. Even just a walk-by occasionally would enable a customer to make eye contact if they needed something.
The breakfasts were also very tasty.
One reviewer mentioned that the bedrooms could be cold and as mine was at the end of a corridor I had to leave the air-con heating on all night.
The parking was extensive and quite clean, no sign of any bins or rubbish.
The spa was very relaxing with an excellent therapist, Eithne,.
I would have no problem returning or recommending it to anybody else.
The meeting rooms worked out quite well and had plenty of natural light.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tadgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinapoint, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, i am delighted to hear you were very pleased with your stay here with us in the Carlton Shearwater, we too enjoyed looking after you on this occasion and look forward to your return visit soon, keep an eye out for our specails and make sure to sign up to Carlton rewards for the most up to date offers available.

Regards,

Fergal Ryan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watergrasshill, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on a Friday and Saturday night on a weekend break. The room was very comfortable, and we slept well apart from when wedding guests were staggering to bed at 05.30, but that's expected over here!! As a light sleeper I found the blackout curtains excellent and slept through until beyond 10 so the bed must've been very comfortable!! Staff we met were courteous and helpful. The free car park was large and linked via a lift. The town centre was less than a 10 minute walk away so the location is ideal.
The gym and pool were very modern and easy to use, I went at a busy time and so had to share the equiptment with locals as they were lifting weights, they gave some tips for pubs to visit in Ballinasloe and things to see in the area. As they were all lifting more than me I'd say it is a good place to work out with success.
A couple of down points to stop it getting 5/5, big stain on the carpet (room 214) was a bit offputting. Although there is a good selection of 8 sachets of coffee and 4 of tea in the room, there is only 4 tiny cartons of milk provided which I would use in one go!! I had to go down to reception for more. To be fair, the porter came up with about another 10, but surely more could be provided initially? We paid on arrival, yet as there was a large queue on leaving, we had to wait over 10 minutes to check out, maybe a key drop off box could be an idea to improve efficiency for people who paid on arrival?
In summary, a comfortable stay in a lively town, a great base for seeing Lough Derg, Athlone and Lough Ree like we did, we enjoyed the trip and the hotel stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edward c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinapoint, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed it,
and thank you for leaving the review, we look forward to your next visit with us, thank you also for the quick checkout suggestion certainly one we can work with.
Fergal Ryan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

situated on the ring road in balinasloe though very close to town centre .the hotel has a large underground car park ideal for irish weather.check in was smooth and professional,the bedrooms are large and spacious.the room felt cool at ties even though heat turned up fully.the negative was luke warm water for shower next am,food was good,good value for stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomandbridie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinapoint, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your review, i was glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at
Carlton Shearwater and do hope you will be returning to us in the near future as we will look forward to your next stay with us.
Fergal Ryan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballinasloe
0.3 mi away
Gullane's Hotel & Conference Centre
13.5 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,884 reviews
11.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
#1 of 3 in Loughrea
818 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,057 reviews
13.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shearwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shearwater Hotel

Property: Shearwater Hotel
Address: Marina Point, Ballinasloe, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Ballinasloe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ballinasloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shearwater Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shearwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Shearwater Ballinasloe
Hotel Carlton Shearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing