We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”
Review of The Old Borough

The Old Borough
Ranked #20 of 62 Restaurants in Swords
Price range: $3 - $19
Cuisines: Indian, Gastropub, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A must visit for anyone coming to Swords for the first time or for a repeat visit. Originally opened as a School in 1809 The Old Borough is located at the junction of Main Street Swords and Malahide Road. It is a stones throw from Dublin Airport. Now owned by JD Wetherspoon a very successful company established in 1979 and now has over 1000 Gastropubs in the U.K. It has been renovated to the highest standard and has a capacity for 400 people and has a beautiful beer garden and heated smoking area. The Menu is varied from Breakfast served from 8am to Steaks, Burgers, Pasta and Curry and Fish and Chips and a great desserts!! All food is served till 11pm every night. Our Drinks Menu has a large range of World Beers and Craft Beers and we are renowned for our selection of Ales and Draught Larger. The Old Borough is warm and friendly with a great community spirit. The staff are trained to the highest standards to ensure that all visitors are made welcome and receive 'THE PERFECT SERVE'. We look forward to seeing you soon and to reading your reviews.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Have recently eaten here
Positive Remarks:
The Staff were friendly enough and nothing was ever a problem which is what you would expect for such a place , The Food was very nice I have to say , Overall , A pleasant experience.

Negative Remarks:
The general area around inside the bar area was actually quite dirty especially behind the counter where the staff were working which isn't very nice to see , The Toilets were filthy and smelly which also isn't very nice.

Overall The Food and The Staff were very nice , I will visit again though , Have eaten here lots of times but the general cleanliness needs to be addressed in my opinion.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PRIVATE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    60
    26
    18
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
173 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“great find in a wee town- superb local ingredients”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

great find. Loved the quality of the ingredients, the attentive service, Note the portions are large! Consider sharing your appetizers! Really like that everything is homemade and the ingredients celebrate Ireland. Superb live music inn the back room too!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TaniaCarriere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“very good place”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We had a good meal here, especially the steak fillet.Some locals0s popped in and began playing trad music for beers-much fun. The barman was very friendly and funny. Excellent atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBLIN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mothers day dinner”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Treated to a 3 course meal in the Old Boro by my sons for mothers day
and though I m never mad about eating out on mothers day as I think
food is not always at its best due to the high demand but was I very pleasently
surprised. Dinner was simply superb from starters to desert. We had the brie for
starters and was delish then I had the fishermans pie for main just superb and hubby
had the salmon equally delish. Finished with cheescake and still feel stuffed
Lovely pub,great food,very friendly staff what more could you ask for on mothers
day!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DUBLINLOUGHRAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Shocking Food - Atmosphere not much better. For food? Reconsider!”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Visited the Old Boro this afternoon for lunch with my wife and two small girls. I had hake which had zero flavour, cooked from frozen with potatoes and broccoli which seemed a week old.

My wife had fishermans pie with king prawns, salmon etc. The ratio of mash to fish was way off!

Prices scandalous for what was given to us.

Let it be noted that the staff were friendly and completed their jobs fine and without issue but unfortunately the food reflects very poorly on the whole place.

Would I return? No absolutely not when they are clearly putting out crap food and trying to command high prices for it. Plus I do not enjoy the atmosphere of the place.

It is not even worth a punt! Pick somewhere else if you wish to dine and feel full after your meal.

Price / Quality ratios are way off and need urgent reassessment by management.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank FL100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark K, Manager at The Old Borough, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear FL100,

We are deeply disappointed to read about your experience at The Old
Boro. Thank you for your comments about our staff we pride ourselves
on providing quality service and food . This is why we are truly sorry
that your experience fell short of the mark. Our new menu has received
a very positive response so far and we cannot apologise enough that on
your visit we did not provide you with the quality and value we strive
to offer our customers.

We are reviewing all of the points you have brought up and discussing
them with the team here at The Old Boro to get to the bottom of these
issues and guarantee they do not happen again. If you can provide us
with anymore information or wish to discuss further we would be
grateful for your valuable feedback. Contact me at oldboroughpub@eircom.net

Thank you again for taking the time to review our premises . We value
all feedback provided by our customers and use it constructively to
continue to improve and develop our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Borough also viewed

 
Swords, County Dublin
Swords, County Dublin
 

Been to The Old Borough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing