We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location perfect, hotel sad”
Review of Glenmore House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glenmore House
Reviewed October 12, 2013

When you arrive at the house, even the drive way screams I need some TLC. There are potholes and the garden is dying. In a country where the rain fall is so high, I found this very hard to understand. Our room was spacious. It had broken locks on the windows and the bathroom needs to be scrubbed. It is just a very tired hotel which would have been delightful in its former years. If a bit of money were spent and it was given some TLC, I would certainly stay there again. There is a bus stop immediately outside for Dublin and it is 5mins from the airport so the location is great. It was sufficient for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lozza90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 304 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at this property at the end of our stay in Ireland as did our friends since we wanted something close to the airport. I had mixed feeling about booking after reading some of the reviews. We arrived earlier in the morning after dropping our car at the airport. The staff was very accommodating and helpful checking us in, keeping our bags since the room was not ready. They helped us with bus schedules into Dublin and exact change for the bus...very helpful. They even offered to keep our beer & wine in their fridge to keep cold. The guest house is very worn and could use a makeover, however, we did find our rooms clean with plenty of fresh towels. We were on the second floor in room 24 which had a large terrace, but there was no key for the door. They offered to change the room the next day, but it was not a big deal for us. Wi fi worked in that room. There is a common lounge area downstairs and they allowed us to bring our beer & wine there for a night cap. It was quiet and we were only 5 mins by shuttle from the airport. Breakfast was a variety of things...coffee, tea, toast, sweet rolls, cheeses, ham, marmalades, fruits and cereals. This property seems to be used mainly by backpackers. If you keep in mind this is a BUDGET property that has seen better days, but is clean and helpful you will be ok with it. We paid less for a night there than many of our meals, so you get what you pay for! We also stayed there again for a night on our way back from Portugal, found the same thing...the beds were clean and comfortable, but the carpets, drapes, etc were worn. All in all, we were fine with it and would stay there again because of the location and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have wi-fi..but it seems that the closer you get to the reception area, the better is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerdiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Clean enough, had bath & was plenty of hot water. Help yourself breakfast (tea/coffee/toast/cereals) - good for early morning travelers. Airport shuttle right outside (very good proximity to airport). Handy for those just looking for a bed & easy distance to airport

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Super close to the airport (5-7 minutes by bus), quite close to Dublin proper (20 minutes by bus), and really reasonably priced! Breakfast every morning... Within walking distance of restaurants at night... Lovely rooms... My wife and I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We booked this hotel close to the airport as we had an early flight. I booked in and paid went up to my room and swiftly checked out and booked into the Travel lodge around the corner. This place was dirty, smelly and just down right nasty. I would definitely recommend avoiding this place at all cost :(

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel at all cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Worst hotel/hostel/B&B I have ever stayed in. Not only was the staff very unfriendly, the bed was disgusting. The lady at reception was very rude. Gave us wrong directions to a pub that is supposedly right down the street and forgot to mention the lack of sidewalk on the freeway leading the this pub. After walking in the rain for 20 minutes, on the side of the road, we turned back to ask for specific directions only to hear that it was our own fault (we never did find the pub). But the worst part of the stay was the blood stain on the sheets. Absolutely gross. I had the change the sheets myself after the person at reception acted put out about getting a new set. Needless to say I will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Glenmore house is idealy located for the Airport or onward travel beyond Dublin however the accomodation internally and externally is poorly maintained. The Breakfast food which is mainly sourced from LIDL and ALDI which I have no problem with is ok but overall I think for the priced charged for our one night stay including parking for 9 days for a family of four does not represent good value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186621Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swords hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
1.9 mi away
Dublin Airport Manor
Dublin Airport Manor
#6 of 7 in Swords
309 reviews
2.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Dublin Airport Swords
3.7 mi away
Roganstown Hotel and Country Club
1.5 mi away
Carnegie Court Hotel
Carnegie Court Hotel
#4 of 7 in Swords
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmore House

Address: Airport Road, Swords, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Swords
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Swords
Price Range: $79 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenmore House 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dublin Airport is less than a mile from our door, making Glenmore House the perfect choice for travelers to Dublin. We offer friendly, convenient and cheap accommodation close to Airport but still only 15 minutes from City Centre. All rooms are en-suite with TV, tea/coffee facilities, hairdryers in rooms. FREE WiFi, FREE continental breakfast, FREE left luggage room, FREE parking if you are away on holidays. Best rates and value around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Glenmore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmore House Hotel Swords
Glenmore Hotel Swords
Glenmore House Swords, County Dublin, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing