We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Kitty Kelly's Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in Killybegs
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Spent a week in Donegal and went twice; once for lunch and once for dinner. Both times food absolutely delicious and service friendly.

Monkfish and prawn gratin was beautiful. Sea food platter best fish ever tasted and the lobster had literally arrived from sea when we did! Even a simple prawn cocktail was fresh and delicious. Service was great and I felt like I knew the staff they were so warm and welcoming. Had both a creme Brulee and Guinness cake! Recommend both but Id probably pick starter over deserts as I think the fish dishes is where they excel! Would recommend and return any day!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank victoriaanne85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh O, Owner at Kitty Kelly's Restaurant, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for such a fabulous review, reviews like this make our job so worth while, hopefully we will see you over the Christmas Holiday period when our restaurant reopens on the 14th December.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    38
    22
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great First Meal”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This place was the first place I was able to get food on my arrival to Ireland. The food was amazing and I wish I had not skipped on the Chocolate Guinness Cake.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harmony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh O, Owner at Kitty Kelly's Restaurant, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your review and we are so delighted you enjoyed so much. Take care and hope you return to visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Another great experience”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We have visited Kitty Kellys on a number of occasions and again last week for a family meal. The monkfish and prawn gratin was devine as was my seafood platter which ia great value. The kids had the chicken linguine and plates were cleared. service was friendy and efficient and we will definitely be back. Why don't you build some rooms where the top car park is and then we could stay over and make the most of a wonderful place!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CelineBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh O, Owner at Kitty Kelly's Restaurant, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your review and we are so delighted you enjoyed so much. Take care and hope you return to visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

I went with my wife, two young children and grand-parents and based on it's reputation we made a special point of visiting this restaurant on our last night in Killybegs. Mistake!

Despite booking for 6.45 and explaining that we were heading home after dinner the service was slow and inattentive, although friendly.

The jug of water tasted horrible, the Pinot Grigio was warm and only bottled beers are available. However the real problem was the food.

The waitress recommended the prawn & monkfish starter which was swamped with grilled cheese - the seafood just provided a variation in texture. Several items were off the menu.

What was really disappointing was the seafood platter that my wife and I had. The ingredients were excellent but they were cooked to death. The lobster was ridiculously chewy, as was the fish (it looked like a piece of toast) and the mussels. It all came piled together in a bowl so that the different sauces ran together.

My daughters pasta was just boiled pasta with grated cheese grilled on top which dried it out and made the meal tough and chewy.

The overall impression was of friendly people and fine ingredients ruined by the kitchen.

Despite having only two courses the meal was the most expensive we had had in the area at €155.

...but the chips were nice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FremantleDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh O, Owner at Kitty Kelly's Restaurant, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
With regard to the issues you raised in your review, firstly at no time would we offer pasta and cheese as a child's option unless specifically ordered by the diner. Secondly re the Pinot Grigio being warm, all our wines are stored in calibrated cabinets, all White wines are served to the table in wine coolers and as procedure, are offered to the diner as a sample and only after receiving the diners approval does full pouring by the waitress occur. Re the monk & prawn being covered with grilled cheese, this dish is described on the menu as " monk & prawn au gratin". Re your seafood platters "as all the sauces mixing together", there is only one sauce served with this dish and it is served on the side accompanied by a dipping bowl. We do sear our main fish on a hot pan to give it a scortched look. It is practice for our waiting staff to check all tables within minutes of receiving entrees, it is at this point that any reservations, comments or requests are brought to our attention, usually. You did compliement our staff for being attentive so I am confident these procedures were followed to a t. Thank you so much for your positive comments on our chips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Really good”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

didnt not know what to expect as the pink cottage look from outside is not really that inviting however great food very profesional lady in charge i have forgotten her name cant fault just one minor thing they use paper cloths covering there nice linen cloths i guess its cost effective but the paper cloths really dont match the food or the other interior surroundings all else great especialy the prawn and monk fish starter

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank enyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh O, Owner at Kitty Kelly's Restaurant, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for dining with us and taking the time to post such a glowing review. We look forward to you dining with us again and while we close at the end of September 2012 for the summer season, we reopen for the Christmas season on the 14th December. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kitty Kelly's Restaurant also viewed

Killybegs, County Donegal
Killybegs, County Donegal
 
Killybegs, County Donegal
Killybegs, County Donegal
 

Been to Kitty Kelly's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing