We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Swords
Reviewed October 20, 2012

There were long lines checking in, the front desk was understaffed, and the ones that were there were not exactly rude, but not gracious and welcoming, either. While checking in a gentleman that was obviously a manager, was quite rude to a young lady that seemed to be a new employee. She was very embarrassed, and I was embarrassed for her. The room was clean but there were no towels. We went down to the restaurant where we were told we would have to sit in the bar if we just wanted appetizers. This was a challenge because it took some looking before we could find a clean table. Service was not the greatest, but once the young man finally came to the table he was very pleasant. The attitude of the young lady that checked us out would be surly, at best. Charging 8 euros for parking was a big rip off.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank essare2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianErb, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us. We work harder than ever to make our guests happy and comfortable especially now that we are a 4 star property under the new brand Clayton Hotel Dublin airport and we appreciate all your feedback always! We would love to be your host again sometime in the future and you can see what new and wonderful things we have done to our hotel.
Kind regards, Catherine Roche

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,610)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,670 - 2,676 of 3,610 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

We booked a night at the Bewley's at Dublin Airport prior to our flight home. We had some difficulty finding it as the location "at the junction of the M1 and M50" is not entirely accurate. It was at least 15 minutes from the airport over some pretty congested highways. The hotel was really a surprise, since it was packed on a Monday. The lobby was crawling with people. We at the bar in the lobby. The service and food was above average. There was also a restaurant that was busy. The shuttle bus to the airport was convenient. We returned our rental car to the drop off the night before and were glad we did. It was a bit of a hassle getting the car to the proper place, some paperwork, a shuttle to the airport, a bit of a walk to the hotel shuttle area, then another shuttle to the hotel. That made the morning much easier as we just took the bus to the airport and we ready to go through all that was required. We cleared Irish security and were then ushered to a waiting area to await clearance of American customs and passport. Better allow 2-3 hours to do all that. Hotel also had a breakfast buffet or a small breakfast box to go. Given that we paid very little for the hotel which we booked on the internet, we were very pleased with the accomodations and services offered. Will stay here again if leaving from Dublin rather than Shannon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K-boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianErb, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us. We work harder than ever to make our guests happy and comfortable especially now that we are a 4 star property under the new brand Clayton Hotel Dublin airport and we appreciate all your feedback always! We would love to be your host again sometime in the future and you can see what new and wonderful things we have done to our hotel.
Kind regards, Catherine Roche

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

As airport hotels go this one is very good. The rooms are comfortable, relatively clean and reasonably maintained.
Remember this IS an airport hotel, it has a lot of people passing through and damage gets done but for a one or two night stay it is great.
The reception staff are friendly and efficient, the bar and restaurant staff are also very friendly and helpful. The food, however, was a little hit and miss. The first night I stayed there the food was O.K but the second night the batter on the fish was burnt and the chips were so overcooked they were inedible.
It is a very busy hotel and the open plan reception and bar area is large with a lot of people in it and can be quite noisy.
There are some vending machines near the lifts where you can get a soft drink and a snack but you can also get food at the bar and they don’t seem to mind if you carry it to your room.
There is a bus that takes you from the hotel to the airport and it runs quite frequently. I was travelling with my elderly mother who has some mobility issues and I asked the reception to order me a taxi to the airport, the receptionist asked why I wouldn’t use the bus and after explaining why he ordered one, but I did get the impression that he did it reluctantly. This I can forgive, because after experiencing a Dublin airport taxi driver on my arrival in Dublin I can safely say that some of them are cranky and bad mannered. The taxi driver in question moaned that he had been on the stand for 2 hours and was only getting a 10 euro fare; I think experience should have told him that it is the luck of the draw; he always has the option to refuse the fare.
Overall, compared with other Dublin Airport Hotels that I have stayed in, Bewleys is probably one of the best and I will stay there again, in fact it will be my first choice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nollymac2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianErb, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us. We work harder than ever to make our guests happy and comfortable especially now that we are a 4 star property under the new brand Clayton Hotel Dublin airport and we appreciate all your feedback always! We would love to be your host again sometime in the future and you can see what new and wonderful things we have done to our hotel.
Kind regards, Catherine Roche

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel has great rates and is a little away from other restaurants so the resturants tend to have a captive audience (which is always a worry). The rooms were nice, the airport transfers helpful but the food in the lounge area was terrible. The chicken was dry and the lettuce sad. The breakfast had their hot food in bain maries and so was dished up en masse and was cold. I would stay there for the great rate but wouldn't eat there and wouldn't include the breakfast. I would grab something at the airport instead. As with other reviewers the shuttle bus can be full - so make sure you allow plenty of time to get to the airport. One shuttle bus driver was a gem (wish I got his name) helping old ladies with their cases which were hard to lift up on to the case holders in the bus. But two of the drivers did not help people with their cases and remained in their bus seat - making it quite difficult for people. I guess they are not paid to lift the cases but then people should be able to have their case at floor level. For some people it is impossible to lift a 20kg case up to shoulder level - especially the elderly. The hotel is quite a way from the airport compared to other hotel airports we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie_traveller053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianErb, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us. We work harder than ever to make our guests happy and comfortable especially now that we are a 4 star property under the new brand Clayton Hotel Dublin airport and we appreciate all your feedback always! We would love to be your host again sometime in the future and you can see what new and wonderful things we have done to our hotel.
Kind regards, Catherine Roche

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Me and my wife stayed here few months ago before an early flight to Abu Dhabi. I have to say that hotel is very close to the airport and they provide free bus shuttle as well. Shuttle was fine on the way from the airport but next day in the morning was really busy and was plenty of people heading to the airport.

We booked this hotel on lastminute.com and we received good value for money (room only!). We were checked in rather quickly by friendly staff and offered a breakfast in the morning. We booked a table for dinner as well. There is not too many options to dine near hotel.

Room was a good size, clean and stocked with tea\coffee facilities, comfy bed as well. We could not expect more for money we paid for our one night stay.

The bad point of our stay was a visit in their brasserie...... We went for a dinner straight after leaving suitcases as we were really hungry. We were sat at the table straight away and ordered two starters and two mains plus drinks. Starters arrived and put as off straight away.... My other half ordered a Caesar salad bowl and she has received a bowl with dirty lettuce left overs full of soil and sand..... She spit it back on a plate and waiter seeing it rushed back to our table and took a bowl with 'salad' away.... No apologies, no explanation.... My starter which suppose to be buffalo mozzarella and beef tomato salad came as a tasteless cheap mozzarella and plain salad tomatoes. Main course was average and being hungry we didn't manage to finish it still having in mind my wife's salad.

After our bad experience we canceled our breakfast for next day and ate at the airport.....

So nice hotel, good service but avoid eating there !!

Room Tip: Ask if do they do wedding during your stay so they can put u to different block - much quiter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianErb, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us. We work harder than ever to make our guests happy and comfortable especially now that we are a 4 star property under the new brand Clayton Hotel Dublin airport and we appreciate all your feedback always! We would love to be your host again sometime in the future and you can see what new and wonderful things we have done to our hotel.
Kind regards, Catherine Roche

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed in Bewleys on the 15 day park and fly deal. Check in was quick and efficient, considering the queue at reception. Room was comfortable, clean and quiet. Coffee making facility and iron and ironing board in room. Big lobby bar was busy but service was good and food served to 2300. Underground parking area is massive, over two floors and its worth noting where you parked. Breakfast was buffet style, staff friendly and helpful and full Irish was excellent. Express checkout was handy and airport transfers were fine, running every 20-30 mins. Drop off/pick up point is a bit of a walk from the terminal but the walkways are mostly covered. Good experience and good value all round.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianErb, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us. We work harder than ever to make our guests happy and comfortable especially now that we are a 4 star property under the new brand Clayton Hotel Dublin airport and we appreciate all your feedback always! We would love to be your host again sometime in the future and you can see what new and wonderful things we have done to our hotel.
Kind regards, Catherine Roche

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We had a very good stay in Bewleys Hotel, It was very convenient for our stay and easily found, Staff very courtous and friendly, Have stayed in Bewleys before and will stay again

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Maizie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianErb, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us. We work harder than ever to make our guests happy and comfortable especially now that we are a 4 star property under the new brand Clayton Hotel Dublin airport and we appreciate all your feedback always! We would love to be your host again sometime in the future and you can see what new and wonderful things we have done to our hotel.
Kind regards, Catherine Roche

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swords
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
1.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Dublin Airport
1.0 mi away
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin Airport
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dublin Airport
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport

Address: Stockhole Lane, Swords 17, Ireland (Formerly Bewley's Hotel Dublin Airport)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Swords
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Swords
Price Range: $93 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 469
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary hotel provides the ideal choice for a pre or post flight stay, ideally located jsut 7minutes from Dublin Airport by shuttle service. The hotels accessible location at the M1/M50 junction also makes it a convenient meeting point for conferences, meetings and events. Quality service is a must from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bewleys Hotel Swords
Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport Swords, County Dublin, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing