We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont stop just drive by”
Review of Glenmore House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glenmore House
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The dirtiest place I have ever stayed in. The sheets hadnt been washed as hair still stuck to them.The covers were dirty and smelt greasy as did the pillows. Tiles missing in the shower and absolutely filthy. Tea and coffee was meant to be in our room but no trace,

Room Tip: Just dont go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 304 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had to sleep near the airport, but, if we really knew how was this place, we probably pay more and sleep somewhere else. Dirty, but no bugs, at least. The bed was terrible but not dirty. The breakfast is a self service of cereals and toasts. Don't expect anything if you decide to go there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed here over the years through work,nice rooms,clean ,basic,good breakfast.couple of minutes to the airport by car,bit pricy though!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

First impressions a bit dodgy bit rough round the edges but beds were clean and bathroom was too breakfast is totally self service with cereals ,rolls and bread .bus stop at door takes u to Dublin city centre but u must have the correct change no notes accepted

Room Tip: All the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorrainejojoraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed for one night at Glenmore House after a trip that started in Dublin with a conference and included drives to Killaryney, the Ring of Kerry, the Dingle peninsula and Galway. Our plan was to stay at a hotel near the airport to make it easier to get to a 6:30 AM flight the next morning.

Glenmore House can only be entered from southbound Dublin Road. When coming from M1, this requires a U turn at the stoplight just to the north of Glenmore House. The building is old. The front door of the house is not locked at night. The desk clerks were friendly and helpful. We were a group of 4. We had two rooms. Ours had stained carpets, dirty walls and a door latch that seemed of doubtful quality. There was a balcony with trash on it. Adjoining rooms had balconies that were separated from ours by climbable railings. Locking the door took a good 10 minutes because the dead bolt and the hole in the opposite door weren't quite lined up. The sheets smelled like they had not been washed, Beds were on the bouncy side. The bathroom was dirty. Towels were threadbare. Breakfast included a selection of cereals, sliced cheese and ham. Service at breakfast was perfunctory. Checkout was quick and was just a matter of turning over key cards as we paid the night before at check in. Wireless internet was free and encrypted. There was a non-working small TV in our room.

Parking is in front of the hotel on their private circle. There may not be enough spaces for everyone, so park early. Overall, it was a dry place to sleep prior to an early morning flight.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

This is a fine place to stay if you're passing through. Clean, within a couple kilometers of the airport, lots of parking, felt safe, within driving distance of restaurants, free continental breakfast. We stayed our last night before flying home, after a day of driving; it was exactly what we needed. No restaurant in the hotel, so be prepared to drive to dinner.

If you're looking for a home base for sightseeing, pick something in Dublin city center. If you're looking for a clean place to stay before a flight, it's perfect.

To address another review, there's a complimentary tea/coffee/biscuits station in the breakfast area that's available 24/7. It might be more convenient if it were in your room, but how many cups are you going to drink?

A note for the navigation challenged: The hotel is set back behind a wall, but there's a big green sign in front. The road is split at that point. It's on the side heading back toward the rotary toward the airport (i.e. the wrong side if you're coming from M50 or the airport). Plan to turn around at the light.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jangram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

I've read some of the reviews and yeh its not the ritz but the staff are very accomodating and friendly.I've been staying there on and off for 2 years and find the rooms clean. And to be honest the staff have to put up with a lot of rude unmannerly people,and the still smile.So I'd ignore the comments of wierwolf as I've been there when these poor girls have been screamed and shouted at.And I've always had to pay in adavnce in the UK,Ireland & Amsterdm so it seems to be standard practice.

Debbie Land

Room Tip: Rooms further from reception are the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swords hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
1.9 mi away
Dublin Airport Manor
Dublin Airport Manor
#6 of 7 in Swords
309 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Dublin Airport Swords
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport
1.1 mi away
The 44
The 44
#9 of 19 in Swords
72 reviews
3.7 mi away
Roganstown Hotel and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmore House

Address: Airport Road, Swords, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Swords
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Swords
Price Range: $78 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenmore House 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dublin Airport is less than a mile from our door, making Glenmore House the perfect choice for travelers to Dublin. We offer friendly, convenient and cheap accommodation close to Airport but still only 15 minutes from City Centre. All rooms are en-suite with TV, tea/coffee facilities, hairdryers in rooms. FREE WiFi, FREE continental breakfast, FREE left luggage room, FREE parking if you are away on holidays. Best rates and value around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Glenmore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmore House Hotel Swords
Glenmore Hotel Swords
Glenmore House Swords, County Dublin, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing