We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rossnowlagh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smugglers Creek Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Rossnowlagh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2012

visited Smugglers Creek Inn for a bite to eat a few weeks ago, lovely place, beautiful views. Warm and Cosy, food excellent, had a really nice burger. The manager looked after us really well and accomadated us with anything we wanted to order ,on or off the lunch menu , made us feel very welcome. Would definitely come again when in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markbgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 323 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

We were staying in Ballyshannon for the weekend and were recommended to try Smugglers Creek - we got a taxi there on Saturday night and arrived to a not very warm welcome.. We had only ordered a drink and found a table when we were asked by one off the 'staff' what we were there for?? I thought this was obvious when both myself and my partner had a drink in our hands? That we had just been served and paid for!!! When i told her the obvious she said that we had to leave there was a charity night on and that we could come back at 9:30pm after it was over?? Considering we had just paid 10 euro in a taxi to the bar 10 euros for the drink and then 10 euros home again! There was no way we were going to come back again!!! The most expensive and disappointing drink off the weekend!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
8  Thank HonRev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smugglerscreek, Owner at Smugglers Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

26 Nov 2012
I am very disappointed that we failed to offer you the true Smugglers Creek experience.
We held our 1st Annual Charity event in support of North West Hospice on Saturday 23rd November 2012, the evening that you visited. As the event was very well supported, tickets for the buffet dinner was over-subscribed, there was no tickets available to any customers who “walked-in”. Unfortunately, the place you were staying in Ballyshannon was not aware of this event despite the fact that it was well advertised locally, on our website and Facebook page. In regards to the “staff” who spoke with you, I believe it was one of the volunteers from our local community who were there to help with the event rather than a member of my staff so I can only apologise for her comment.

On a positive note, we raised over €5340 for the charity that evening.

I have personally been in touch on email and hope that we can have you visit us again to experience Smugglers Creek at its best!

Best Regards
Emily Browne
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My Partner and I stayed at Smugglers Inn a few weeks ago, we were lucky enough to book the cottage situated just behind the Inn. Can't comment on the rooms in the B&B but the cottage was brill, very modern, had all the extras, iron, hairdryer, microwave etc...and was the same price as one of the B&B rooms.
Would easily accommodate 5 persons as I believe the couch could be converted into a bed and there was a double bed and 2 large bunk beds, big bathroom with a fantastic power shower. Important note to remember, make sure you reserve a table for evening meals, although the location is quite remote the bar was packed each evening and everyone was dining. Now on to the food, I did read some negative comments on here regarding the food and I really don't understand that, I do love my food and I'm quite easily pleased but my partner would be a fussy eater but you will find no complaints from either of us. Menu was comprehensive and reasonably priced, no more expensive than any other restaurant food was delicious, service was great even though the staff were kept very busy oh and I must add breakfast was fab.

Room Tip: Didn't see the B&B rooms so can only say try for the cottage, the Inn sits just below the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarGra17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

What a beautiful B&B. When we arrived the restaurant was swamped but Mark took the time to settle us in. We stayed in the cottage behind and above the B&B so it was very quiet. It is self catering for those that prefer more independence. The rooms on the front of the B&B have great views of the peninsulas and beach. They will be remodeling this year to make them larger with balconies. Really looking forward to returning! The food was just wonderful and the view from the restaurant is just a breathtaking. The staff if so helpful and friendly. A definite must if your in the area!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the front or the self-catering cottage behind. Both have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tandyjo_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Great location on the edge of the cliffs above Rossnowlagh. Fantastic food at a decent price...a wonderful selection of seafood dishes, cooked just right and vegetables served in full colour without their goodness boiled away, delicious.
The bar/restaurant oozes character, and its wonderful to take in the view of the bay as surfers ride the waves well into sundown.
A very rewarding dining experience.

Room Tip: Didn't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doaghtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

we stayed at the fabulous Smugglers Creek Inn Donegal first week in September, what a welcome we received. superb cuisine at affordable prices, fantastic hospitality ,breathtaking views of Donegal bay.... a most comfortable bed, coupled with wonderful weather all made for a peaceful tranquil mini break in Donegal.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sloughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed in Rossnowlagh in September 2012 with a group of friends.

Had one of the most outstanding meals ever in Smugglers...The Inn has just a wonderful feel about it..a great place to go on a session id say only we had our 5 month old with us:)

The food was just amazing, best Mussels ive ever had, superb Halibut. Everyone raved about the food, just so flavoursome and tasty and quite reasonably priced..and as for the deserts...:)

Definitely where to go when in South Donegal!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoryMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rossnowlagh
0.5 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
610 reviews
2.1 mi away
Creevy Pier Hotel
Creevy Pier Hotel
#1 of 4 in Ballyshannon
264 reviews
11.4 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
936 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
788 reviews
5.0 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Creek Inn

Address: Cliff Road, Rossnowlagh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Rossnowlagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rossnowlagh
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smuggler's Creek Inn is an Award-Winning Restaurant & Bar with Accommodation. It is situated on a cliff edge with breathtaking panoramic views over Rossnowlagh beach and Donegal Bay. The interior is decorated with seafaring theme, natural stone walls, original timber floors and beams. It's a very popular destination for locals & tourists alike. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Smugglers Creek Hotel Rossnowlagh
Smugglers Creek Inn County Donegal, Ireland - Rossnowlagh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing