We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Smugglers Creek Inn
Nearby Hotels
Creevy Pier Hotel(Ballyshannon)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$126
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Abbey Hotel(Donegal Town)
$130
$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandhouse Hotel(Rossnowlagh)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dun Na Si Guesthouse(Ballyshannon)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (331)
Filter reviews
331 results
Traveler rating
168
82
38
23
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
168
82
38
23
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscampirossnowlagh beachoystersbooked a tablegreat tabledonegal baychowderstunning viewsmain coursewindow seattroutfew drinkslovely mealfirst classate herebar menufantastic food
Filter
Updating list...
275 - 280 of 331 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Although the restaurant was busy, we only had to wait 10 minutes for a table which gave us time to get a drink at the bar.
The Staff were really welcoming and knowledgeable of the menu, the food was delicious and the views were fantastic.
Prices were very reasonable and it was a great dining experience for us all, wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

The general athmosphere of the Smugglers is extremely relaxing. The staff are absolutely lovely and extremely helpful. The meal I had was a bit rich for my taste, however it serves the best chouder I have ever had. The views are spectacular. The decor of my room was a bit outdated, however it was clean and comfortable. The breakfast the following morning was great. All in all a fantastic place to stay, though alcohol is quite expensive! but it has an amazing selection of wines.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leitrim007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Having booked the 'sea view' room (Room 6) well in advance for a special weekend, we were miffed to find on arrival that the room had already been allocated to someone else. Several excuses later, of having tried to contact us the previous day ( why they wanted to contact us I dont understand ) the staff , not manangement, promised to look after us immensely to compensate for their mistake. Promises of free drinks and desserts though did not materialise. The room we were given, 2, had recently been disallowed from a cat swinging contest for not being big enough! The constant noise of running water and the relentless noise from the adjacant tank filling up produced a very restless nights sleep. Service at dinner was sufficent but an order for a rare steak came medium to well done. Mark, the owner, we had been told would be looking after us but did not acknowledge the fact that we had lost our promised room and made no effort to make up for it. In fact, when we made him aware of the restless night due to the tank and running water next morning he merely shrugged his shoulders and made no apology. Set in a stunning location Smugglers Creek did not live up to our expectations. A lit fire and some music would have changed the atmosphere and general ambiance. We left very disappointed with the whole experience. More Smugglers Crap than Creek for us!.

Room Tip: Afternoon drink/lunch for the view. Dont stay here
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jordanIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Recently stayed for one night as a last minute booking. The experience was truly amazing, stafff couldnt do enough for us, food excellent. atmosphere fabulous, room cosy and bed extremely comfy. Was only sorry hadnt had another night or two but intend to be back as soon as possible. Views from the hotel are amazing and a walk on the beautiful strand is worth it. Thanks to Emily and the team we had a wonderful night that made us feel like we had been away from the treadmill for longer.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia209938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

We arrived on a whim a couple of Fridays ago, had lunch, and - having really enjoyed our meal and after admiring the wonderful views - we decided to stay on a whim. The friendly barman/receptionist showed us up to Room Six, and let us settle in before taking any details. He noted that the room was one of their best; it has the same stunning views that the bar and restaurant has. It was very homely too; it didn't feel overdone like many hotel rooms do, but more like the type of room you would have in your own house. It was a roomy yet cosy, and had all the usual amenities such as a hairdryer, tea/coffee making facilities and, of course, an en suite (which was of a good size too).

We took a walk from the Smuggler's Creek down the beach and into the town, such as it is, of Rossnowlagh. The sunset was amazing, but note that apart from the Creek, nowhere seems to be open at this time of year, so the village itself is eerily quiet. Finding nowhere else to eat, we headed back to the Creek for dinner.

We hadn't booked, but were still able to get a table without any significant difficulties. I had the steak which was lovely, but my partner had the pasta which was *out of this world*. I regretted not having it as soon as I saw it! The little bit I nicked off him was excellent, and he himself could not praise it highly enough.

We had deserts with both meals too, which is abnormal for us. This is testament to the allure of the dishes as described on the menu. They certainly lived up to their expectations too; absolutely first class.

The waiting service was friendly and attentive without being at any point intrusive.

We spent the rest of the evening quietly sipping Guinness in the cosy, full-of-character bar. Again, the barman was extremely friendly and was kind enough to bring the drinks over to us on most occasions. He was also 'flexible' about closing time ;)

Both of us slept really well, and had a lovely cooked breakfast the next morning. One thing that really impressed me was that the breakfast is late - c. 11am - so you can lie in properly, rather than force yourself up before 10am like most hotels expect you to do. They're also not that fussy about checking out either; the guideline is about 1pm, but this is not a hard and fast rule.

There were a couple of locked wi-fi networks, but we weren't sure if they belonged to the inn or not as they were not named to suggest so. We chickened out of asking them if they had access! I suppose my only (I hope constructively) critical suggestion would be to install wi-fi for the guests or, if they have already done so, to make it more obvious that it's there. But it's a minor point of contention when weighed against all the good points.

In conclusion: both the food and the accommodation is *a little* on the steep side in terms of cost, but to be honest the warm welcome and fun that we found here more than makes up for that. Its location is superb too, and would make a beautiful place to watch the sun go down during the summer. On that note, if you are planning to go at a busy time, I would guess that the inn is likely to require pre-booking, as would a table for dinner; we were only able to waltz in because of the time of year. Whatever the case, this is a top place, both for staying in and for eating and drinking in, and I am very happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karennza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews