We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite BnB of the entire trip”
Review of San Augustine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Augustine
Ranked #5 of 19 Swords B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our favorite BnB of the entire trip”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

San Augustine is beautiful, and Anna Walsh gave us such a wonderful welcome. The original artwork on the walls is gorgeous and, like all the Irish, every one has a story. :) Our warm and delightful hostess had us laughing from the moment we walked in the door, and also gave us great advice about the town. We were going to (try to) drive into Dublin for our last evening before hitting the airport but instead walked around Swords, got some great pics of the lovely monastery ruins, churchyard, and castle, and then dinner at the hotel.

The only down side was that, like the other reviewer said, our front room was subject to quite a bit of road noise with the windows open (I believe a football game had just let out, so there was an inordinate amount of traffice that evening.)

We had to leave for the airport too early to enjoy breakfast, sadly. But if we are ever back in the Dublin area, San Augustine will be where we stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna W, Owner at San Augustine, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for lovely comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
38
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2013

San Augustine was a perfect B&B...our hostess Anna was wonderful and charming. The location was excellent, only 3 miles from the airport and a 5 minute walk to the main street of Swords which has many pubs,(The Cock Tavern and The Burro were amazing)..and all needed amenities .San Augustines is bright, spotless and a real gem..highly recommended!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kaidenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna W, Owner at San Augustine, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for lovely comments delighted you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This B & B is ideally situated to airport, and in a lovely town with all amenities. Anna and Mike are extremely helpful and friendly. Their property is spotless and rooms very comfortable. Only downside would be it is in high traffic area and front rooms are noise if its hot and you have to leave windows open.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna W, Owner at San Augustine, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thanks a million for lovely comments delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owens Cross Roads,AL
Level Contributor
151 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

What a delightful home for our final Irish accommodation. We booked late in our trip and are so pleased with the choice. The rooms were very comfortable and Anna was extremely accommodating.We walked into town for dinner(Cock Tavern) and later a pub for our last true Irish coffee (with Jamison whiskey, of course.) As we had to leave super early, Anna had all we needed sitting out for a quick breakfast. Really appreciated and enjoyed her hospitality. We'd gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna W, Owner at San Augustine, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Delighted your last minute stay was enjoyable thank you for lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolseley, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Lynn and I arrived at Anna Walsh's Swords B & B with a reserved room in April this year. It was 7:30 a.m. after a long trans-Atlantic flight, not expecting an early check, we wondered and worried, how to spend several hours prior to getting into our room. Anna probably saved us from the dreaded jet lag that was about to set in; she immediately sent us up to a room and insisted we get some rest with all the genuine warmth and care a mother would reserve for her family. This was the second time we had stayed over-night in Swords after the flight from Canada and without any hesitation in stating if we return at a future date to visit this wonderful country our first stop will be at Anna and Michael Walsh's home away from home. Anna is absolutely a delight to visit with!

Room Tip: They are all good and we enjoyed the family room for an evening visit with later flight arrival fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna W, Owner at San Augustine, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hi ,
Thanks a lot for great review hope to see you next time your in Ireland.
Delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My family and I had a very nice stay at the San Augustine B&B in Swords. Like everyone else, we picked the location as it's close to the airport. It was a quick drive to the airport in the morning, but we also drove easily to downtown Dublin in the evening to enjoy our last moments in the city. They welcomed us warmly to our home, the accommodations were very comfortable! Most importantly for me, they were so, SO kind to me when I sprained my ankle. I'm a klutz and fell down some stairs (it was all me; their stairs were in perfect order), and Mrs. Walsh woke up at that very early hour to help tend to me. She made me laugh and smile while I was splayed out on the floor, with her kneeling down next to me with a bag of peas on my ankle. So kind! So yes, to say the least, this was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invermere
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We decided to book outside of Dublin and near the airport at the end of our three week holiday in Ireland. The San Augustine B&B in Swords was a perfect choice! Just 10 minutes from Dublin and walking distance to the pleasant town of Swords. Anna and Michael Walsh were a delight to meet; unfortunately for us our stay was too brief. Their lovely townhouse is squeaky clean and very comfortable. We highly recommend this B&B with its hospitable guests - true ambassadors for Ireland.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TakemehomeKathleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swords
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Dublin Airport Swords
1.7 mi away
Dublin Airport Manor
Dublin Airport Manor
#5 of 7 in Swords
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport
0.3 mi away
Carnegie Court Hotel
Carnegie Court Hotel
#4 of 7 in Swords
245 reviews
3.2 mi away
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Augustine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Augustine

Property: San Augustine
Address: San Augustine 21A Rathbeale Road, Swords, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Swords
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Swords
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San Augustine 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-located bed and breakfast in close proximity to Swords village, bus route to city centre and very convenient to Dublin Airport. All rooms en-suite, with televisions, hair-dryer and other amenities. Tea and coffee facilities and private guest lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your San Augustine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Augustine Swords, County Dublin, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing