We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lynch Hayden's Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ballinasloe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lynch Hayden's Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ballinasloe
Orange Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Poor hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

My wife and stayedhere last week. At a cost of 80 euros including breakfast it expensive and n our opinion run down and in poor condition. On check in last Saturday we were told after we had paid for the room a night club would be commencing at 10.00 pm amd completing at 2.30 am. Oh no the noise and shouting went on far past this hour. On our return to the room which by the way the shower dribbled out water we were faced with a semi naked male slumped on a step in the main corridor at 10.00 am on a Sunday morning.

Needless to say we packed our bags and left this hotel post haste.

Visit here again? No way!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank windrush1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    18
    13
    20
    20
See reviews for
17
28
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Booked this hotel through a voucher deal on the laptop. Oh how sorry was I. I paid €99 for 2 night bed and breakfast and 1 dinner. On arrival, the man on reception was unfriendly. He never told us what time DINNER was at or breakfast in the morning. When we were on route to the room there was water all over the hallway and buckets collecting the drops from the leaky ceiling. When we went to the room there was a tipping noise. Outside the window was another drop dripping down on the windowsill. There are no PVC windows so you can hear everything. When we went down to the bar to enquire about the DINNER, the unfriendly barmaid told us the restaurant was not open and that there was only barfood available. We went up the town for our dinner which was delicious in another hotel with lovely staff. The bed was as hard as a bullet and the pillows as flat as pancakes. We came down for breakfast and I must say the breakfast was lovely. The morning staff still weren't friendly. On checkout the receptionist never asked us had we a pleasant stay or nothing. I have stayed in some poor hotels but this take the biscuit.This isn't even a good hostel. Such a pity this place isn't managed properly. it has potential.
Wont be going back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ann c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ballinasloe hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Ballinasloe has suffered somewhat in the recent economic downturn. Lots of businesses have closed, and a number of options for lunch no longer exist. Haydens Hotel has been in the town for many years. While the interior decor might appear to some to be a little dated, there is no doubt that you'll not get a better lunch in Ballinasloe than that which you can get at Haydens. The food is fresh and tasty; the service is efficient and the prices are reasonable. I don't know what it's like to stay there - I know that it's not 5-star.. :-) HOWEVER, as an option for lunch in the Ballinasloe area, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FD85114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Went to the restuarant for a family evening dinner. The dinner was really good and the menu has a lot of choice. The staff were friendly and the hotel is very accomidating to families with young children. The bar had a nice atmosphere and had a band starting at 10.30. All in all we had a great evening with no complaints and would recommend Hayden's as the best restuarant available in Ballinasloe.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paddy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for a family event. The rooms are very basic & dated! The staff are very friendly and the breakfast was good. The bar area is nice with a good atmosphere. The food in the restaurant is average. Overall the hotel is expensive for what you get and it's in desperate need of modernising.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Liamyos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Paid 180e for a double room- grabbed money for room-no paperwork to sign-no advice on procedures or protocols. The room had a broken chair with a nail exposed ( we had a child with us) and the bathroom door didnt close also the room number was drawn on with blue marker!!!! Very classy!!! My partner got a call to say he had to go home so after 1 hour we had to leave- the place was hectic, receptionist/manageress didn't give a damn and didn't want to even offer a small refund. Would not recommend this hotel at all- save yourself the disappointment and book somewhere were customer service is priority and not greed!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Josiej1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballinasloe, Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Had a dinner party in Haydens Hotel recently. Food was excellent value with generous portions, table was beautifully presented and service was timely and no request was too big. Well done and thank you for a warm, relaxing night with great attention to detail.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballinasloe
0.2 mi away
Gullane's Hotel & Conference Centre
0.2 mi away
Shearwater Hotel
Shearwater Hotel
#1 of 4 in Ballinasloe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hannon's Hotel
Hannon's Hotel
#2 of 3 in Roscommon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
17.4 mi away
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
#1 of 3 in Loughrea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynch Hayden's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynch Hayden's Hotel

Property: Lynch Hayden's Hotel
Address: Hayden's Gateway Hotel Dunlo Street | ballinasloe, Ballinasloe, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Ballinasloe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ballinasloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lynch Hayden's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hayden's Hotel is a family run business with 45 bedrooms all ensuite. The hotel is in Ballinasloe. Ballinasloe has a lot to offer the tourist from fishing to golf to horse riding to motor sport and it boost a marina for anyone tripping down the Shannon to stop off. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing