We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gaslight Restaurant and B&B

The Gaslight Restaurant and B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $49
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Gaslight Restaurant and B&B sit's on the cliff face overlooking Donegal Bay, The Blue Stack Mountains and the blue flag beach of Rossnowlagh.At The Gaslight we offer superb food and hospitality in true Irish tradition.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Went here on Easter Monday - was busy and we thought we wouldn't be able to get a table but owner advised if we didn't mind only having a main then we could have a table as they had a lot of reservations coming in at 8 - I had the best burger ever in my life and partner had great fillet steak - in all the ambience, level of service and view makes this a great place to have dinner and I am definitely going back again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tmgilly85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    44
    21
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wesport Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Gaslight Restaurant & B&B - Never again - give this a miss”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

I recently stayed in the Gaslight Restaurant & B&B and ate dinner and breakfast there. Although the setting is absolutely beautiful and our room was good (just lacking tea/coffee facilities and a hairdryer) again its all about the setting, so I can't critizise the room but I can't even begin to describe just how terrible the welcome was by the owners and the food! I was asked to physically show the credit card I had booked with (as if I was not going to pay or something!). Dinner was truly awful, 9 overcooked dried up mussels, greasy tasteless batter on the tasteless fish, overcooked salmon, tasteless bland cheesecake, all topped off by 2 big mugs of coffee that was so strong and bitter that it was undrinkable but still charged for and a large sugar pourer slapped down on the table!! All the food seemed to come out of the freezer and be cooked by the owners, not a chef in sight. Really unbelievable service, attitude and food. I am ashamed to say this kind of food and service is being served up to tourists when they come to stay here. I have learnt a valuable lesson and next time I am in Rossnowlagh I will stick with dining in the Smuggler's Creek next door which has a good reputation and has qualifed experienced chefs, something the Gaslight think they can do without. The Gaslight is only jumping on the tails of the Smuggler's Creek and hoping to get the overflow of visitors that the Smuggler's cannot accommodate. So give the Gaslight a miss if you are in the area, unless you like bad food, bad service but a fab location and scenery. Go next door to the Smuggler's Creek or down the hill across the beach to the Sandhouse Hotel.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Ross32WesportIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pizza with a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We seen online that this place had started making fresh stonebaked pizzas so we decided to go today. We ordered 2 pizzas. A margherita for the kids to share and spicy for my husband and I to share. The were fantastic. We really enjoyed them. My husband also had the mussels to start and really enjoyed them too. The view alone is enough to visit the Gaslight but we will be back again soon for more pizza!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tanya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clones, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Will give it another chance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

I decided to eat in The Gaslight after friends bragged about the excellent food, although i was quite disappointed. However this could be due to the fact we cam in very late and was close to closing time which i know doesn't help. The staff were more than helpful and understanding, i just felt the food wasn't up to the standard i was expecting- this could be due to our lateness. So i would definitely eat here again.I must say the location and views are fantastic. Will share my second experience again, to see if i enjoyed it any better!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Davidmcann_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armagh,ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Great food and hospitality"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Great place to eat with fantastic views over the bay,very helpful and attentive owners,excellent value for money,Will definitly come back again.I would have no problem recommending this restaurant .

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gerrymakem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gaslight Restaurant and B&B also viewed

Rossnowlagh, County Donegal
Rossnowlagh, County Donegal
 
Bundoran, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 
Ballyshannon, County Donegal
Ballyshannon, County Donegal
 

Been to The Gaslight Restaurant and B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing