We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Airport Hotels Go It's Very Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Swords
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The check in was busy but the staff processed us quite quickly and efficiently.
The room was big and very clean.
Arrived late, 21:00 and the bar area was pretty crowded but with enough seats.
Managed to flag down one of the floor staff and placed an order for a drink and a snack and they were served pretty quick.
Prices were good.
The staff were under pressure but worked hard to cope.
The lifts to the rooms are modern but there are only two and they are small, causing some delays.
Breakfast was fine - its not a buffet, you queue and get served, but included all that you would expect for a full English ( not a full Irish strangely enough ( no potato or soda bread )
Unlike most hotels the WiFi is FREE which is to be commended and the free regular airport shuttle is also very good.
Would definitely use this hotel again

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank rftu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianErb, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us. We work harder than ever to make our guests happy and comfortable especially now that we are a 4 star property under the new brand Clayton Hotel Dublin airport and we appreciate all your feedback always! We would love to be your host again sometime in the future and you can see what new and wonderful things we have done to our hotel.
Kind regards, Catherine Roche

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,767)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,880 - 2,886 of 3,767 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2012

I have mixed reviews. The room we stayed in for the first night faced the front, and since it was hot, we had to have the windows open. There were no fans available from housekeeping or the front desk. Worse, the shuttle bus would come every 20 minutes and you could hear the loud diesel engine and other noises all night long. It was impossible to get to sleep. Finally, we had to close the windows and suffer. Secondly, the bathrooms were clean but reeked of urine smells. Both times we stayed, you could barely use the bathroom because of the smell coming from the toilets or sewage system. Maybe that's just a European thing, but I was surprised at how bad it was. The best part of Bewely's was the front desk staff - quick, professional, friendly - even in overwhelming conditions. We stayed because of proximity to the airport. I would again, if I had an early flight but probably not just to visit Dublin.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank jbuscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianErb, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us. We work harder than ever to make our guests happy and comfortable especially now that we are a 4 star property under the new brand Clayton Hotel Dublin airport and we appreciate all your feedback always! We would love to be your host again sometime in the future and you can see what new and wonderful things we have done to our hotel.
Kind regards, Catherine Roche

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank LEA B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BrianErb, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

An airport factory hotel. Impersonal but did the job.
If you want a hotel near the airport and this is the cheapest then gp for it.
Carpet in room was dirty. Why do hotels insist on using carpet ??

The bar area seemed understaffed and was untidy and messy.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garylevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianErb, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us. We work harder than ever to make our guests happy and comfortable especially now that we are a 4 star property under the new brand Clayton Hotel Dublin airport and we appreciate all your feedback always! We would love to be your host again sometime in the future and you can see what new and wonderful things we have done to our hotel.
Kind regards, Catherine Roche

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Good place to if you want to be close to the airport.
Our room was clean and well appointed. The bed was covered a with thick doona (duvet) which made us feel a little too hot overnight and too cold without it. Some blankets in the cupboard would have been nice.
Diner was a little pricey when compared to what we had been paying in Irish pubs etc but the meals that we got were very tasty (pork). Service was quite good and meals arrived quickly.
We opted for the continental breakfast in the morning, there was plenty of variety and I think it cost less than 10euro for the two of us.
One of the staff was extremely helpful when we had difficulty printing our E boarding passes online. Much appreciated.
All in all it was much better than we expected and would recommend it as a good place to stay within this price range.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevlac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianErb, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us. We work harder than ever to make our guests happy and comfortable especially now that we are a 4 star property under the new brand Clayton Hotel Dublin airport and we appreciate all your feedback always! We would love to be your host again sometime in the future and you can see what new and wonderful things we have done to our hotel.
Kind regards, Catherine Roche

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The good points about this hotel are it’s close to the airport and has a shuttle bus to the airport. Breakfast is reasonable with a good selection. The room and bathroom are clean. The hairdryer is glued into a drawer and hard to use. Neither shampoo nor tissues are provided. There is no alarm clock. There is no AC or ventilation system. The only ventilation is by opening a window at a hotel near an airport. The windows are very dirty. The TV is from the dark ages. After returning the 2nd day our cards did not work! We had to go back down to the desk to have them re-set.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCcatpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianErb, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us. We work harder than ever to make our guests happy and comfortable especially now that we are a 4 star property under the new brand Clayton Hotel Dublin airport and we appreciate all your feedback always! We would love to be your host again sometime in the future and you can see what new and wonderful things we have done to our hotel.
Kind regards, Catherine Roche

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Convenient to the airport with a free shuttle over to the terminals in the morning.  Downside to the shuttle is that it " has no set timetable.  Leaves every 20-30 minutes". Not so good for planning really, and we just missed it by 10 seconds in the morning so needed to take a cab, which ended up costing 10 euro.  The rooms were fine, however we were only given one bath towel- yet we had two beds, and one of the lights in the bathroom didn't work.  The lights had halogen bulbs in the bath, so it took a while for the room to get bright enough so that you could actually see.  I was told as I was checking in to use hotels.com the next time I was booking, instead of veneer.com ( hotels.com owns veneer) as that site over charged me by 17 euro.  Handy tip, and good to know.  Free wifi.  

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank lksium19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianErb, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us. We work harder than ever to make our guests happy and comfortable especially now that we are a 4 star property under the new brand Clayton Hotel Dublin airport and we appreciate all your feedback always! We would love to be your host again sometime in the future and you can see what new and wonderful things we have done to our hotel.
Kind regards, Catherine Roche

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swords
1.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Dublin Airport
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin Airport
1.7 mi away
Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin Airport
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport

Address: Stockhole Lane, Swords 17, Ireland (Formerly Bewley's Hotel Dublin Airport)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Swords
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Swords
Price Range: $97 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 469
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary hotel provides the ideal choice for a pre or post flight stay, ideally located jsut 7minutes from Dublin Airport by shuttle service. The hotels accessible location at the M1/M50 junction also makes it a convenient meeting point for conferences, meetings and events. Quality service is a must from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bewleys Hotel Swords
Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport Swords, County Dublin, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing