We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going downhill recently.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rossnowlagh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smugglers Creek Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Rossnowlagh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Going downhill recently.”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We have been going to this place for years but of late, I feel under new management the good name is being tarnished by poor service and bland food.

We were here as a large group a few weeks ago and the service was slow, extremely slow, with little to no apologies from the staff. Any small request out of the ordinary, such as extra bread with my soup for my elderly grandmother to taste were met with a look of distain and never fulfilled.

Food was bland and expensive for what you get.

If you are in the area, try the Gaslight.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jambo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    73
    36
    22
    17
See reviews for
82
139
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Located on the southern cliffs overlooking Rosnowlagh the views of Donegal Bay from the Smugglers Creek Inn are stunning. The day we visited the sun was out and the view from the restaurants windows could not have been more beautiful. We called in for lunch and had the BLT on ciabatta and the steak on forcaccia... amazing! The steak comes complete with fired onions, melted cheese and relish with a garden salad. Im not sure if these breads are made 'in house' but they certainly arn't the usual run of the mill and tasted wonderful! The staff were very friendly and made the whole visit a joy! Very much enjoyed and have no reservation recommending as one of the best lunches in Donegal! Expect to pay 10-15 euro per head for lunch including drinks...

Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
609 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,057 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Had lunch here recently and it was a wonderful experience. Never heard of it before a colleague of mine mentioned it. She told me to go to Sands Hotel in Rossnowlagh and if the tide is out drive across the beach and up the hill to Smugglers. She was spot on. Best way to find it and a short cut also. Got seated immediately by the window which offered excellent sights over the bay. It was quiet busy during our visit but the service was top notch and with a friendly smile also. I ordered the burger and chips and had no complaints whatsoever. Would have loved to stay for the afternoon and enjoy a few drinks but because I was driving that was not an option. The bar was old style and cosy, my type of place. Now that I know how to get there I will be back, several times.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank letterkennycaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundonald, Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Staying in Fermanagh on a sibling get together, I was keen to return to a place I'd visited many times with my own family and thoroughly enjoyed many years ago.

We went for lunch on a lovely sunny Thursday (one of the few recently!). On arrival we found a table easily - not the buzzing crowds of my memory it has to be said. Unfortunately we were forced to move by the awful smell of stale urine coming from the men's loos (only one of the ladies was operational but it was clean). There is NO excuse for poor,smelly facilities...

Our order was taken promptly, drinks arrived, lukewarm pot of tea included, but the food took an age to arrive in a less than busy bar. When it arrived one dish was served with sauce, when it had been ordered without and noted by the waitress. Two of the meals were entirely tasteless - how can you make goats cheese and red pepper tartlets that have NO taste - and very mediocre and bland minute steak - very disappointing. That said the fish dish when it was served correctly was fine and the mussels in white wine were gorgeous (though much more bread needs to be served with them to appreciate the sauce).

As this was treat being paid for by one of our party, I was reluctant to make a fuss at the time and in hindsight we should have said more at the time. I don't think I would return in a hurry - but if you are planning a visit go with something fishy to be on the safe side.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jno2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

A family bithday - overnight -lovely food an astounding Atlantic view. Lovely clean simple rooms.
Often visit on a Sunday for the day to Rossnowlagh. nearest Atlantic beach to us in Cavan - walk, swim and lunch in Smugglers Creek. Will overnight more often I think

Room Tip: One with a small balcony good for friends to gather
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maire o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

We were made very welcome and our room was perfect. It was small but that was ok especially because it came with fantastic views. Beautiful newish ensuite. Breakfast was great and included watching the dolphins from the ideal location. Short walk to the beach.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ramilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Myself and my mother were in the area due to unfortunate circumstances. I will not go into too much detail here but we went to the Sandhouse Hotel with some flowers and card as my father had a heart attack on the 7 July 2012 on their premises and subsequently died. The staff were superb and we wished to acknowlege our gratitude to them.
I had heard very mixed reports about the smugglers creek but I was very dissapointed with everything really. We decided to have lunch before the short journey home. When we arrived we were seated and the order was taken. The waitress was pleasant but not over friendly by any means. We made our order and had to wait around 40 minutes for our food. When it arrived I would describe it as adequate. I personally ordered the home made burger but very little chips and side salad with it. Ater we had finished our meal we were left sitting there until we finally got up and went to the bar to make payment. I decided to use the mens toilets and noticed that the door didnt fully shut and standing at the urinals you are in view of the bar. This I see has been mentioned by previous reviews but obviously nothing done about it.
When we were leaving we come across our waitress eating her lunch. She hadn't bothered to come back to us !!
Usually in theses circumstances we would just leave it as 'ah well we just wont go back' . But unfortunately my mother has been on the toilet numerous times since we have arrived home so I felt it deserved a mention. As my title states the most positive thing I could say about the place is the view.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rossnowlagh
0.5 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
579 reviews
2.1 mi away
Creevy Pier Hotel
Creevy Pier Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ballyshannon
252 reviews
5.0 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,098 reviews
8.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
855 reviews
11.1 mi away
Bay View Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Creek Inn

Property: Smugglers Creek Inn
Address: Cliff Road, Rossnowlagh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Rossnowlagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rossnowlagh
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smuggler's Creek Inn is an Award-Winning Restaurant & Bar with Accommodation. It is situated on a cliff edge with breathtaking panoramic views over Rossnowlagh beach and Donegal Bay. The interior is decorated with seafaring theme, natural stone walls, original timber floors and beams. It's a very popular destination for locals & tourists alike. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Smugglers Creek Hotel Rossnowlagh
Smugglers Creek Inn County Donegal, Ireland - Rossnowlagh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing