We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved everything about this hotel”
Review of Sandhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rossnowlagh
Certificate of Excellence
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
“We loved everything about this hotel”
Reviewed August 15, 2011

My partner and myself just spent 2 wonderful days at the Sandhouse Hotel. We had a very spacious room with a fantastic sea view, extremely friendly staff throughout the hotel, and the food was simply delicious. We had our little dog with us too! We will definiitely be back as this was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in.
B and B Mc Elroy

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bernadette m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    118
    50
    21
    12
See reviews for
163
281
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Hotel needs a serious make over. There is nothing charming about bad carpets, with even worse wallpaper. They have the ingredients for a beautiful hotel but I think new management is needed. Strange reproduction art in the lobby, while they have a beautiful mark o neil painting hidden away in a corner. Views at breakfast were Fab and the food was good. Come here for the views, surf and knock a bit of craic out of it. If your looking for luxury this is not the hotel for you.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dublinAine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulDiver35, General Manager at Sandhouse Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We will discuss your comments with Barry Britton our interior designer. I am glad you appreciated our Mark O Neills.

Kind regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The views of the Rossnowlagh beach were just spectacular as we approached down the hill and in the middle of this magnificent beach was the Sandhouse Hotel where we were staying. The hotel is well geared up to cater for everyone's needs, All the staff are most helpful and courteous, the food is very,very good.with the breakfast exceptional! all served fresh and with a superb choices.The hardest part of breakfast is choosing what to eat!
The only downside of our visit was that when we booked we were attracted by the fact the hotel had steam and jacuzzi advertised in the Spa and when we got there they were out of order and the part required wasn't due till the day after we departed.We got over this problem due to the weather being good and spent our time visiting loads of areas of interest and We had a really lovely time in Donegal and look forward to going back sometime soon.
The bedroom had spectacular views of the beach which we really enjoyed and the surfers were out having fun from early morning to late at night and it was wonderful to watch them having so much fun. The bedrooms could do with some modernising and freshing up, which we accept is not easy to do in these difficult times.
Overall we had a great holiday,good food, lovely staff,a beautiful area to switch off and enjoy at ones leisure.Well done to everyone!
Ailbhe,Dublin

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AilbheDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulDiver35, General Manager at Sandhouse Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Hi,
Firstly sincere apologies about the jacuzzi being out of order. The part did arrive the day you left but unfortunately it was the wrong part. I am glad you enjoyed your few days in Donegal. Thank you for your kind comments on our staff and food. Your comments on the bedrooms have also been taken onboard. Please don't wait another 40 years to return again.

Kind regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

A lovely seaside getaway if you're with your family or by yourself.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiDiRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

The hotel was recommended by several work colleagues who talked very highly of it and after staying there I can see why.
The hotels decor and the rooms are very old fashioned and quaint which is perfect for the area, I don't think an IKEA furnished hotel would be appropriate for the setting.
We paid an extra e10 to stay in a beach view room and it was well worth it, the views were incredible.
If your staying in Rossnowlagh then definitely try and stay here, I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sidford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulDiver35, General Manager at Sandhouse Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. WE hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, NI
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

I have been looking at this hotel for years and thinking about staying there but had been worried about it being a bit fusty and old fashioned, and perhaps having a lot of young kids around. I was right on both counts, but in neither case was it a bad thing.

Yes this hotel is old fashioned, full of nooks and crannies and with old style furnishings etc. Whilst this isn't exactly my aesthetic preference, it is sooo comfortable that it more than makes up for it. It also has old fashioned standards of service, the staff were really lovely. And yes there were plenty of children but they were so chilled out from having played on the beach all day that they were remarkably well behaved.

I did have a hiccup on arrival where the seaview room that I'd been promised when I phoned didn't materialise, but the receptionist managed to juggle things around to get us one. The view was absolutely amazing and lying in bed listening to the sea is a wonderful way to relax. We couldn't bear to close the curtains at all, with a view like that you just want to look at it all the time. We also really enjoyed the little terrace on the second floor with wonderful views out over the beach.

I really liked the range of choices for breakfast - I had smoked salmon one day, served on their home made wheaten bread, which was lovely. And fruit and yoghurt the second day with some porridge afterwards. Both very nice and served at the table which makes the experience something special rather than just a refuelling.

But of course the big plus is the proximity to the beach. Getting out for a walk first thing in the morning before any day trippers arrive, and walking on the beach at sunset were both magical experiences.

I couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough and am looking forward to getting back to it later in the year when it will be cosy with open fires. Just wish it opened for Christmas, I'd be there like a shot.

Oh just as a PS the internet access was really strange, some periods of time it didn't work at all, for others it was excellent and high speed. I have no idea why, but I would say don't depend on it! This is common enough in Ireland though in my experience so I wouldn't make an issue of it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belfastgirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

This was our second trip to the Sandhouse Hotel, which coincided with the Annual Orange Order parade in the seaside village of Rossnowlagh.

Given that we booked late and that the area was exceptionally busy with the parade, we felt that it offered reasonable value for money, approximately €65 p.p./night.

The hotel has a truly remarkable location, with stunning views of the massive beach and Donegal Bay so a sea-view room would be advisable. The interior is old-fashioned, however that is the nature of the hotel, it does not try to be modern, but is immaculately clean and not at all fusty.

We found the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly, particularly the reception staff who were very courteous to us all. One caveat would be that Rossnowlagh is not a lively part of Donegal, therefore we found the atmosphere in the two hotel bars to be much more relaxed than in other parts of the county. It very much suits those seeking a quiet stay/drink with friends and family. Being from Northern Ireland, we naturally grovel about the price of drinks in the Republic, although in truth the Sandhouse was not much dearer than most hotels and had a nice range of premium world lagers. Rossnowlagh is not the place to come for quaint, traditional music bars.

If you do happen to come on the day of the Orange parade (normally Saturday before July 12), arrive early in the morning, otherwise you will be forced to park up on the outskirts and walk for ten minutes. We found the atmosphere on that day to be friendly, however I can understand some folk with certain political opinions being offended by the flags, emblems and music that is played. There was no inkling of violence or trouble at any stage.

The restaurant is of a very high standard at the Sandhouse. Guests are automatically booked in, although dining hours are limited: 6.30pm-8pm. The menu is very much in the style of 'haute cuisine' and we were all impressed by the standard and presentation of our dishes. The wine list is very extensive and varied in price, with €20/bottle being the standard price of one of the house wines. It should also be said that the restaurant has one of the best views in Donegal, particularly if you get a table in the conservatory end. Breakfast is equally tasty, typical Irish fry. There is also a fish breakfast menu, with kippers and salmon.

My elderly grandmother thoroughly enjoyed her stay also, especially as she was able to talk to some other retired guests in the lobby area, although in fairness, there is a wide age range of residents, from young families to older couples.

In conclusion, I would definitely recommend the Sandhouse, we struggled to find any major faults on both occasions that we stayed there. For me, the warmth of the staff and the quality of the food stood out. I appreciate a traditional Irish hotel that hasn't lost its character - it may not be ultra-modern by any distance, but is very well maintained and has infinitely more soul than many of the recently built hotels in Ireland. For a quiet break at the seaside, give this place a go.

Room Tip: Give reception a call and ask about sea-view room, definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denzell393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rossnowlagh
10.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
11.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,145 reviews
8.2 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
1,036 reviews
2.5 mi away
Creevy Pier Hotel
Creevy Pier Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ballyshannon
258 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandhouse Hotel

Property: Sandhouse Hotel
Address: Rossnowlagh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Rossnowlagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rossnowlagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star manor house hotel is located on the edge of the Atlantic Ocean overlooking Donegal Bay and Rossnowlagh Beach. Award winning cuisine, fine wine and local staff mix to give a truly relaxing experience. Marine spa with seaweed bath, Jacuzzi steam room and 8 treatments rooms is a must visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Sandhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandhouse Hotel Rossnowlagh
Sandhouse Hotel County Donegal, Ireland - Rossnowlagh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing