We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Shearwater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shearwater Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ballinasloe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2013

From the outside the hotel has a striking modern look and there's a large underground carpark for guests to use.

The reception staff were very friendly & we got checked in quickly however things went downhill slightly from there. We had booked a suite & had been warned that the door to the seating area may be locked so we should ring reception to get it opened (why this couldn't have been done before we got to the room I don't know) We were also told that if we found the room cold to just put the fan up to full for a few minutes.

We got to the room & the second door was locked - once we contacted staff it was opened immediately. Turned on the heating & waited for the rooms to heat up.

Rang for room service - no answer from the bar so reception eventually had to take the order (got it wrong). At this point we'd been in the room an hour with the fans on full blast but no heat. A manager came up to check it & offered to move us to a different room. We waited over an hour for this to happen (no explanation as to what the delay was) & when we were moved, again the second door had not been opened so yet another call down to reception!! (it was obvious this should have been done so I've no idea other than carelessness why it wasn't checked)

The rooms themselves are very nice and were clean, but are in need of a little TLC - there are scuffs on the walls & stains on the carpets in places (from wear & tear)

Overall it is a nice hotel but a few small improvements would have a big impact

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinapoint, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

thank you for your review, it is always nice to get feedback on how we can perform better, we do endavour to meet all our guest requirements and really enjoy when we meet our guest expectations. i was heartened to hear that our staff did ficilitate your needs and room moved to get things right for you,
thanking you and looking forward to your return visit.
Fergal Ryan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (827)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

607 - 613 of 827 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

Very enjoyable night was had at a recent event in the hotel. Although not keen on the reception received at main desk (a friendly smile and greeting would have been nice) - the bar staff were friendly and welcoming as was the member of the room servicing staff we encountered in the morning. Would like to see an improvement though with the breakfast set-up as didn't find the hostess friendly at all or informative as to breakfast selection etc etc and staff on didn't seem to be working together i.e. ask where do we get tea and told (by way of pointing) over there...there was nobody there to order tea from...little bit confusing:(

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GalwayDaisy1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinapoint, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

thank you for your review and i was glad to hear you had a enjoyable night here in the shearwater, i regret to hear of the lack of interaction of our staff members and assure it is something we will be focussing on in training, i do hope this has not deterred you from returning to us in the near future and we look forward to welcoming you back to galway

regards

Fergal Ryan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Firstly - I would have given the hotel 4 stars if not for 2 major erks!
My husband and I stayed here as I had to attend a training day close by the following morning.
The hotel is nice and clean and we had some nice bar food for dinner.
I had two issues with the hotel.
1) The receptionist booked us into the room directly over the bar (which we didn't realise until we turned off the telly at 11pm and could hear the music coming up through the floor - too late to change rooms! I didn't get to sleep until 12.30 after the music stopped). I just thought the receptionist could have used a bit of cop on as she knew we were up there for a training course!
2) The room was very cold despite leaving the air con on for hours.

All in all I will stay here again as the value was spectacular. But ask for a room where the air con works and if you are there for business make sure to request a quiet room.

Room Tip: Ask for a warm room away from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyGIreland2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinapoint, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for your review, i was glad to hear your stay with us was a posetive experience and also your comments helpful in highlighting a issue that should have been forseen as you expected, this information is invaluable as it is clear and will be incorporated into our front of house training going forward, we do endavour to meet peoples individual requirements on a ongoing basis but this was obviously not the case here. for this we apoligize and do hope you will return to our hotel to enjoy a night on another occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here for one night midweek in January 2013. The Hotel itself is well appointed, nice spacious lobby, the bar was buzzing with customers, with patrons both eating and drinking which was a good sign. However, we chose to eat out in one of the Chinese restaurants in the town, definitely not recommended. The town itself looked and felt deserted, and this was at 4.50, lots of places either shut up for the day, or else closed permanently. It wouldnt inspire a traveller to take a walk there.

Im not sure what the setup in the car park is normally but on the day we arrived (and that night), and the following day at lunchtime, there was no security on the car park. People could come and go as they pleased, including any undesirables from outside, hardly ideal.

The hotel rooms were very nice, we were put in a room at the furthest point from the lift which we werent too happy about as there didnt seem to be that many guests staying in the hotel. We requested a different room, one nearer the lift, and reception moved us immediately, no complaints there.

We decided to avail of the spa treatment facilities, and went for a special off which was on at the time: Back & Shoulder massage, Facial and Hot Oil Scalp massage, all for €49. Now I'm not normally one for beauty treatments but this was just divine, pure bliss. we were looked after by the therapists like Royalty, I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seanny_Mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinapoint, Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Firstly we really enjoyed your staying with us also, and look forward to your return visit,
sorry to hear you were disappointed with our town of ballinasloe, we are here in the hotel working closely with the town representative organisations to enhance our offering in the tuorism sense and hopfully you will see a vast improvement on your return visit,
regards
Fergal Ryan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

my Wife and i stayed at this hotel recently and found it very good ,the underground car park was very convenient with an elevator to bring you up to reception , check in was quick and the girl on the desk was very friendly,our room was top class with a king sized bed and a large bathroom,during our stay we ate in the bar where we found the food excellent and reasonably priced , the night we stayed there was a C/W singer performing in the bar who i have to say was a lot better than you would normally expect to find in a hotel bar,Breakfast was a buffet which was quite good,all in all we had a very pleasant stay and would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinapoint, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

thank you for your nice rewiew of our hotel, i was glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us as we were delighted you chose us to look after you, we look forward to your return visit in the not too distant future hopefully, and wish you and your family a happy 2013,

Regards

Fergal Ryan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Myself and my fiancee were on route to this hotel to check it out for our wedding. But as we drove around the back of hotel to get to under-ground carpark we were horrified at the mess that was to be found at the back of the hotel.

This is not something we would like our hotel guests to see, cannot understand that they havent this fenced off to block this horrible eye sore of a view.

Unfortunley for the hotel, we kept driving onwards, as its bad enough there is no greenery around the hotel but this wreck of a site was not acceptable. Such a shame as the hotel is beautiful but the hotel management must realise that the surroundings of a hotel is just as important to a couple getting married than inside. They REALLY must look into this. As already it has cost them money. A high wooden fence is all this needs.

We havent booked our hotel yet, but if this was done, then it would be a real contendor.
We talked to other couple who got married in last few years, and to our amazement, 4 of the 5 couples mentioned the exact same thing and this was a deciding point for them also. Unbelievable.

Shearwater hotel - Ye need to shape up and get this sorted as it is costing you business. Ye cant let something like this let ye down, just because its at the back of your hotel doesnt mean it isnt noticed.

Room Tip: stay clear from views to back of hotel....EYE SORE!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
1  Thank roxygalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinapoint, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for your review, and i totally understand your dislike of the back area of our hotel, i am disappointed if this aspect has turned you off having your wedding at our hotel and can assure you it is a issue we have palnned to deal with in early 2013, i am however glad you enjoyed your visit here and would love to be able to host your wedding, if i can be of any further assistance to you i would be only too delighted,

Regards

Fergal Ryan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Recently stayed here for one night. It has a four star rating so we expected a little above your basic hotel,we were in for a major shock.
On arrival on a cold December day first thing I noticed was the fact there was no fire lighting which resembled the cold reception we received at check in.Our room was freezing and the bathroom dirty with broken fittings. Room size was adequate but carpets and fittings were worn. Very poor lighting which helps to hide the overall poor state of the room.
Restaurant service was slow with highly untrained staff. No apology, just simply a take it or leave it attitude. We went to the bar for a drink after dinner to find more of the same,dirty tables and unfriendly staff.
At no stage was it possible to have a hot shower. On arrival for breakfast next morning a woman reluctantly pointed us in the direction of a table. Breakfast choice was the worst I have seen in a long time. I had to ask for tea/coffee at least three times which meant when we finally got it we had finished eating.
Staff were unfriendly and in some cases rude. At check out nobody asked us how our stay was and I know why.
In a nutshell stay clear of this place

Room Tip: Continue driving to Galway city where you will find real hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Greenbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballinasloe
13.5 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
2,003 reviews
13.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.3 mi away
Gullane's Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
957 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
14.6 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shearwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shearwater Hotel

Address: Marina Point, Ballinasloe, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Ballinasloe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ballinasloe
Price Range: $57 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shearwater Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shearwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Shearwater Ballinasloe
Hotel Carlton Shearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing