We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice view”
Review of Sandhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rossnowlagh
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice view”
Reviewed June 11, 2010

Stayed at the end of May and overall it was quite enjoyable. Check-in was quick and efficient with the receptionist showing us our room. We left our trip itinerary and travel-on bags in the room and went down to get our bags. When we took the lift back up to our room, all hall lights were turned off and we had to guess our way back to our room and when we entered our stuff was gone. We ran down to reception to find an undisturbed staff member with our stuff. Anyways, had a wonderful trip through Donegal town and to the Slieve League mountains and Glencomcille folk village. Came back to learn the surfer bar wasn't open and there is no real village to the town. Just a family businnes of the hotel and some kind of store across the street.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hapcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    107
    48
    21
    11
See reviews for
152
269
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Co.Down, N.Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2010

This hotel is ideally situated overlooking the magnificient beach at Rossnowlagh.We arrived on a gloriously sunny afternoon & were immediately escorted to our De-Luxe Room, with Sea-vews, on the third floor. A pleasant enough room, with basic bathroom facilities - without the view, the room would be very basic, although clean!
An excellent dinner was served in a temporary dining-room, overlooking the beach - stunning views, but the poor waitresses had to bring the food from downstairs. A good basic breakfast was also served here.
Overall we had a great week-end, but we were very lucky with the weather. The hotel staff are all very pleasant & helpful, but , this hotel could do with an up-date, as the interior,although clean, is a bit tired & dated.
The hotel also boasts a Marine Spa, but , on this occassion, I was unable to try same.
I would go back to this hotel, but it definitely needs a lot of TLC!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buddy088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2010

This was our second stay here, and again we culd not fault it. The meals, rooms and public area are excellent. it is right by the beach.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2009

We arrived in the Sandhouse after a day of surfing at the local beach. It was the last night of the season for the hotel, but they welcomed us even though we had not made reservations, and the service was excellent throughout our stay.

After a few hours in the ocean, we wanted to warm up, so the big jacuzzi in the Marine Spa was the first stop.

Dinner was superb - it began with warm fresh bread rolls, and the rack of lamb was perfectly cooked and paired with a lovely Chilean cabernet sauvignon. We had drinks afterwards in the lounge, and then headed up for a great sleep.

Everything about the room was just right. The beds were big and comfortable, the shower was nice and hot, the room was immaculately clean and we had a panoramic view of the coastline from our window.

In the morning, our full breakfast was delivered to the room, and we were so comfortable we ended up lingering past checkout time. In spite of this, the staff never made us feel like we needed to leave. We were treated very well and all staff members were courteous and friendly.

An excellent hotel where service is alive and well.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surf_ireland31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulDiver, Manager at Sandhouse Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2009
Thank you for your kind comments. Hope to see you again next year.


Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

If the weather is good this could be one of the best hotels in Donegal. In saying that if the weather was good Donegal would be ruined by too many tourists like Kerry!

The Sandhouse is right on the beach so try and get a room with a beach view. Our room was large and comfortable. Found the staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast is also to be recommended.

Only downside is it is very quiet at night. Not such a problem if you are there for romance but it is nice to have some atmosphere in the bar.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Windding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

We stayed here recently and had been really looking forward to our break away. The hotel is situated on a magnificant beach with fantastic views. Luckily we were given a very large room with a great sea view. I would agree with the previous poster in relation to the price, this hotel relies too heavily on the setting and not the other aspects of the hotel. It is extremely outdated in decor and services. The fact that when you drive so far to get there and there isn't much else around means you're not going to change your mind anyway. For a "4 star hotel", they have a tv which dates back to the 1980's with 2 just about visible channels. No minibar, no information in the room regarding room service, dinner in the restaurant. In fact, we were never asked if we would like to dine there for dinner and we saw no menu up to check for ourselves. (We went to Smugglers creek and had a lovely meal.) The bathroom was funtional and clean but not really 4 star modern. The hairdryer was not even worth talking about. Breakfast is served for a limited time and check-out is at 11am. The staff are very pleasant and breakfast was delicious and thankfully included in the price. Our stay was for a weekend during August, we arrived quite late on Friday but expected there to be some life about since there was a surfing competion on the beach the next day - nope, a couple of people in the surfers bar and that was it. We didn't try again the following night. For the view I would love to come back, but for the price no way. Seriously, so much more could be done to make this hotel a true four star experience.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gastronomoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 511 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

A very impressive building set on an equally impressive site right by the ocean. At check in, receptionist advised we were being allocated a superior room and, no, she did not need an imprint of our credit card as the hotel trusted their guests. Thus far, happy days. The superior room offered a lovely sea view but was distinctly old fashioned. The wall paper was marked, the area above the radiator was water stained, the underside of the bed cover was heavily water or damp stained as was the well worn mattress and bed base. There was a sizeable damp patch at the corner of the window. The ancient Ferguson TV would have enjoyed pride of place in any museum. It had 7 channels, three of which were blurred. The room was clean apart from a large cob web running from the wall to the bottom of the wardrobe - perhaps this room is infrequently used?
Bathroom looked as if it had been modernised. It was fresh and clean. The non adjustable shower head however, dispensed water in all directions which meant that the bathroom floor got soaked as the shower curtain only came half way round the bath.
For the price paid, I have to say that the standard of bedroom accommodation was lamentable. Perhaps we were unfortunate with our room allocation but one can only comment on the accommodation experienced. Even the very friendly staff would not entice me to revisit this once great giant.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank redhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulDiver, Manager at Sandhouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2009
Hi,

Sorry to read that you did not enjoy your recent stay. We do trust our guests and therefore do not ask for a credit card on arrival. Yes the Sandhouse is a very old building, originally a fishing lodge in the 1930's. We have however spent a lot of money refurbishing the hotel over the years and every winter embark on a capital expenditure programme. The rooms you were allocated is the oldest room in the hotel and unfortunately had not been used for quite some time. We have inspected the room following your comments and it has now been included in our 2009 upgrade plans.
I do hope you will return to sample the result.

Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rossnowlagh
10.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
11.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,008 reviews
8.2 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Bay View Hotel & Leisure Centre
8.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
2.5 mi away
Creevy Pier Hotel
Creevy Pier Hotel
#1 of 4 in Ballyshannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandhouse Hotel

Property: Sandhouse Hotel
Address: Rossnowlagh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Rossnowlagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rossnowlagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star manor house hotel is located on the edge of the Atlantic Ocean overlooking Donegal Bay and Rossnowlagh Beach. Award winning cuisine, fine wine and local staff mix to give a truly relaxing experience. Marine spa with seaweed bath, Jacuzzi steam room and 8 treatments rooms is a must visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sandhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandhouse Hotel Rossnowlagh
Sandhouse Hotel County Donegal, Ireland - Rossnowlagh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing