We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly amazing..... Top marks for this hotel”
Review of Sandhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rossnowlagh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

On a recent stay with two friends, we experienced some of the most amazing service we have ever received! Everyone was so helpful and friendly towards us. At the end of our trip, we felt like we were leaving" home"... Food was fabulous, staff couldn't have been nicer and the owner himself was constantly there meeting and greeting his guests! We will be back so watch out Donegal....

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrishSpaLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (604)
There are newer reviews for Sandhouse Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 604 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is an owner operated hotel on the beach at Rossnowlagh.
the hally ways, lobbies and lounge areas are furnished with charming period furniture , while the bedrooms are more updtated and comfortable.
tThe small breakfast/dining room overlooks the beach and there is a larger dining room attached to the lobby.
A lovley spot for a getaway weekend, surfbaord rental available from surf shop next door and there are miiles and miles of beach to walk on.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We very recently stay here and we just cant find the words to describe how great our stay was. The room may not have been as modern as some of the hotel we stayed in, but it was clean, clean, clean, comfortable and quiet. Our room had a great view of the sea and the beautiful sandy beach. That night we went to The Surfers Bar, which is attached to the hotel. There we found a great nights entertainment. The staff were so friendly and so were all the customers. There was a lovely young lad singing, he was a brilliant singer and guitar player and chatted to the customers after…so friendly. (To our amazement the same lad was serving drinks next day in the same bar) We thought this must be a private party, we made enquiries and found out it was just a normal nights (craic, as we were told) fun in the Surfers Bar.
All the staff in the hotel were so friendly, and they were more than helpful.
I have left mentioning the food to last because words cant describe how good it was, it was magnificent; the dinner and breakfast menus were delightful, so much to choose from.
The owner (or the person who hires) has chosen the staff and chefs well!
We will defiantly be back and for a longer stay next time.
Thanks to all at the Sandhouse Hotel for a brilliant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bobmay g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Looks great, nice big double room, but cheap on the toiletries. No sleep, wedding / party on the night we stayed. So loud it was like it was in the next room. Stayed in plenty of hotels when functions where on. But never experienced any thing as bad as this. DO NOT STAY IN THIS HOTEL IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A QUIET GETAWAY IF THEY ARE HOSTING AS FUNCTION. Very disappointed. Definitely not what I was expecting.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SPQR1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I traveled with my sister-in-law and stayed one night. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. I found the decor to be quite pleasing and the room very clean! The restaurant had great views of the water and food was excellent. There were plenty of fresh fish to choose for dinner and breakfast quite tasty with a variety. The sea view room was a must- well worth the cost. We only wish we could have stayed a second night!!! Overall the Sandhouse is a must if you want to stay nearthe beach.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Kdesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed here recently. The hotel does not deserve a 4 star rating in my opinion. Very dated hotel interior. The room I got had evidence of animal hair on the carpet! Even more surprising was that the TV only had x4 channels. I thought I was back in the 80's - it was only short of an Ariel attached to the roof!
The key to the door was always getting stuck, and it is attached to a holder that is bigger in size than the first mobile phone! The bath was cracked in places and my bathroom had a kitchen door attached to it. There was dust everywhere in the room, and it brought on a fit of sneezing for me every time I entered the room!

On the plus side though - the waiting staff were excellent. They made my holiday, polite, informative and always had a smile. The food was also very good, some lovely fish on the menu. The menu did not change though and it was the same breakfast and dinner on display during my stay.

Location is very good. Right on the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 85Constructivecritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Spent two nights bed and breakfast last weekend,party of six plus one dog.What can I say,absolutely perfect.From rooms with superb sea views to staff in hotel all in all wonderful weekend.Food in restaurant magnificent both breakfast and dinner.Only one little downside,pillows not the softest I've ever slept on ,but only a minor thing.Beach at hotel superb and clean,clean clean.Will be going back in winter.Cant wait.Thanks to Sandhouse for very memorable weekend.

Room Tip: Request sea view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacksmumballymena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rossnowlagh
10.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
11.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,206 reviews
8.2 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Creevy Pier Hotel
Creevy Pier Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ballyshannon
263 reviews
5.4 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
1,015 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandhouse Hotel

Address: Rossnowlagh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Rossnowlagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rossnowlagh
Price Range: $157 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star manor house hotel is located on the edge of the Atlantic Ocean overlooking Donegal Bay and Rossnowlagh Beach. Award winning cuisine, fine wine and local staff mix to give a truly relaxing experience. Marine spa with seaweed bath, Jacuzzi steam room and 8 treatments rooms is a must visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandhouse Hotel Rossnowlagh
Sandhouse Hotel County Donegal, Ireland - Rossnowlagh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing