We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home..”
Review of Tara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Killybegs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Immediately you walk through the door you are made feel at home. The staff are wonderful and so friendly and helpful. Room had a great view over the harbour. Food was great and served with a smile. Overall enjoyed my stay and would return.

Room Tip: Harbour rooms have great view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraHotelKillybegs, General Manager at Tara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Dear Eileen L,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent visit. I am delighted to hear of your enjoyable stay with us & that our staff were welcoming and friendly. As a small, independent hotel we pride ourselves on personal attention to our guests and aim to make the Tara Hotel a home from home for all our visitors. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and I will pass your comments on to our team here.

Yours,

John Dee

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (644)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 644 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

the staff here are very nice and accommodating. But there isnt a lot they can do in certain conditions. Management obviously feel its ok to allow children to run riot in the hotel even in the eating area where the staff where passing up with trays of hot food and drinks as were customers during the carvery. Not to mention disturbing other customers. We left because of it and will go elsewhere in future when I'm visiting Killybegs. I'm looking forward to the other hotel reopening. maybe they will up their game with a bit of competition.
The wifi is no existant, I couldnt get a signal once. Awful. Wont stay here again or eat here either.

Room Tip: not impressed but there are great B&B's in the area I use now.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandraorourkeglynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraHotelKillybegs, General Manager at Tara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear sandraorourkeglynn,

Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to hear that your visit was not up to standard. As a policy we request that children are attended at all times; for the very reasons you have metioned it is dangerous with staff carrying trays and drinks. Obviously, on your visit, the floor supervisor was not pro-active in enforcing this policy and I apologise for this. This occurence is not a reflection of our usual standards.

I am surprised to hear your comments on our complimentary wi-fi. We have not noted any issues with signal over the past few weeks nor were any other commments made by guests in relation to this. However, security purposes we do have an access code which has to be entered to avail of this service.

I am glad that our staff were welcoming and friendly. We would relish the opportunity for us to make amends for your negative experience. If you are visting the area again in the future or wish to add further details on your visit please contact me directly at opsmanager@tarahotel.ie.
Yours Sincerely,

John Dee

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great meal, lots of craic, and spectacular fresh seafood. Friendly and attentive staff served us. Lots of energy with both locals, holiday makers, and since Killybegs is one of the largest fishing harbors in Ireland a fair amount of working folks, too. We actually were lodged across the street in Seaview B & B; a wonderful location with harbor views from our room.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraHotelKillybegs, General Manager at Tara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Tom Z,

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed dinner with us here in the Tara. As a major fishing port the freshest seafood is available here in Killybegs every day & our chefs utilize these amazing ingredients to produce some wonderful dishes. I am happy to hear our staff were welcoming and friendly and I will pass your comments on to the team.

We hope to welcome you to the Tara Hotel again in the future.

Yours Sincerely

John Dee

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Just stayed in the Tara Hotel over the Easter break from Friday -Sunday. This was our first visit to Killybegs. Our room had great views over the harbour. The staff were friendly and welcoming. Our room was clean. We had free wifi which was a plus so we were able to check out places to visit in the area. The hotel is located in a great position close to other bars and restaurants. Breakfast was good and there a good variety of things on offer.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front of the hotel.. if you like working harbours and like watching the world go b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nordiefolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraHotelKillybegs, General Manager at Tara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Nordiefolk,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to Killybegs. Many guests comment on our wonderful panoramic views and complimentary wifi. We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,

John Dee

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

very nice, rooms clean, great welcome, bar food very tasty, great view of fishing hatbour, free wifi which is a must. .. Any hotel charging for wifi should take note.All in all a great place.

..... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. ..

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leinsterdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

As a consistent visitor to the area for 27 years , if not camping further along at muckross head I'd be staying here.. Hotel is great, well worth the money and its a great spot right at the harbour... Never busy busy which is nice when wanting a relaxing weekend... Been many times and never a fault in my book, cheers..! See you again..

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manure85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Its the staff who made this hotel. Welcomed at reception beautifully and then as booking had not been sent through from Bookings.com, tehy added on Breakfast for free. Obviously did not have to do this but it made me feel so looked after, Things like this make me want to return, and we will. Room was great with balcony overlooking the harbour. Killibegs is worth a stop, we met with locals in a bearby pub and felt so welcome. Breakfast was lovely and service great. All in all definately worth the money, great staff (especially on reception, well done) and great room. I would definately reccomend. Make sure you go to Sleive cliffs (and dont worry about the drive to the top, its fine!!)

Room Tip: go for a room with a balcony (floor 2 I think)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yolande1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killybegs
0.0 mi away
Bay View Hotel
Bay View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Killybegs
708 reviews
15.4 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
13.0 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,241 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
611 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Hotel

Address: Main Street | Donegal, Killybegs, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Killybegs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Killybegs
Price Range: $73 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacularly set overlooking Killybegs Harbour and with views of the surrounding Donegal Hills, the Tara Hotel features 26 tastefully decorated bedrooms and 5 suites, most of which have harbour views. Complimentary wireless internet (Wi-Fi) is available throughout the hotel and all our rooms feature en-suite, 26" flatscreen T.V, tea/coffee making facilities, trouser press and safe as standard. The spacious Station 59 bar is ideal for relaxing with a coffee and a snack whilst enjoying the sea view. For something more substantial carvery lunch is served throughout the week and an extensive bar food menu is available every day until 9.30Pm. Turntable Restaurant offers a more contemporary, sophisticated setting to enjoy a meal; our team of chefs work closely with local and regional suppliers to bring you the best of produce, expertly prepared and presented. Our Leisure Club boasts state of the art fitness equipment & weights area. We look forward to welcoming you to the Tara Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Tara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Killybegs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing