We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like steak?”

Masterson's Steak House & Wine Bar
Ranked #5 of 62 Restaurants in Swords
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: About Masterson's ... Masterson's Steakhouse opened its doors in May 2009. After training in hotel & Catering Management, which included a stint in the famous Ballymaloe house and three years learning the ways of some of Chicago's most famous eateries, we decided the time was right to open an American Style Steakhouse. Upon Arrival we took apart the interior of the original shop, an Italian Restaurant, for refurbishment. We closed for 4 weeks and reopened on the 5th of May. The intervening Seven Years have been a fantastic adventure, a lot of our original staff are still with us, supplemented by some fantastic people who have joined our project since. All of our Steaks our 100% Irish and fully traceable farm to fork. Our salads are all sourced fresh from the farms of Rush, our vegetables also when the weather is good enough ! We have a full breakdown of nut allergies, available from chef upon request, which is also on view outside the kitchen. All of our Sauces are Gluten free, we have gluten free bread, Pasta and Pizza. We are proud to be associated with The Nutrition & Health Foundation and the Restaurants association of Ireland. The initiative is designed to enhance the range and portion size of nutritious meals available to families in the Restaurant setting. We continue to strive to be the best, to put only the best produce on your plate & to offer an experience like no other !
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Like steak?”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Mastersons does the best steak I've ever tasted. Little bit expensive but well worth the extra few quid for what you get. Always reserve a table unless going off peek times.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    126
    72
    52
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swords, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, always busy, but service and food always excellent”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Our fav restaurant in Swords, great atmosphere specially upstairs when the piano player in! Food and service top notch, the steak-on-a-stone a family favourite!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HBC322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swords, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I would say the best restaurant in Swords!!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Amazing food and great service!! Been here lots of times for special occasions and weekday early birds, we have never been dissapointed!! They make this 18oz cook on a stone steak for meat lovers...its huge!!! The only reccomendation i can make is if you go on a busy night, request to sit downstairs as upstairs gernerally takes longer for food to arrive as its served by the same kitchen downstairs so waiters have to go downstairs and check when food is ready.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Give it a try”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The menu is a bit pricey, but the steak was very nice! The ice cream sundaes are plenty for two to share . . .

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Theresa34Russell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fab Food and kid friendly”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Went here with 2 young kids after getting a voucher for here, and thought it was really great. Service was great, they were really good with the kids too. Girls were given colours etc to keep them occupied. Good range on the menu and the food we ordered was really really good. Will be heading back there again

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank madmeadhbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masterson's Steak House & Wine Bar also viewed

 
Swords, County Dublin
Swords, County Dublin
 

Been to Masterson's Steak House & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing