We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Small, but perfectly formed”
other travelers have booked this property
Cliff top garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cliff top garden
A view of Donegal Bay Surf's up!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Cliff top garden
A view of Donegal Bay
Surf's up!
Kitchen
Seafaring
Sundowner hour
Bathroom
Misty morning
Living area
Reflection
Come on in
Bedroom
Lazy time
Air Sea Rescue exercise over Rossnowlagh Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Rossnowlagh, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Sandra L
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Small, but perfectly formed”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

We had a wonderful short break in this little lodge, with the most beautiful views from the front door and the private garden. The sound of the waves lapping is so restful and you feel as though you are miles from anywhere, though ten minutes takes you into the nearest town (and there are a couple of shops and hotel restaurants nearby). A beautiful beach is a 5 minute car trip away.
Though the (very clean) lodge is small, it has everything you need, including fluffy towels, lovely bedding on comfy beds and toiletries (also a tv if you want, but you probably won't).
Mary and Pat are very friendly and helpful and had even left us a food starter-kit, which was very thoughtful. I do hope we can return next year. Thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2018
Thank you Sandra for that wonderful review. I look forward to seeing you next year if your holiday plan takes you this way again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

Stayed in The Sunset Lodge for 2 nights. Beautiful place to stay, very clean and tidy. The scenery and beach were amazing and the owner Mary was wonderful. Perfect ending to the evening was sitting in the private garden looking over the cliffs to the beach with a nice glass of red wine. Would definitely recommend this place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2018
Thank you, Amy, for your kind review. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope you will visit again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerryDais...
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden treasure”
Reviewed May 29, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Just returned from a perfect couple of days in sunset lodge. Mary and Patsy couldn’t be more accommodating and the secret garden was the icing on the cake. We couldn’t recommend highly enough it’s just perfect. Only disappointment was having to leave the place! We will definitely be returning (photos all taken from secret garden) x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2018
Thank you, Mandy, for your lovely review and thank you for the fabulous photographs.
I am glad you enjoyed your visit. It was a pleasure to meet you and your family. We looking to having you visit again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Brilliant”
Reviewed May 25, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Location is breathtaking. The lodge spotlessly clean. Comfy beds. Mary the owner very kind and gave us lots of info about the place and surroundings. Will definitely recommend this little gem to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2018
Thank you for your kind review. I am glad you enjoyed your visit to us and would love to have you visit again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara R
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunset Lodge”
Reviewed February 15, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Lovely stay at Sunset Lodge - well equipped and very cosy ! Decent value for money. Owners very friendly and Mary was kind enough to check we had settled in Ok . Views spectacular would definitely visit again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 18, 2018
Thank you Sara for your kind review. We loved having you to visit and look forward to meeting you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie L
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely”
Reviewed February 7, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

This is a little gem for one/two people and has a perfect view. It has everything you need (except a washing machine). Thd beach is a 2 minute walk. Smugglers Creek restaurant/bar serves beautiful food and is just next door. The only down side is the shower needs updated but I would definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2018
Thank you for your review, Rosie. It was lovely to meet you and Peter. I see you noted that the shower cubicle is due a visit by the shower doctor who is, in fact, due to visit on his next round of this area.
Thank you for leaving the lodge so very neat and tidy. I look forward to meeting you again if you decide to pay another visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2017
Russ and Roberta, you were the perfect guests for a weekend on the clifftop during a hurricane. We were so impressed at your undaunted enjoyment of the weather. It was lovely to meet such an intrepid couple. We look forward to seeing you when you visit again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing