We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal B&B ”
Review of Seawinds B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seawinds B&B
Ranked #1 of 8 Killybegs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Great spot center of town and close to everything pubs etc.
Lovely clean rooms.
Lovely breakfast and lovely view from the breakfast room. could not find any fault with the place spotless. Rooms were a nice size.
Owners were lovely and very helpful

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Maeve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaFaherty, Owner at Seawinds B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your excellent review of your stay with us at Seawinds B&B. We’re delighted you found our rooms spacious and clean and our breakfasts good. Our central location means our guests can park and walk to the restaurant and pubs in the town.
Best regards
Patricia & Gerard Faherty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 162 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2014

Spent a wonderful night at the home of Patricia and Gerry. Such lovely, hospitable people! The rooms are bright, fresh and clean. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. It is in an excellent location and is a great base for exploring the wider area. Make sure you book well in advance because it is understandably very popular!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaFaherty, Owner at Seawinds B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for the lovely review and that we exceeded your expectations! We appreciate your feedback very much and that we are a good base for touring the area. It was a pleasure to meet your lovely family.
Best wishes
Patricia & Gerard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed here in after the first leg of our cycling trip along the Wild Atlantic Way. Gerry and Patricia were great hosts providing me with interesting local information.
The harbour view room was spacious and bright with easy chairs, important when wearing dirty or wet cycling or walking gear. The bed was comfortable and the room warm.

Patricia catered well for vegetarians with a breakfast of porridge, fresh fruit, homemade wheaten bread, eggs, mushrooms and beans. Copious amounts of tea served in a pot which poured perfectly. (I have a thing about teapots that dribble all over the place). I would have loved potato bread or a soda farl, though throughout my 10 day stay in Donegal, nobody served it.

Seawinds can provide a packed lunch and will fill your water bottles with water from their well. We enjoyed this on Sliabh Liag. Again an ideal offering for the hiker or touring cyclist.

They will dry your wet gear and although they didn't have a shed back in April, they are installing one this season so gear can be locked away.

It was great to have a desk to write up my journal.

Room Tip: Let the hosts know in advance if you have special requirements. Harbour view is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meraid G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaFaherty, Owner at Seawinds B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your lovely review and that the bedroom was comfortable and warm and you enjoyed the vegetarian breakfast. The packed lunches are popular with guests touring the area, they can choose fresh wraps of chicken, tuna, or vegetarian and fresh fruit and this can be enjoyed along the route or on top of the cliffs!
We provide a complementary map of the area with all the local attractions to our guests to make their tour more enjoyable.
We will be getting our shed for storage this season, but we provide drying facilities for hiking or angling gear at present and we have plenty of space for bikes in our private parking area.
We hope you will visit us again.
Best regards,

Patricia & Gerard Faherty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

What a wonderful stay! Patricia and Gerald were fantastic, friendly hosts! The location was great - right opposite the pier and boats of Killybegs. Delicious home cooked breakfast in the morning. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Location to be fair is smack bang in the middle of the town. Anybody with a walking disability, forget it as there are no elevators and trying to push a wheelchair up that hill! From the moment you arrive you have a steep hill to get up just to knock on the door! The rooms were cosy but could not figure out why there was an awful smell of Damp! The windows were covered in condensation in the morning, WHY? Breakfast was average, cereal, juice, not a full Irish but ok served with fresh toast, tea or coffee. Look at your valance sheets! What year were they last changed. They are filthy. Blankets seriously? A throwover fine. But Blankets? Nice hosts, i would stay again, but travelled this part of the world so probably not going to be back. Photos to follow!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodcritic20110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaFaherty, Owner at Seawinds B&B, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Seawinds B&B and for taking the time to share your valuable feedback.
I am genuinely disappointed to hear that you encountered a number of issues during your stay and I would like to apologise for the inconvenience and disappointment that you experienced.
Because of our prime location in the town centre, we are located on a slight slope, overlooking the harbour and boats of Killybegs. We are sorry that you found this inconvenient.
It is disappointing that you did not get to experience the “Seawinds Full-Irish Breakfast”, for which we are well known. I am a qualified chef and we regularly receive excellent feedback from guests on our home-cooked breakfasts. The full menu is offered to all of our guests, unless they opt for a continental breakfast, which includes a toasted bagel, yoghurt, tea and coffee.
Please be assured that these short-comings do not reflect our usual high standards. I will follow up with the issues raised immediately and ensure that they do not happen again.
I am happy that you said you would stay again; we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Best regards,
Patricia and Gerard Faherty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Food was great! Host were gracious and fun to visit with.
Room was a bit cold, but tolerable - except for in the morning. Too cool when showering, but then the heat came on when we didn't really need it anymore. One of our beds was not comfortable - had a spring that pokes you in the side right above waist level. New mattress perhaps?
J & S

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaFaherty, Owner at Seawinds B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Guest,
We are glad your enjoyed your visit and the food. Please accept our apologies for the cold room in the morning, entirely our mistake, the heating is run at regular intervals however on this occasion we had edited the programme but forgot to switch it back to “Timed” afterwards until I realised late the next morning.

Thanks for letting us know about the mattress with the pokey spring and we’re truly sorry that it affected the comfort of your stay. Your feedback is invaluable and our guests comfort is paramount, since we don’t sleep in the beds ourselves we usually ask guests in the morning if they had a good night’s sleep. We do wish that you had let us know in person immediately so we could rectify this sooner for other guests but we appreciate the feedback and we have replaced this mattress now.
Best wishes,
Patricia & Gerard Faherty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Brilliant service and friendly staff.

It was a short stay but definitely would book again if I needed a b&b in killeybegs area.

It's a lovely area and I would highly recommend if you fancy a country weekend away.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Miriam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaFaherty, Owner at Seawinds B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback about your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.
Best regards,
Patricia & Gerard Faherty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killybegs
0.0 mi away
Tara Hotel
Tara Hotel
#1 of 2 in Killybegs
644 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bay View Hotel
Bay View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Killybegs
708 reviews
15.4 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant
16.1 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,238 reviews
13.0 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seawinds B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seawinds B&B

Address: Seawinds Main Street | Killybegs, Co. Donegal, Killybegs, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Killybegs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Killybegs
Price Range: $74 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seawinds Bed and Breakfast is located in the town centre of Killybegs, Ireland's largest fishing port. It is a family run B&B and situated opposite the piers and fishing boats, with panoramic views of the harbour. Walking distance to restaurants and entertainment. Private free parking. All guest-bedrooms are en-suite, spacious with TV, and tea & coffee facilities. Family sized rooms are available. An ideal place to stay while touring the highest sea cliffs in Europe, Slieve League/Bunglas, Glencolmcille, and the unspoiled scenery of south west coast of Donegal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Seawinds B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing