We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing weekend away”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moycarn Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ballinasloe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moycarn Lodge
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ballinasloe
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing weekend away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

I recently stayed at the Moycarn Lodge with some friends and found it to be one of the most relaxing hotels I've stayed in. The staff were very friendly particularly the new managers which only recently took over, a very welcoming atmosphere overall! The food was excellent and it was a nice 15 min walk from Ballinasloe town with a lovely view on to the marina. Will definitley be back again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    11
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
26
20
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

My husband, daughter and I have stayed here 3 times and can honestly say that the welcome we have had has been excellent. The room we usually stay in is huge and the bath is a big hit with our two-year old before bedtime. The evening menue is extremely good value, and we have never had a bad meal there. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMW12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

Recently was at a wedding in Moycarn Lodge and on arrival everything seems very nice and friendly. We were accommodating even after the lodge had double booked rooms. There was never staff in reception or rarely in bar. The food on the wedding day was terrible, mash potato was full of water; chicken seemed re-heated as it was so dry and comments from other guests was not good. On the day of the wedding we noticed that this is when the staff became very rude and were very unhelpful.
The only positive thing this lodge has going for it is the rooms are nice enough and views of the Marina are fabulous but I think the owners need to learn how to deal with the public and not to stare them out of it.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank socks2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meath
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2010

I loved the Moycarn Lodge. Was very surprised with the rooms for the rate we were paying. Everything was very clean especially the bathroom I'm a tad obsessed with clean bathrooms. Best Steak dinner I've had in a long time. I will say the noise down stairs was annoying but I did fall asleep eventually. Bit more insulation is needed. The girls who work there are lovely. Will recommend again. Really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotellover01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

Having read the other reviews, I was expecting a good night at the Moycarn Lodge. The position is good with nice views over the river, the rooms are very clean and contemporary- no issue there. Our evening meal was fine and Fiona is a great hostess who is warm and welcoming. However, as the lodge was full, this may have been one of the reasons why we hardly slept all night. The insulation between rooms is poor and we were woken by our neighbouring rooms and the room above us until 4am. The cooked breakfast was the worst one we have ever eaten- particularly in Ireland. Nearly everything was deep fat fried and was very unappealing to look at and the taste was no better. I would definitely not recommend this B&B to anyone I'm afraid.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fomo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

This a fabalous small 15 bedroom river side lodge & marina, the hospitality shown by its owners Joe & Fiona Melody to all their guests is brillant. It has a fabalous bar menu - something to suit all tastes and is fully wheelchair accessible.
Bedrooms are ensuite are very spacous, simply but tastlefully decorated more like a 4* Hotel with massive beds, tea/coffee making faclities and an iron & board in all rooms. We stayed in one of their wheelchair accessible rooms (its one of the best I have stayed in Ireland). Will be back again

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elton70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Devon
Level Contributor
606 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

Setting/location -

Positive points: lovely position on the river with its own small marina, cattle graze the meadows on the other side of what is a sizeable tributary of the river Shannon. Negative points: factory not too far away runs machinery all night as well as the day - clearly audible at night (window open as it is summer!); a map on the internet site would be useful - coming south on the N6, take the R357 eastbound (signposted Clonmacnois) for a short distance, then take a right turn.

Accommodation -

Positive: first-floor bedrooms look out on the river and have direct access to a large, communal terrace with tables and chairs; bedrooms of a good size with en-suite shower/loo. Negative: for a recently-constructed property, there is poor sound-proofing (woken at 02.40 by guests in nearby bedroom who, I think, were 'trying not to make a noise' but, to start with, the 'return' on the doors makes them shut with such a bang; poor closure of shower room door (my wife did not have the strength to shut it); electronic door key did not work - two replacements attempted to no avail so staff had to come up with a master key every time we wanted to enter.

Food -

Positive: good! A limited, but more than adequate menu.

Staff -

Positive: good! Must have encountered five women (no males!) and all very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballinasloe
1.0 mi away
Shearwater Hotel
Shearwater Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ballinasloe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gullane's Hotel & Conference Centre
13.2 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
10.8 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moycarn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moycarn Lodge

Property: Moycarn Lodge
Address: Moycarn Drive | Portnick, Ballinasloe, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Ballinasloe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ballinasloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Moycarn Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing