We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”
Review of Sandhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rossnowlagh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stayed here for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. We had a wonderful corner room on the top floor with fantastic panoramic views of the beach. Waking up to hear the waves lapping on the beach is great and the bed was super comfy! We ate in the restaurant both nights and the food is good, the dining experience is perhaps a little dated/expensive but the excellent service and sea view more than make up for it. The staff were excellent and some of the most friendly I have had the pleasure of dealing with. Breakfast is excellent with a very big selection to give you a great start to the day.

Overall I would thouraghly recommend staying here and I look forward to going back! Great work everybody at the Sandhouse Hotel!! :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank q4z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

492 - 498 of 617 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2012

Up in bundoran for a weekend and had planned to go out to the Sand House for luch with all the family. A fine hotel on arrival, but once inside it smelled mustly. But they had a nice fire lightning at reception. We found our way into a cold bar but found a warm spot, not very comfortable. We asked for a luch menu. NO Menus, the friendly waitress informed us we could only have SOUP + SANDWICHES. I felt that I was back in the 80is, Ok we were here for lunch so food we ordered. The soup was warm and bland, the sandwiches was the type your learnt to make in your school days, bread, butter, filling, toasted and cut in half.. If this hotel wants to do well, things have to be rattled in the kitchen..... Where is the chef, customers come back for more if they get food and get good food. A beautiful spot would have loved to book there for my next trip, but my lunch put me of that....On account the waitress was nice and friendly we stayed but was so so tempted to leave before the delights of the sandwich arrived. We should have left!!!

Room Tip: Check before you book have they come up to the 2012 standards we expect from hotels now. We work har...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BettyBoopClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed in the hotel over the weekend for a funeral and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Everything from the rooms to the food was excellent and well organized and the staff were very friendly and were a real comfort to us. The view of the sea was very calming and being able to have a quiet walk on the beach in the mornings was just lovely. We will definitely make another trip to stay in happier circumstances. Thank you everyone at the hotel for all your kindness.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spiraleyev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

This Hotel is located right on Rossnowlagh beach. There are panoramic views over the bay and down the wide stretch of beach with the mountains in the back group. We were so lucky in that the skies were blue for the time we were there and the beautiful deserted beaches around Killybegs and Ardara were shades Caribbean blues and greens and soft white sands and coral sands.
The rooms were nice and bathrooms fresh and clean. Comfortable beds and powerful shower, flat screen TV. The linen on the beds was of good quality but there have brown blankets on the beds that looked very outdated. There are only visible after you have slept in them but they really need to be updates.

The staff across all areas were really friendly and helpful. A credit to the hotel and the Donegal “no bother” attitude to life, nothing you could ask for would cause them any bother.

The Surfers bar had a young crowd in it the night we were there, and dancing and music. All very lively and friendly.

Great full service breakfast again overlooking the beach.

I would definitely revisit this hotel, good value and a treat at the same time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murray007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

My husband and i stayed at the Sandhouse hotel from friday 13th for two nights, and had dinner in the restaurant both nights. We had a very enjoyable weekend, as we were celebrating my husbands birthday, and everything we received at the Sandhouse from we arrived was exceptional, accomadation, food, staff and the manager taking the time to see if everything was to our satisfaction, which it certainly was. We wish them every success, and will be back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room with a seaveiw, you will not be dissappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SANDRA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a four night break at the Sandhouse Hotel. Everything was perfect. The place, the food, the room, the staff; all faultless.
Great served breakfasts cooked freshly for each guest, well done Caroline and all the waitresses.
The manager/owner Paul was always on hand when the staff were busy to ensure that everything was running smoothly. Well done to the chef to produce such a wonderful roast duckling for Saturday dinner when the kitchen must have been hectic. The Surf bar staff were friendly and efficient.
The room service was invisible and yet our room was always clean. I could find fault somewhere I suppose, but I would only be selfish so that I would not have to share this example of Irish hospitality at its best with so many others. Well done the Sandhouse and see you all soon again

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pgor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We spent Easter weekend at this Hotel, weather was not great but hotel is superb.
The location rigght on the beach is stunning, I enjoyed the surfing, and my wife enjoyed the spa.
The food in the dining room is excellent, the4 rooms and service were also excellent.
An Innkeepers Inn, white table cloths, service as it should bbe, we will return.

Room Tip: A seaview is a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew551498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rossnowlagh
10.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
11.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,364 reviews
8.2 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
802 reviews
5.4 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
1,049 reviews
10.9 mi away
Tara Hotel
Tara Hotel
#1 of 2 in Killybegs
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandhouse Hotel

Address: Rossnowlagh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Rossnowlagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rossnowlagh
Price Range: $156 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star manor house hotel is located on the edge of the Atlantic Ocean overlooking Donegal Bay and Rossnowlagh Beach. Award winning cuisine, fine wine and local staff mix to give a truly relaxing experience. Marine spa with seaweed bath, Jacuzzi steam room and 8 treatments rooms is a must visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sandhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandhouse Hotel Rossnowlagh
Sandhouse Hotel County Donegal, Ireland - Rossnowlagh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing