We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tara Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Seawinds B&B(Killybegs)
$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay View Hotel(Killybegs)(Great Value!)
$85
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
The Ritz(Killybegs)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$182
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Creevy Pier Hotel(Ballyshannon)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (693)
Filter reviews
693 results
Traveler rating
392
227
47
16
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
392
227
47
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared balconyfishoverlooking the harbourlovely hotelreception staffgreat viewhotel barvery pleasant stayslieve leagueexcellent foodfirst classboth nightsbed was very comfortableevening mealwould highly recommend this hoteltop classcentre of town
Filter
Updating list...
579 - 584 of 693 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

a bit of a pleasant surprise really,booked in for one night needing a bed,were well received,well fed and well lodged.so stayed for a couple of days using the place as a base for touring.right on a working fishing port,with great views.would readily return,and recommend.

Room Tip: pay the extra for a top floor suite with views over the port.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FranceVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

just home from a last minute decision over night in killybegs stayed at the Tara Hotel. Had a very pleasant stay!! Receptionists both polite and friendly requested and sea view room which we got no problem, the room was lovely and clean and the view over the working port was amazing. We had a small table and chairs and patio doors so pulled the curtains back and had a glass of wine whilst hubby got ready. all the fishing trawlers were docking and it kept me occupied very interesting! we then went down to their bar/restaurant got a lovely table again over looking the port we ordered to Irish coffees which were very well made staff very pleasant they had an amazing deal which was 50 Euros per couple for 4 course meal and a bottle of wine which we would most defiantly taken advantage of but we,d booked a meal in the harbour bar around the corner. Breakfast was a full Irish fry and very nice again sat by the window I would defiantly return to this hotel well worth the 90 Euro we paid !!!!

Room Tip: sea view is a must!!!!!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irish_coffee_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

While the harbourside location should be good for business at the Tara Hotel, the constant noise of the fishing vessels & processing works throughout the night means that sleep is interrupted if you are in a harbour room. The hotel, the staff, and the rooms are all lovely, so a stay is recommended - just ask for a streetside room when booking.
The bar and restaurant are excellent, and while working late in the area, we ate there three times. After we had already moved out of the area, we came all from Carrick, Glencolumcille, late one evening after working all day & the bar manager was most happy to faciliate us and kept the kitchen open to accommodate us. The food is great, and if you stay here, or are in the area, you must try the seafood - no better place than Killybegs!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orfhlaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had a wonderful two night stay at this hotel. We had asked for a sea facing room, and had excellent views of Killybegs port from our room. Breakfast was hearty, and dinner at the hotel's restaurant was good as well. The hotel also has a very good leisure centre. The hotel makes an excellent base for visiting the sights of South western Donegal.
Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderingskv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

In this most remote part of Ireland it is great to have excellent facilities at such very good rates.
A special word of thanks to the very helpful receptionists (who make such an important first, second and last impression!) and to the staff who keep the bedrooms in such pristine condition.
The gym, jacuzzi and sauna are excellent although this time I never had time to use them (the weather was great)
The lights of the boats in the harbour add greatly to the atmosphere after a day out walking on beaches/mountains etc. Shops are just across the street (including a very good butcher who sells excellent bacon if you want to bring home a few vacuum sealed souvenirs).Best of the pubs is the Fleet Inn which serves very good food upstairs..
A visit to the new Church (just across the road) is highly recommended.(everyone is offered a warm welcome there ). And of course there are many scenic walks in South Donegal which can easily be accessed from here. .
.

Room Tip: We had rooms on both sides and on the second floor; no complaints.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Selvaoilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews