We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner at Tara Hotel”
Review of Tara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Killybegs
Certificate of Excellence
Milford, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dinner at Tara Hotel”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great meal, lots of craic, and spectacular fresh seafood. Friendly and attentive staff served us. Lots of energy with both locals, holiday makers, and since Killybegs is one of the largest fishing harbors in Ireland a fair amount of working folks, too. We actually were lodged across the street in Seaview B & B; a wonderful location with harbor views from our room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraHotelKillybegs, General Manager at Tara Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Tom Z,

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed dinner with us here in the Tara. As a major fishing port the freshest seafood is available here in Killybegs every day & our chefs utilize these amazing ingredients to produce some wonderful dishes. I am happy to hear our staff were welcoming and friendly and I will pass your comments on to the team.

We hope to welcome you to the Tara Hotel again in the future.

Yours Sincerely

John Dee

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    210
    44
    15
    11
See reviews for
138
258
28
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Just stayed in the Tara Hotel over the Easter break from Friday -Sunday. This was our first visit to Killybegs. Our room had great views over the harbour. The staff were friendly and welcoming. Our room was clean. We had free wifi which was a plus so we were able to check out places to visit in the area. The hotel is located in a great position close to other bars and restaurants. Breakfast was good and there a good variety of things on offer.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front of the hotel.. if you like working harbours and like watching the world go b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nordiefolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraHotelKillybegs, General Manager at Tara Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Nordiefolk,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to Killybegs. Many guests comment on our wonderful panoramic views and complimentary wifi. We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,

John Dee

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

very nice, rooms clean, great welcome, bar food very tasty, great view of fishing hatbour, free wifi which is a must. .. Any hotel charging for wifi should take note.All in all a great place.

..... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. ..

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leinsterdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

As a consistent visitor to the area for 27 years , if not camping further along at muckross head I'd be staying here.. Hotel is great, well worth the money and its a great spot right at the harbour... Never busy busy which is nice when wanting a relaxing weekend... Been many times and never a fault in my book, cheers..! See you again..

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manure85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Its the staff who made this hotel. Welcomed at reception beautifully and then as booking had not been sent through from Bookings.com, tehy added on Breakfast for free. Obviously did not have to do this but it made me feel so looked after, Things like this make me want to return, and we will. Room was great with balcony overlooking the harbour. Killibegs is worth a stop, we met with locals in a bearby pub and felt so welcome. Breakfast was lovely and service great. All in all definately worth the money, great staff (especially on reception, well done) and great room. I would definately reccomend. Make sure you go to Sleive cliffs (and dont worry about the drive to the top, its fine!!)

Room Tip: go for a room with a balcony (floor 2 I think)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yolande1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed over Christmas, and I was really dissapointed. The rooms were cold, heating came on once in the evening and that was it! And it was winter! The windows didn't close properly with a constant draft, and it was just so basic, noting extra, no kettle in room for tea or coffee even. I tried to have a bath, but the water was luke warm. Curtains were grubby and stained, just unpleasent overall. Far over priced for what it is, I've stayed in nicer hostels.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olgatiernan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundoran, Donegal, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I spent a weekend at the hotel and it was excellent. Receptionist was very welcoming and helpful, rooms were clean and very roomy with comfortable bed and seating. food was excellent and good variety, bar was clean and efficient staff. All in all it was a very relaxing stay and will definately be going back there. Well done to the staff and thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidwhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killybegs
0.0 mi away
Bay View Hotel & Leisure Centre
15.4 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
13.0 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,148 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
590 reviews
8.7 mi away
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardara
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Hotel

Property: Tara Hotel
Address: Main Street | Donegal, Killybegs, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Killybegs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Killybegs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacularly set overlooking Killybegs Harbour and with views of the surrounding Donegal Hills, the Tara Hotel features 26 tastefully decorated bedrooms and 5 suites, most of which have harbour views. Complimentary wireless internet (Wi-Fi) is available throughout the hotel and all our rooms feature en-suite, 26" flatscreen T.V, tea/coffee making facilities, trouser press and safe as standard. The spacious Station 59 bar is ideal for relaxing with a coffee and a snack whilst enjoying the sea view. For something more substantial carvery lunch is served throughout the week and an extensive bar food menu is available every day until 9.30Pm. Turntable Restaurant offers a more contemporary, sophisticated setting to enjoy a meal; our team of chefs work closely with local and regional suppliers to bring you the best of produce, expertly prepared and presented. Our Leisure Club boasts state of the art fitness equipment & weights area. We look forward to welcoming you to the Tara Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Killybegs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing