We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced”
Review of Clock Tower Bar & Bistro - CLOSED

Clock Tower Bar & Bistro
Price range: $15 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Clock Tower is a beautiful restaurant located in Fintra Bay, in South-West Donegal. With three main rooms it has an ideal design for functions of all sorts - the main lounge bar & conservatory (50-180 patrons), the upstairs 'Tir na nOg' room (50 patrons) and the Function Room (280 patrons). The Clock Tower is renowned for it's family friendly atmosphere, attentive staff and savoury food. To view our menus add 'Clock Tower Killybegs' on Facebook.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were staying quite close and decides to eatout in the clocktower. what a disappointment! The place lacks any atmosphere, quite dark and dreary. The staff were friendly and polite. My partner had the chicken, which was dry and without flavour, The sauce was out of a packet. I had a fish starter of prawns in filo pastry again straight from a frozen packet you buy in a supermarket. At €8 it was a total ripoff. All in all the food is mediocre and overpriced.

Date of visit: August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank chris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 82 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

WE have eaten in the clock tower many times since this restaurant opened.
We found the food excellent every time and was always confident we would enjoy our meals.This is why we returned time and time again.-never once dissappointed
The staff are always friendly to us and welcome us everytime we go there.
We highly recommend the clock tower in Fintra.

Date of visit: June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank macshane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

A good solid choice with freshly prepared food and efficient service. The menu is what you would expect to find anywhere with meat, chicken, fish and "specials", the T-bone steak is my favorite with the roast of the day a good fallback when the weather is slightly on the nippy side.

Should suit adults, children and veggies and portion sizes are wholesome.

This is a family friendly bar so there can be wee ones running around and throwing the odd tantrum, however good food, beer and free wi-fi more than compensate, especially after a long day walking or cycling

Date of visit: July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank thumper96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Starter was gorgeous, main course less so. I ordered goujons but I would have preferred more chicken and less batter! The service took a good while, and since its a bit out of the way from town we had to drive, so we couldn't enjoy wine while we waited! The staff are friendly but there wasn't enough of them. I would go back, but plan for a longish night.

Date of visit: July 2013
1  Thank ChicaGuarani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had Sunday lunch here. The food was good, particularly the rhubarb crumble and hot custard, and the service was pleasant and efficient. There were a number of families with young children there, but it is a big space and they didn't intrude on other diners.

Date of visit: June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tripleart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clock Tower Bar & Bistro also viewed

Killybegs, County Donegal
Killybegs, County Donegal
 
Killybegs, County Donegal
Killybegs, County Donegal
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing