We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding, first class!”
Review of The Bank Bistro

The Bank Bistro
Ranked #4 of 8 Restaurants in Dungloe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Very pleasant and unexpected surprise, in the top end of Donegal. Friendly and obliging staff; very good and tasty food with excellent presentation and very good value for money. HIghly recommend it.
Newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Outstanding, first class!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night trip to Donegal. We went to the Bank Bistro/Stepping Stones on the Friday night; it was so good we returned on the Saturday night. The restaurant is beautifully decorated; bright, modern, an excellent layout with private booth type seating. The service from the young girls that worked there over the two nights was just spot on; warm, friendly, efficient and helpful, couldn't do enough to ensure everything was well. The food in terms of presentation, quantity and quality was superb, ranging from seafood platter, lamb shank, boozy batter fish and chips, 10oz sirloin steaks and supreme chicken. All just spot on. A much needed excellent quality and reasonably priced restaurant for the area, can't recommend it enough, just hope locals and visistors support the venue.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank PatsyBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    12
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dungloe, Donegal, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Mother's Day treat”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I was taken to the bistro for a Mother's Day treat without cooking and I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed the food, the service and the setting. The staff are very friendly and attentive and there is no problem if you want more veggies etc. I would definitely recommend the bank bistro if you are ever in Dungloe.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“We had the Daniel Special”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were on the way to the Viking House Hotel on Thurs.21st.March and called in for a cup of coffee which was very good and all the better as Daniel came in with his three friends from golf and immediately bid us the time o' day and came over to speak to us as if he had known us all his life. The coffee and Daniel were so good we came that evening for our main meal. It was really very good and cooked to our liking, was well presented and very reasonable. The staff on both occasions that day were very friendly and attentive. This was very welcome after a long journey from York via Armagh City. Bill & Margaret

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just as good”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

A year down the line from my last visit, and from this wonderful place opened, and I can say still just as good. Cant wait to go again at Easter

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Atmosphere and food”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Visited during August and got a great reception from Gerry and all the staff, The food cand service were excellent and really enjoyed Gerrys unique brand of Irish hospitality. You really set the bar high this time, Will certainly be back, Good one Gerry, The Big Man.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank setanta23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bank Bistro also viewed

Dungloe, County Donegal
Dungloe, County Donegal
 
Dungloe, County Donegal
Burtonport, County Donegal
 
Dungloe, County Donegal
 

Been to The Bank Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing