We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsatisfactory”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Dublin Airport Swords
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Swords
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We checked in here on a sunday evening as we were getting a 6.25 flight and thought it would be a good idea to stay in dublin and get some sleep so we would not have to travel 2 and a half hours up on monday morning. I found this hotel at a good price of €48. Our check in was quick and she was nice but unfortunately it went down hill after that. Our room was on the ground floor we happened to park the car outside our room which was good so we could keep an eye as it seemed a little rough as we drove around to the larger car park at the back to see two adults with a child with the fire door open smoking a cigrette. Our door was hard to open but with a giggle it was ok. The room itself was a bit tired looking but was fairly clean. Nice bed and a good tv with many channels to go with it. Walls are paper thin as we hear 2 girls enter their room beside us and we could hear them talking about getting some food. Children were running around up and down to the adjoining restaurant, we did eat here and it was good as a means to near by.The bed was comfortable but it would have been great to be able to sleep in it, the noise from the roads yes roads as the hotel is situated on a roundabout was unbearable it was constant and was impossible to s get some sleep, as a last attempt to get some sleep around 12 we took the blankets and pillows from the bed and make a bed in the bathroom as there is a heavy thick door to the bathroom which blocked out the sound of the traffic.This was not idea as my partner is over 6 feet tall but i personally was able to get some sleep. We had asked for a wake up call for which we did get. On waking up in the bathroom we then saw some previous guests jocks stuffed up under the hand basin. This was not a comfortable stay and i was very disappointed with it,

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mairead H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport Swords, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Mairead,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us.
I was disappointed to hear that you didn't have a good night's sleep because of the traffic noise. We only have a limited number of rooms that are adjacent to the road so we could have allocated you a room to the rear of the hotel. However I was pleased that you found our beds comfortable and our team helpful.
I would like to discuss your stay further with you, so please contact me directly at the hotel or message me here on Tripadvisor .

Regards,

David Ryan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,070)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

709 - 715 of 1,071 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

We booked into the Travel Lodge as we had a fairly early flight home the next morning. Our criteria for a 1 night hotel are, cleanliness, comfortable bed and a hot working shower. We got all three, plus a perfectly good breakfast the next morning. Staff were without exception friendly and helpful. We did not have dinner at the lodge as our taxi driver recommended "The Well" at The Lord Mayors down the road. Best fried fish we had in 3 weeks in Ireland and Scotland. Two years as a fishery biologist on a trawler makes one quite an expert!
Mike P

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport Swords, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Mike,

Hope you got home safely and thank you for your kind comments. The criteria you expect are all the things that we strive to achieve on a consistent basis. I'm delighted that we have once again ticked all the boxes. I have passed your compliments to our friendly team, who work hard to look after our guests and who are always pleased to hear that it hasn't gone unnoticed.
Hopefully we will see you back again on your next trip to Ireland .

Regards

David Ryan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Check in was easy and quick. We were also offered breakfast at a pre-paid price which we accepted.

We made our way to our room 316 however on the way we could smell cigarette smoke - which for a non smoking hotel I was unhappy about. ON entering our we found we had plenty of room and an extra bed - we had only booked a double room. The room was OK although there was quite a few burnt patches on the carpet and a few cosmetic problems in the bathroom e a tile had come off and a chip on the bath and a broken know to operate the temperature for shower/bath. These could be fixed quickly cheaply and easily. Overall it was ok and we got a good sleep - which we were surprised about considering last years visit it was over run with teenagers who were running riot. I know you pay for what you get!!!!

One comment though please keep heater on in the room before people arrive. When we enetered we were so cold we had to put our coats on. Also plastic covering must be used on the beds which made me feel clammy during the night

I know the restaurant is nothing to do with the hotel but we ate there on the Friday night and Saturday morning. ON the Friday we ordered the combination as we liked it last year. However it seems they are cutting corners and giving cheaper alternatives. We had literally entered the restaurant and sat down when the staff came to take our order - we had bearly looked at the menu.We made a quick choice but we would have liked a little longer to look over the menu. We received our starter and hadn't finished when another member of staff came with our mains and wanted to take our starter away even though we hadn't finished. Come on let people enjoy their food and to be truthful there was not that many people there. Regarding alcohol all they served was beer or wine. I had to take wine however I am not a wine drinker I did accept it but I feel they should offer alcopops or vodka. Breakfast was ok. All pre prepared and the tea could have done with being a lot warmer.

Room Tip: We stayed in 316 - we were able to keep an eye on our vechicle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drumtaratraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport Swords, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Drunmtara,

Thanks for taking the time to post more feedback on your recent stay with us and we were delighted to welcome you back.
We are indeed a fully non smoking hotel. We do try to prevent and deter this as much possible but unfortunately on occasions some guests disregard our policy and smoke in their rooms. We charge guests who breach this policy for the extra deep cleaning which is required in the rooms afterwards.
We are constantly reviewing both our bar cafe menus and we most definitely take on board your preference for other drinks in our next review. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you back with us very soon.

Regards
David Ryan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Nothing fancy, folks. You need a cheap room nearby the airport? They've got it. Need Wifi? 5E for 24 hours access. Need a ride to the airport? Their coach runs every half hour, beginning at 4:07am for 5E. The man at the front desk was very kind to me when I arrived and helped me carry my bags to my room, and aside from it being far and away from the 4-star place I just spent the last week at, I'm fine with it. Easy to get here from the Dublin airport on the 41 bus to Swords for 1.35E, too.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs - the sounds of traffic will lull you to sleep otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport Swords, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Elizabeth,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor about Travelodge Dublin Airport North.
I'm glad that you found we are able to provide everything the price conscious traveller needs near Dublin Airport, including our Shuttle Bus. I will pass your kind comments about our reception team on to them and they will as always be delighted to hear it. On your next visit please let us know and we can allocate you one of our many rooms at the back of the hotel if necessary.

Regards

David Ryan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

clean comfy bed lots of hot water decor a bit tired but your not staying a month very good staff especialy young chinese girl in resturant its a good jumping off point as its near airport and major routs

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarrogateSandra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport Swords, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Dear Sandra,

Many thanks for taking the time to review us after your recent stay.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed our clean comfy beds and you will be pleased to hear that we are in the middle of a scheduled redecorating programme of our bedrooms and corridors.
We do get lots of comments praising the team here in Travelodge Dublin Airport Swords but I have passed your kind comments on to our restaurant team
We are less than 10 mins from Dublin Airport and 3 mins from the M1 motorway so we are indeed very accessible.

Regards

David Ryan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Lovely room. Bed very comfortable . Breakfast delicious.

Staff friendly and helpful. Minded my bag for a few hours after checkout.



Only complaints ....please provide shampoo and television has to be re-tuned every time it is switched on .....strange !

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 389martina10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport Swords, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Dear Martina,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us which I was delighted to read.

I'm glad you enjoyed one of our lovely rooms and found our beds very comfortable. Our new All you can eat Breakfast Buffet is excellent value at €7.50 with Kids eating Free and as many have found like yourself, also delicious. Our Friendly and helpful staff are always happy to mind bags for a few hours after checkout.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again

Regards

David Ryan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Me and my wife stayed at this travelodge fir two nights as we where over for my brothers wedding. We found all the staff friemdly and helpful the whole place was clean food was top class more like a hotel rather than a travelodge. We will be returning well done.

Room Tip: Room 326 was queit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve1885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport Swords, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Steve and Vicky,

Thank you for your taking the time to review us. I'm delighted to hear your stay was perfect and you both found our team to be friendly and helpful. Our first class team is something that we are very proud of here in the hotel.
I've also passed your kind words about your meal to our restaurant team. I hope you enjoyed the wedding and look forward to seeing you back very soon.

Regards
David Ryan
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swords
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
2.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Maldron Hotel Dublin Airport
3.7 mi away
Metro Hotel Dublin Airport
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Dublin Airport Swords? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Dublin Airport Swords

Address: Travelodge Pinnock Hill Roundabout, Swords, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Swords
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Swords
Price Range: $87 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Dublin Airport Swords 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Dublin Airport offers clean, modern rooms, 5 minutes' drive from the main airport terminal. An airport shuttle service is available every 30 minutes from 04:00. There is space for free parking on site. Each room features a satellite TV, a spacious work desk, and tea/coffee making facilities. Some rooms can accommodate families of 2 adults and up to 2 children (under 16 years old). Guests can dine at the informal on-site restaurant, open from 07:00 until 22:00, which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Full meals and snacks are available, and a range of alcoholic drinks are also served. Swords village is a 5-minute walk away. There are pubs, restaurants and shops, including the fantastic Pavilions Shopping Mall. There is direct, easy access to the M1 and M50 motorways and Dublin Ferry terminal is 12.6 miles from the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Dublin Airport Swords reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Dublin Airport Swords Hotel Swords
Travelodge Swords
Swords Travel Lodge
Swords Travelodge
Travel Lodge Dublin
Travelodge Dublin Airport Swords County Dublin, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing