We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good hotel”
Review of Tara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Killybegs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed over Christmas, and I was really dissapointed. The rooms were cold, heating came on once in the evening and that was it! And it was winter! The windows didn't close properly with a constant draft, and it was just so basic, noting extra, no kettle in room for tea or coffee even. I tried to have a bath, but the water was luke warm. Curtains were grubby and stained, just unpleasent overall. Far over priced for what it is, I've stayed in nicer hostels.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olgatiernan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (636)
There are newer reviews for Tara Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

522 - 528 of 636 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I spent a weekend at the hotel and it was excellent. Receptionist was very welcoming and helpful, rooms were clean and very roomy with comfortable bed and seating. food was excellent and good variety, bar was clean and efficient staff. All in all it was a very relaxing stay and will definately be going back there. Well done to the staff and thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidwhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night and enjoyed a few drinks in the bar. Had a Great Breakfast in the morning. good central location in the middle of Killybegs and also for touring the surrounding Donegal coastline..!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartyPTyrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Arrived late to the Tara Hotel to a smiling welcome from a very helpful receptionist. The Harbour Suite was amazingly roomy, clean, comfortable and surprisingly quiet given its proximity to the harbour. Bartender, quick, friendly and full of advice about places to see and things to do and an incredibly happy in her work waitress topped off the night as we tasted our way through a fantastic three course meal and yummy red refreshment.

Thanks to all staff at the Tara Hotel - you epitomize the theme of Irish Hospitality at its best.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the harbour side are generally more quiet but its also part of staying at a shipping...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imelda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

a bit of a pleasant surprise really,booked in for one night needing a bed,were well received,well fed and well lodged.so stayed for a couple of days using the place as a base for touring.right on a working fishing port,with great views.would readily return,and recommend.

Room Tip: pay the extra for a top floor suite with views over the port.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FranceVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

just home from a last minute decision over night in killybegs stayed at the Tara Hotel. Had a very pleasant stay!! Receptionists both polite and friendly requested and sea view room which we got no problem, the room was lovely and clean and the view over the working port was amazing. We had a small table and chairs and patio doors so pulled the curtains back and had a glass of wine whilst hubby got ready. all the fishing trawlers were docking and it kept me occupied very interesting! we then went down to their bar/restaurant got a lovely table again over looking the port we ordered to Irish coffees which were very well made staff very pleasant they had an amazing deal which was 50 Euros per couple for 4 course meal and a bottle of wine which we would most defiantly taken advantage of but we,d booked a meal in the harbour bar around the corner. Breakfast was a full Irish fry and very nice again sat by the window I would defiantly return to this hotel well worth the 90 Euro we paid !!!!

Room Tip: sea view is a must!!!!!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irish_coffee_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

While the harbourside location should be good for business at the Tara Hotel, the constant noise of the fishing vessels & processing works throughout the night means that sleep is interrupted if you are in a harbour room. The hotel, the staff, and the rooms are all lovely, so a stay is recommended - just ask for a streetside room when booking.
The bar and restaurant are excellent, and while working late in the area, we ate there three times. After we had already moved out of the area, we came all from Carrick, Glencolumcille, late one evening after working all day & the bar manager was most happy to faciliate us and kept the kitchen open to accommodate us. The food is great, and if you stay here, or are in the area, you must try the seafood - no better place than Killybegs!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orfhlaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killybegs
0.0 mi away
Bay View Hotel
Bay View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Killybegs
707 reviews
15.4 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
13.0 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,206 reviews
8.7 mi away
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardara
306 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Hotel

Address: Main Street | Donegal, Killybegs, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Killybegs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Killybegs
Price Range: $81 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacularly set overlooking Killybegs Harbour and with views of the surrounding Donegal Hills, the Tara Hotel features 26 tastefully decorated bedrooms and 5 suites, most of which have harbour views. Complimentary wireless internet (Wi-Fi) is available throughout the hotel and all our rooms feature en-suite, 26" flatscreen T.V, tea/coffee making facilities, trouser press and safe as standard. The spacious Station 59 bar is ideal for relaxing with a coffee and a snack whilst enjoying the sea view. For something more substantial carvery lunch is served throughout the week and an extensive bar food menu is available every day until 9.30Pm. Turntable Restaurant offers a more contemporary, sophisticated setting to enjoy a meal; our team of chefs work closely with local and regional suppliers to bring you the best of produce, expertly prepared and presented. Our Leisure Club boasts state of the art fitness equipment & weights area. We look forward to welcoming you to the Tara Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Tara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Killybegs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing