We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful scenery on the outside not so much on the inside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Bay
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fairfield Bay
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Beautiful scenery on the outside not so much on the inside”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Our room had a nice balcony that was great for watching nature. Ask for a room with a lake view. However the rooms need updating on the inside; stuck in the 80's. The location is beautiful and we had a nice time. The locals are friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savvyjett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    103
    31
    17
    6
See reviews for
108
79
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kansas city MO
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

stayed in mountain ridge week of July 22.one of the hottest weeks in 2012 but the a/c in our unit was 'freezer' cold . LOVED It..peaceful time-internet connection of cell phone intermittant, also no tv in 2nd bedroom (only in living room and master bedroom)-so without those 2 'must haves' the week was very peaceful...was with family-did not have to take steps to get to our room. spent a lot of time poolside..bowled a few time-the owner of the bowling alley is funny,funny!! had a great time with the other patrons. Cravens food and Dollar general was right down the way -so that was convenient. fished a few times with little luck (too hot to fish for more than a few hours) miniture golf and trip to Walmart in Clinton. Room was clean -well stocked with towels,comfortable bed. the only dislike-windy windy roads..other than that well rested vacation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rekabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Our family of five recently spent about a week at Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Bay. We arrived late in the evening and reception (Janice) was exceptional. We easily found our unit and unpacked the car. Our goal for this trip was to rest, relax, swim, play tennis, enjoy the mountains, spend time together as a family.

Initial impressions were that the resort was older but was moderately updated and maintained as expected for a Wyndham facility. We had no equipment failures or problems other than our unit was missing a vacuum cleaner and pot holders which were delivered quickly. When we needed additional laundry / dishwasher detergent we asked at guest services and received more.

The driving times and distances between activities were reasonable for a 14,000 acre resort. An automobile is expected as the mountains in this area are a bit steep and the distances too great for the average bike rider / walker / runner to get from point A to point B.

Positives:
1. Quiet resort. The setting of our unit on the Fairway loop was on the golf course. During the week I saw only a few golfers and there was little if any noise. Although there were a lot of people here, we did not see or hear others often and I really only talked to a few of the other guests at the pool or on checkout day.

2. Great food. While there are many restaurants on the resort, our family loved Goodwin and Daughters, which is basically the best "convenience" / gas station cooking you will ever have. Food is fresh, never frozen and cooked to order. We got pizzas, burgers, fresh breads, onion rings and tried all the breakfast foods and everything was delicious.

3. Multiple swimming pools / lots of recreational activities. Every area has its own swimming pool and during our stay ours was relatively unoccupied. There are several nice and moderately challenging hiking trails. This resort has updated playground equipment and miniature golf along with lots of daily scheduled activities like a puppet show for the kids.

Negatives:
1. This is a remote setting. Clinton, Arkansas is the nearest "big" town that features a Wal-Mart Supercenter, Dollar Tree, Family Dollar and not much else. Plan to bring in your needed supplies from Clinton prior to going to the resort and then STAY there. Again, this resort is in a beautiful remote setting nestled within curvy mountain roads that will have your passengers in fear =) even doing the speed limit. For city folks not used to this type of environment, bring your supplies in and enjoy the resort. For WV girls like myself I literally found myself at home and spent a lot of time exploring the area within a 30 mile radius of the resort.

2. TV/Cable is not family-friendly / kid-friendly here. We came to this resort from another Wyndham resort in Branson, MO. The expectations were that the channel selection on the TV would have more kid-friendly options and Cartoon Network was the only "kid" channel. We remedied this by checking out movies/DVDs for free from the local library. There is also an option to rent movies from the resort for $1/night. If you have kids younger than 13, or do not want your children watching shows that are PG-13 of higher then plan accordingly and bring age-appropriate movies. Our family brought a bunch a smaller games (i.e. Sharp Shooters, Farkle, LCR, etc.) and checking out the FREE DVDs, audiobooks and books from the Fairfield Bay LIBRARY were a must for us.

3. Technology a little outdated. Here is where personal preference comes in. If one is comfortable with the basics - TV, DVD player and CD player - then you will be fine. The equipment here is not new. There was one flat screen TV in the unit the rest were the "kill your kid if it fell on them" type.

4. Resort Information books / Guest materials were outdated and included multiple items about features "coming soon in 2011" (we stayed July 2012) or events that had passed.

5. Scarcity of Tennis Gear. For this to be a highly rated tennis resort by Tennis Magazine we were amazed that fresh cans of tennis balls and/or racquets were not to be found in Clinton, AR at the Wal-Mart Supercenter or any of the other area chain/retail stores in a 30 mile radius of the resort. We were able to snag a few cans from the pro shop at a bit of a premium. Remedy is to bring your own gear, including fresh tennis balls.


Somewhat positive / somewhat negative:

1. The tub in the Master Bedroom was obscenely large and at 6 feet by at least 6 feet definitely the largest jacuzzi tub I've seen in a vacation unit. Our family of five could easily have fit into this tub at the same time with room to spare. The jacuzzi felt great and it served as an "indoor pool" for our 4 year old one day. However, after the third time / third day of filling the tub up halfway (just over the jets) I began to feel VERY guilty about how much water was being used for this luxury and started using the shower / tub in the other bathroom. It would have been nice to have a smaller jacuzzi tub and for this Wyndham Resort to truly support their "GREEN" environment that they had a whole brochure on.

Overall:

We liked this resort a lot and plan to be back. While the setting is remote and a vehicle is required you cannot beat the atmosphere here. This resort is very similar in setting and amenities to the acclaimed The Greenbrier and Pipestem Resort State Park in West Virginia.

If you are looking for comfortable units in the mountains with lots of quiet, a few wild animal sightings (deer, rabbits, squirrels, etc.) then this is the place for you. If you can't stand to be away from street lights, city sounds and the possibility of seeing a bug frightens you then you should probably stay away. We label this resort as "glamping" at its best but is essential to remember that this is a remote resort and in rural mountainous Arkansas.

Room Tip: If you have a large family select Mountain Ranch units. If you want lake views select Hamilton Cove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyTripsAndTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Our family spent a week at Fairfield Bay the middle of July and enjoyed ourselves very much. The property is very big and requires a significant amount of driving from one place to another but that is what gives the entire area such an uncrowded & relaxing atmosphere. Check-in was quick & very informative. We were there as members of the Wyndham system and once we stated that we were not interested in purchasing more points, we were not approached the entire week by salespeople. As someone else stated, our only problem was the inability of the a/c system to keep up with the temperatures. Arkansas is in the midst of a serious drought & abnormally high temperatures & the unit just could not handle it. We were in a 2 bedroom plus unit at Mountain Ranch with a loft. The grandkids loved the loft but it just was too hot for them to sleep up there two different nights, even with a fan running. But, we just opened up the sofa in the living room & they were much more comfortable. The high temperatures are the only reason that I did not give the sleep quality rating a 5. With that exception, we loved our week spending a lot of time hiking, playing in one or another of the pools, playing mini golf, fishing, &, of course, just lazing around. I would strongly advise anyone with the time to go to Blanchard Springs and go through the caverns. The lighting system is just tremendous. My wife & I took the grandkids on the shorter tour & our son & daughter-in-law went on the tour with 700 steps to climb or descend. Everyone had a great time. We found the grocery store on Hwy 16 just outside the property to be very adequate for whatever we wanted to purchase to eat. Maybe the prices are a little higher, but it is well worth that just not to have to drive back to Clinton or other towns. And, seniors receive a discount on the entire bill on Wednesdays. I might caution those who have not visited Fairfield Bay previously that Wyndham refers to the resort as being on the lake. In reality, only one of the five or six communities is actually right near the shore. If you want to be very near the water, you might want to make that known when checking into reservations. Overall, we had a great time & we now have a grandson who is a devout bass fisherman. We can heartily recommend this property anytime that the temperature is not over 100 degrees.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasHawkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This was our first visit to Fairfield Bay. We were looking to get away for some peace and quiet for the week and we found it here. The resort is away from the big cities and out in the rural area of central Arkansas in the Ozarks. You definitely have to be going there to find it but is is worth finding if you are looking for mountains, trees a lake, golf, or just peace and quiet.
The resort had plenty of activities to choose from but we just did not choose to participate. We stayed in the Fairways condos in the Mountain Ranch area and we found the quiet we were looking for. The condo was huge and well maintained with nice appliances and plenty of towels even for the pool.
The pool was near by and we enjoyed 2 full days just relaxing poolside. We made a day trip to Branson one day, about a 3 hour drive. We visited Heber Springs one day and saw some neat shops on Main Street and we went to Mountain View one day and visited the Ozark Folk Center. That was a highlight of the week for sure. Don't miss that center if you like to see hand made crafts being made.
The resort is huge as it covers a lot of territory. It is miles from one area to another but there are many beautiful houses in the area and very nice golf courses as well. As for restaurants we can not speak as we did not try any of them. We had stocked our kitchen and ate "at home" rather than eat out.
After visiting many resorts over the past 10 years or so I would rank this one in the top 5 of all I have been to. It is what it is and does not try to be anything else. If a nice quiet rural setting is what you are looking for, look no further. We are anxious to visit in the fall and see the foliage when it is not so hot and dry. But this is a nice place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TownsendTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This place was nice, with swimming, bowling, movie rentals etc. available to guests. The restaurants in the area keep various days/hours, so you may have to drive if you plan on didning out. The only problem we had was the air conditioning situation. With the hot summer, the condo AC units apparently could not keep up. The temp was staying in the 80s. We called, and they brought us one box fan! NOT COOL!!! I would suggest they consider upgrading their systems.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ljlantrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I read the reviews before we went expecting to find smoke smell. I have such a sensitive sense of smell, but just found a very faint smoky odor once... And yes, the mouse in the kitchen, in my unit and the one next door. Thankfully the incident was in our last night so I could enjoy our stay for most part. Other than the rodent, our experience was very nice, everything looked clean, the bayview pool had a nice view and friendly staff.
I really hope they get rid of this problem.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vica8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairfield Bay
18.5 mi away
Lindsey's Resort
Lindsey's Resort
#1 of 7 in Heber Springs
95 reviews
17.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Heber Springs
11.3 mi away
Best Western Hillside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#1 of 6 in Mountain View
170 reviews
14.8 mi away
Lake and River Inn
Lake and River Inn
#7 of 7 in Heber Springs
26 reviews
15.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Conference Center
Quality Inn & Conference Center
#4 of 7 in Heber Springs
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Bay

Property: Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Bay
Address: 110 Village Pl, Fairfield Bay, AR 72088-2838 (Formerly Fairfield Bay Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > Fairfield Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fairfield Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Resort At Fairfield Bay Hotel Fairfield Bay
Wyndham Fairfield Bay
Wyndham Hotel Fairfield Bay
Fairfield Bay Resort Arkansas
Fairfield Bay Wyndham
Wyndham Resort At Fairfield Bay Arkansas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing