We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The scene on the webcam is permanently stuck on same picture day or night”
Review of Sandhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rossnowlagh
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The scene on the webcam is permanently stuck on same picture day or night”
Reviewed August 10, 2009

This hotel is unfortunately very much stuck in the past and needs considerable undating + rearranging.Its best feature is mostly hidden you eat looking at the car park rather than the wonderfull atlantic view you should see !!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weeksaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulDiver, Manager at Sandhouse Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2009
Thank you for your comments on the Sandhouse.
I don't know when you stayed with us but in early June we took onboard tripadvisor comments and moved our Restaurant upstairs overlooking Rossnowlagh beach.
The web cam is updated every 15 minutes and if not I hear about it as surfers from all over the Northwest use it to check the waves for surfing.
Thank you !
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    113
    48
    21
    12
See reviews for
158
278
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cullen, Cork,Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2009

Came across this 4* hotel by chance.what a real gem .Our room had a four poster bed and a chez lounge.all the room contained antique furniture with a fantastic ocean view.
The has antique furniture throughout and has beautiful areas where you can sit and view the ocean or read.
Other hotels would do well to base their standard of excellence on this well run hotel.
My wife and I can't praise this hotel enough
We most certainly will be back.
Many thanks and well done to all concerned

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uttygut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Just returned from a break with my parents and cannot say how good this hotel is. Elegant is a word that describes it best. The staff are great and every need is dealt with. Compared to next hotel we stayed at this should be 5 star and not the same rating. Will definitely come back

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surreyellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulDiver, Manager at Sandhouse Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write these nice comments. Hope to see you again soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2009

Stayed for 3 nights in Sandhouse hotel on rossnowlagh beach outside ballyshannon. As mentioned in title ,food was excellant. Breakfast & dinner were both supreme with a change in menu for dinner each night. Service very good,timing between courses & the view form the conservatory at the back of the hotel where the meals are located at the moment was fab. Those 3 days/nights catchin up for myself & my wife outside our busy little life's were great and I would have struggled to pick a better place. Rooms where very long,clean(most face the rear therefore overlooking the beach),staff friendly and the beach it is over looking ,called Rossnowlagh is so clean ,perfect for short or long walks. Real old style in the nicest sense,with little lounges/tea rooms located on each floor. Would I go back , yes.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2009

I stayed at the Sandhouse Hotel recently and I really enjoyed it. The staff were so friendly and accommodating. When we arrived we were shown to our room. The room was very spacious, nicely decorated and, most importantly, it had a wonderful view of the long beach. The hotel itself if a lovely building - the inside is full of little winding corridors and small snugs- very romantic! - I loved walking around reading about the hotel's history on the articles on the walls.The menu for dinner was extensive and delicious. We enjoyed a walk on the beach and up along the cliff behind the hotel. I recommend the sandhouse warmly!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenkins2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulDiver, Manager at Sandhouse Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2009
Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2009

Rooms nice and modern although bathrooms small and no room to place toothbrush etc. View from rooms excellent, Shame that the restaurant is on the wrong side of the hotel facing the car park and not the beautiful seaview. Food strictly average and the waiting staff seemed bored and started preparing the tables for breakfast at 08.00pm when we were eating dinner although we were the only guests in the restaurant. The butter portions which were on the table for dinner were still there the next morning for breakfast. Not exactly hygenic!
This hotel is trying hard to be good and the basics are there but it needs some good managment for it to survive, Stayed the next night at Everglades Hotel in Derry. Half the price but twice as good.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melita1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulDiver, Manager at Sandhouse Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2009
Sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay at the Sandhouse. Thank you for your comments that will be considered carefully. Would like to assure you that the butter was not on the table overnight. The butter that is taken back from the table goes in the bin. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2008

My Father came from Donegal so I wanted to stay somewhere where I could visit his birthplace,I found this hotel via GOIRELAND.COM.
We like to treat ourselves for short breaks so we booked a sea front room with a four poster.
It was pretty much impossible to fault the hotel,we were treated to a tour of the hotel before settling in our room which was spotless,well equipped & had a stunning view,we spent our evenings watching the sun go down as people surfed in the sea outside,beautiful.
We arrived early but our room was ready,we then enjoyed probably the best bowl of soup we had ever had in the bar,it was also impossible to fault the food,everything was superb,as was the drink,the pub next door being very popular & had a great atmosphere,there is a big beach scene there,besides the surfing you can take your car on the beach which made for some great photos.
OK now the bad bit,this hotel is pretty remote & rather expensive,this applies to the food also,as lovely as it was we got the impression that you were being made to pay because you were basically in the middle of nowhere with no other options within walking distance,something that puts us off returning somewhat.
If you want to treat yourself,have a relaxing time give it a go,it is a lovely hotel & the staff were wonderful.

  • Liked — LOCATION
  • Disliked — COST
  • Stayed March 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a1snaefell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulDiver, Manager at Sandhouse Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2009
Thank you for your kind comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rossnowlagh
10.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
11.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,099 reviews
8.2 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
1,018 reviews
2.5 mi away
Creevy Pier Hotel
Creevy Pier Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ballyshannon
252 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandhouse Hotel

Property: Sandhouse Hotel
Address: Rossnowlagh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Rossnowlagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rossnowlagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star manor house hotel is located on the edge of the Atlantic Ocean overlooking Donegal Bay and Rossnowlagh Beach. Award winning cuisine, fine wine and local staff mix to give a truly relaxing experience. Marine spa with seaweed bath, Jacuzzi steam room and 8 treatments rooms is a must visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandhouse Hotel Rossnowlagh
Sandhouse Hotel County Donegal, Ireland - Rossnowlagh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing