We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living on its reputation”
Review of Smuggler's Creek

Smuggler's Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Smuggler's Creek Inn is an Award-Winning Restaurant & Bar with Accommodation. It is situated on a cliff edge with breathtaking panoramic views over Rossnowlagh beach and Donegal Bay. The interior is decorated with seafaring theme, natural stone walls, original timber floors and beams. It's a very popular destination for locals & tourists alike.
Downpatrick
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Living on its reputation”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We had a good meal in Smugglers Creak but not the wow outstanding meals we've had in the past. I thought the Chowder soup really lacked flavour and my husband thought his crab starter bland. The staff are really lovely couldn't be more helpful and agreed to create an off menu combination of lobster and sea food for my husband. Parts of it were really outstanding the scallops for example, but the lobster was overlooked. My main course was nice ruffie, beautiful fish but overall the meal lacked flavour.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    83
    38
    29
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“superb smugglers.”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Have not been there for 6 years. Pleasantly surprised. We had a superb meal and gorgeous deserts. Service and staff were lovely. The place had a great atmosphere and we definitelyhad a lovely memorable night

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JANET G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Lovely meal on Sunday”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

After spending a weekend in Stranorlar we called her and had a walk on the beach and headed up the hill to Smugglers Creek for a bite to eat. I had roast beef and my husband had turkey and ham. Both were tasty and well cooked, the portions were big and the friendly waitress gave us leftovers home for dog. Will be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank butterfly1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Had lunch recently and was very disappointed. Service was so desultory even though there were only about a dozen people for lunch. The food was very ordinary, thin, tired mussels, in a unpleasant tasting sauce; cod in a cheap oily batter, poor effort at mushy peas, undercooked chips. Limited selection of deserts. Undrinkable coffee and revolting cappuccino. I hope they close soon for the winter and reopen next year with a new chef, staff and ideally owner. To be so hopeless in the most beautiful scenic spot is a disgrace.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nollaigbeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not what's written on the tin !”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We visited smugglers creek restaurant on our first visit to Donegal. It got great write up and had Georgina Campbells plaque on the door - what a disappointment! I asked the waiter if the scampi listed on the menu were real prawns and he assured me that all the fish on the menu was absolutely fresh delivered daily. The prawns were frozen prawns and I ordered lobster salad which consisted of a very tired looking half lobster served with "crayfish" tails which had been in brine and prob purchased in Lidl as that is where I last saw similar ones.
This Restaurant has one of the best settings in Ireland and they serve up this 3rd rate food, what a pity. Must note that we had the most amazing trip to Donegal, the people are without a doubt the nicest friendliest people you could meet and they have some of the most breath-taking scenery in Ireland - go and visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Tillytomcork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smuggler's Creek also viewed

Bundoran, County Donegal
 
Ballyshannon, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 

Been to Smuggler's Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing