We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable lunch or dinner. Experience a nice pub scene in a quaint little town”

The Old School House Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 63 Restaurants in Swords
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyable lunch or dinner. Experience a nice pub scene in a quaint little town”
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Awesome seafood chowder (creamy and rich with several types of fish, shrimp, and mussels), incredible tartar sauce, pretty decent battered cod. Recommended for the experience. Nice outdoor seating too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mctempleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    509
    171
    62
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Seafood was so fresh I could have been eating on the pier wall”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Ate here two nights ago on a deal. We used to go to the Old Schoolhouse in the old days, long long ago when there was no upstairs. Then it closed for a long long time for renovations and I'd heard that it had gone downhill, so took a chance buying this deal.
Went in to find a pub that, surprisingly for a Wednesday night, was busy. Some people were eating and it looked good, but we hadnt really wanted pub food.
However the restaurant is upstairs.Dont know what the pub food is like but the restaurant was far better than we'd expected. The Early bird menu (20E for 3 courses) looked excellent, but we were eating from the a la carte. We had tiger prawns, and crab claws, as starters. Hard to choose between them, crab claws were generous and beautifully garlicky; prawns large and succulent. Mains were lemon sole and a generous steak. Beautiful food, very pleasant staff, really a great experience. The menu is very varied and we have to come back to see if its all as good

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smallfootstep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Failte”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Excellent food in both the bar and the restaurant. Friendly bar staff and waiting staff that are very helpful.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maztaz65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great early bird. Very tasty and nice portions. Staff friendly. Only downside is the lack of parking spaces

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kdholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Food.”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Four of us went for dinner to the Old Schoolhouse, last Friday, 3rd May, 2013. Service very efficient, Food was so tasty, hot & beautifully presented. I'm a regular here for dinner, & I've never been disappointed. They must have a great chef. Keep up the excellent standard. Mary, Artane.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marybeoconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old School House Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Swords, County Dublin
 
Swords, County Dublin
Swords, County Dublin
 

Been to The Old School House Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing